It's CATURDAY! Join One of Hive's Dedicated CAT Communities!

in Caturday4 years ago

Greetings Felines and Hoomans of Hive!

We have arrived at the first Saturday in April, and that also means we have arrived at the first CATURDAY in April! So time to get out your cute photos of your feline friends and share, share, share!

CC0167SunKitten3.jpg
Curator Cat enjoying a sunny spot at age 3 months!

Hive is Alive, and HIVE CATS is Alive!

The new Hive Cats Community is now up and running, and if you're a cat lover — or a CAT — I'd like to invite you to check it out, and to start posting your cat related content to the group!

I am also hopeful we can make the #hivecats tag a great way to "gather" cat related posts on Hive under a common tag, thereby making content discovery just a little easier.

And even if you are posting your cat posts somewhere else, you are welcome to cross-post your content to Hive Cats!

CC0200LookingRight.jpg
I want YOU... to join a cat community!

Other Great Cat Communities on Hive

As you might have noticed, I am posting this to the Caturday Community which was created recently by @saboin to celebrate our special day!

Then there is the Cat Photos Community originally created by former Steemit director of communications @andrarchy, back on Steem... but now part of Hive.

Another great cat group is @manorvillemike's Cat Snaps Community which is specifically designed for those posts are are mostly cat photos with very little accompanying text.

Last, but certainly not least, there is @kona's dPet Community which many of us know as "Daily Pet Photography" from Steem, and now here on Hive.

HC0000CatHeader4.jpg

The Importance of Building Communities!

Now that the initial "Dust" has settled a bit from the move to Hive, it's time to get on with things... we can't just sit here and "wait for things to happen" by themselves.

We have to build communities, and work towards making this an outstanding venue lots of people from the "outside world" want to become part of!

So do your part... and support our communties!

And have a beautiful and safe Caturday!

=^..^=

007/306 20200404

Sort:  

There's also the CATS Community by @captainklaus, and the Kittens Community by @test-safari.

One thing is for sure: we won't run out of places for cat related content on the Hive platform.

Happy Caturday!

!tip

Ah yes, that CATS Community, that's a good one. I had Kittens bookmarked from Steem, but it seems to have little activity since Hive.

Either way, I plan to do some curation and cross-posting to get a little activity going.

While you are here @saboin, do you hear anything from @fraenk about @catnet? I know you were pretty active with "cat tips" on Steem... but I guess the token sort of got lost in the changeover, and even when there's a Hive-Engine, it won't necessarily change over.

Happy Caturday!

=^..^=

@fraenk is rewriting some of his programs. He's working on having one blockchain scanner program that will work for all of his projects. I think he's concentrating on the bunny to start, then the catnet stuff will come after that.

He also told me that he has a plan b in case things don't work out with the whole Steem/Hive-Engine thing. He will host his own sidechain if it comes to that (he sort of was already; he's keeping a ledger with all the CAT transactions as a backup, so it's like he's running a sidechain of his own already). One way or another there will be cat.tips and all the fluffy and googly things will run again on the new blockchain.

Cool #hivecats .. more the merrier...🙀😾😻👍

We had a pretty good run with "CatsOfSteemit" on Steem, so let's try to get #hivecats to become a permanent tag here!

=^..^=

I've updated the rules that trigger upvotes from my alt accounts. I was using catsofsteemit and steemcats in the list of tags. I've changed those two to catsofhive and hivecats.

As I start to get more of my Steem, I plan to power up my account more here so I can due some more significant curation of cat content. Thanks for the support, as always!

=^..^=

I'm also doing the same. I hope they don't break the Steem blockchain before I get a chance to get all of my Steem out of there. 🤞

I have my @caturday.curator account that I made with the intent of using it to curate cat related content as well. I'm still trying to decide how that's going to work. I'm currently learning how to program in Python, so I might attempt to make an algorithmic curation bot that votes on cat content based on certain criteria. I'm not sure yet.

Expect my "support" to get bigger as my Steem powers down and I convert it to Hive. I'm really hoping that the price of Steem goes up and the price of Hive goes down just for the next 13 weeks. 😀 It was pretty much 1:1 yesterday evening when I did my trade. I got 1426 Hive for my 1425 Steem.

I am powering down on steem. And plan to move it to Hive via exchange. Is that the correct thing to do @saboin @curatortcat ?

Yeah. That's what I do. I used Blocktrades yesterday, but they had to delist Steem overnight because the current Steem witnesses did a softfork that froze Blocktrades' Steem account. So yeah; it's probably a good idea to get the hell out of there while we can.

I've used Ionomy a few times. They don't have direct STEEM/HIVE trading pair, though. You have to exchange your Steem for Bitcoin, then exchange that Bitcoin for Hive. It takes a bit longer, but if you're patient, you can get a better deal. Or you can just trade it at the market value if you're in a hurry.

I've used Bittrex for trading for a couple of years, but mostly for larger amounts; Blocktrades was fast and effective while they had the Steem-Hive gateway open... but seems they have been screwed by Emperor Sun.

=^..^=

So is it good to trade it like You are. In blocks as it comes avail on the powerdown.?

It will average out your cost if you do it that way. One week you might get a bit more, and the next week, you might get a bit less, but it levels it out. If you're more patient than I am, you can wait for the price to be advantageous and do your trade then. It really depends what strategy you want to follow. You could even trade a little bit at a time and spread it out instead of doing the whole chunk at once when you get your powerdown.

🎁 Hi @curatorcat! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @saboin!

@saboin wrote lately about: My First Caturday On The Hive Blockchain! 🐈 2020-03-21 Feel free to follow @saboin if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.