My Top 3 Favourite Lead Singers

in Your Top 3 Contest4 years ago

It's that time of the month again where we have yet another interesting topic to talk about. This is my third participation in the monthly contest by @yourtop3. I managed to secure 3rd position in the previous month, it was quite exciting and fun.

This month we have the topic of choosing the top favorite lead singers. Honestly, this is a bit difficult for me. I listen to almost any kind of music and throughout the years my favorites have always changed depending on situations and well mood.

As a child, I used to listen to the boy bands a lot like Backstreet Boys and Westlife. I even use to rock to Vengaboys a lot 😄. Later, I started listening to punk songs such as Blink 182, Green Day, Good Charlotte, many more. Then I realized the joy of listening to Queen, Nirvana, Eagles, Pink Floyd. I also started listening to rock and metal like Iron Maiden, Panthera, Slayer. I also love solo singer-songwriters like Ed Sheeran(I can't list him here).

As you can see I don't particularly have favorites and love lots of genres and artists. So I'm going to pick 3 that are quite unique to each other and the ones I can't listen to. Since it's not the "Best Singer" contest but "Favourite Singer, there is no wrong answer.

So here are my Top 3 Lead Singers




Source: Here

Freddie Mercury was a British singer, songwriter and lead singer of a rock band Queen. I know lots of people have and will nominate him but I can't help to do the same as well. My dad and my brother used to play songs by Queen on a cassette player all the time and I began liking them as well. I remember me and my brother always singing this song and we didn't even realize the meaning of it. Bohemian Rhapsody is another all-time popular and also one of my favorites. Freddie Mercury was a great singer and a legend whose songs even to this day is enjoyed by many.




Source: Here

Chester Bennington was popularly known as the lead singer of the band Linkin Park. Although he also sang for other bands throughout the years either temporarily or as side projects, his best works are from the Linkin Park.
I spent most of my teenage life listening to Linkin Park and admired the vocal of Chester. He had a unique voice that had lots of emotions and feelings. Their songs often had lyrics that talk about vulnerable and low moments of life. Chester's voice effectively exposes those emotions with his high range screams and belts. His lower range was equally impressive as well.
I was really really depressed when he passed away in 2017. I spent hours watching his tributes and even shed tears. He meant a lot to me and to lots of people all over the world.




Source:Here

Axl Rose is in my opinion one of the greatest rock singers of all time. He is majorly known as lead singer for the band Guns n roses. His vocal range is really impressive. He can go from a slow low voice to instantly reach the roof of his voice as he screams tirelessly without running out of breath. I had the privilege of watching him live once and I'll never forget the experience. The guy is energetic, charismatic. He is running and dancing and at the same time singing almost flawlessly. His writing are also great as his songs contain deep meanings.
Although Axl Rose's voice is not as good as it was when he was at his prime, he still puts on a great show like no one else.

Hope you enjoyed my nominations :) If you would like to join this contest then check the link below.
https://peakd.com/hive-186561/@yourtop3/your-top-3-monthly-contest-july-2020-who-are-your-favourite-lead-singers
Stay Safe Guys.

Sort:  

Very interesting. Glad someone else participating in this competition remembers casette players. Freddie Mercury must feature. No question. You have also mentioned some on my list...

We shall see who emerges as the top 3...

Congratulations on 3rd spot last month and good luck this month!

I searched for your post, I guess you haven't written one yet. Freddie Mercury will definitely top the list this month. He is a legend.
I can't wait to see all the nominations.
Good luck to you too. :)

Nope. It's in the making. This should give you a clue.

Yes, yes, and yes! Freddie Mercury is the top for sure, since I recall he can do pretty much any time of voice imaginable. You want rock, pop, or an orchestra? Good ol' Freddie will do it for you, any day of the week. I've just been listening to Bohemian Rhapsody and Don't Stop Me Now, and even after all these years, it still amazes me to hear his voice. Rest in peace, Freddie :'-)

Yes definitely. He was very versatile and his vocal range was pretty impressive. In addition, he was quite energetic and expressive which makes audience really drawn into him. What a legend.

No doubt, he was amazing. I miss him already :-(

Well congratulations on your podium position in Q's league last month! You've taken the contest by storm, can you go higher in the months to come? 😃

I think Freddie will be a popular choice, if I was allowed to enter, I'd definitely have put him in but that's the luxury of being on the panel, our choices don't get entered unless someone else decides to pick them so can afford to be a little more loose with them! But yeah, what a legend Freddie was man, I don't know anyone who hasn't heard Bohemian Rhapsody before in 3D world! Instantly recognisable and can pick up the lyrics at whatever point in the song!

Linkin' Park and Guns & Roses both with great lead singers. I didn't listen to so much of their stuff as I am not too much in to rock or metal but when their tunes have popped up on the rare occasion I listen to radio, I feel their tunes and the power coming through from Chester and Axl respectively!

Good luck in the contest this month!

Thank you. Good old GTA San Andreas pulled me to the third position 😄.
If Freddie was alive he'd be glad to know his name circling around on HIVE this month. What an artist, to be appreciated by both older and newer generations. He'll definitely be on the top of the list.
I'm not giving up on Chester and Axl as well. I'm sure no one will nominate them, more reasons for me to do it 😄.

Haha, it was a tight one for 3rd spot but yeah, you made it!

Yeah Freddie touched a lot of people's hearts and think he'd be warmed to see all the posts that have featured him. Can't beat that Live Aid performance that @cheese4ead shared on his post, he commanded the crowd... must have been an amazing atmosphere!

Hey, you never know with this contest, there could be a lot of fans hiding out on dpoll!

Winning feels great, but it's not everything. I like the engagement that comes with it when doing these challenges and contests.
Posts that go without any comments just feel so lonesome.
At least we have Hivebuzz commenting on every post. 😄

Yeah you really can't beat the engagement, that's our main goal with it actually and the prizes at the end are more of a bonus than anything!

Believe me, have had plenty of posts that have gone without comment! Things seem to be a lot better now and a lot more engaged!

You'll be getting loads of medals at the moment with Hivebuzz! It's when the notifications and badges start slowing down as you are here for longer that's when the medals feel like they are earned properly haha!

Great choices @the100

Right off the bat let's get the Freddie love done and dusted. You've read my post so you know how I feel about the guy. He is the definition of a frontman and lead singer. What does a lead singer/frontman need? Charisma, presence, plays multiple instruments, writes lyrics and can sing. All boxes ticked and quite frankly his lyrics and vocals are all-time world class.

Chester Bennington. What a voice. Since reading this post I have been watching live Linkin Park gigs and he is relentless. I've found a really great version of 'Numb'.

Awesome.

Axl and GnR were truly badass back in the day. One of the bands I regret not going to see when I had the chance. I like most of their stuff but still regularly play November Rain, Patience, Sweet Child and a few of the others. Appetite for Destruction is a worldy! Axl's distinctive voice and attitude helped to project the band to the stratosphere. Helps to have an awesome, British born lead guitarist! 😉

Best of luck.

Gaz

Wow, I haven't listened to that version for Numb. The intro is really good. Chester can sing really well both on live and studio sets.
I've been to the GnR concert once and it was surreal. The band was amazing and so was the crowd. I agree GnR had two legends Axl and Slash. It a shame the band went through so many conflicts resulting in Slash leaving the band.

Congratulations @the100! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

There are definitely no wrong choices, and these really are some fantastic ones! As usual, I always kick myself when going through everyone else's entries for forgetting some great picks. Axl is an excellent one that I didn't even think of. He has a really unique voice and lots of charisma as a front man. Chester is another one I wouldn't have thought of but definitely worthy of a spot on the polls. I'm sure @foxyspirit will second that pick. And of course Freddie is just a straight up legend. I imagine we will see him again, but you never know how the final votes will shake out! Good luck this round!

I'm sure I have two unique picks for this month 😄. I have lots of favorite bands and artists but never really gave any thoughts about my favourite lead singers.

Hey @the100

It’s Q here, I see that your awesome Top 3 entry post has reached 7 days old. Please remember to confirm your entry into the contest by sending half of your payout (HIVE and/or HBD) to the @yourtop3 account as your minimum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I’ll take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to HBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

But don’t forget that you can send as much as you like for a chance to win a greater share of the prize pool. There is NO MAXIMUM! Also, send your post URL in the memo.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask, I would be more than happy to assist.

Thanks for entering and good luck.

Q
Your Top 3 Contest Mascot

Q Happy.png

I have zero complaints about your selection all 3 are legends! Music was forever changed because of their contributions

Yes definitely. I grew up listening to them and still do.

Hey, it’s Q again - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest! Just swinging by to say thanks for sending over your entry fee, and I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll on the 19th where we put it to the public vote and let the Hive community decide their top 3 :)

Q
Your Top 3 Contest Mascot

Q Happy.png