11 ELEVEN HOUSE CATS .>.>.> WHY?

in Caturday3 years ago

Why do I have 11 Eleven house cats.. Good question! I often ask myself..

Circumstance, there were 2 mama cats 3 years apart that had litters in my neighbors backyard. I guess I was a sucker but they needed a home.. Seems they choose me as well as me choosing them...

I had already had 3 male cats before the mamas showed up with their kittens.. Which made 11 Eleven altogether...

But why did I keep them.. That is the question. Yes they needed a home but why mine....

Well I'm retired so had plenty of time to devote to them but the main reason "I think" was to give me a routine, a structure for my day... A responsibility to keep me from becoming lazy..

Now I am forced to keep myself fit so I am there for them... I walk, bike and use free weights on a regular basis, where before anything goes.. TV was my biggest exercise.. my eyes got a workout..

So far things are going good and my health is holding up.. My goal is to out live most of them.. Youngest three are 3 years old so if they make it to 20 I would be 91..

They are all mostly afraid of strangers so finding new homes for them would be stressful..

20201023_085009 2.jpg
Scary Mary
This is Scary Mary the latest mama cat..I tried to make her an outside cat but the first winter was very cold so put her in the basement.. She dislikes all cats even her own kittens but eventually brought her into the house..

Before she came around there were a comfortable 7 Seven cats that all got along. The first mama cat was "Mama" An all white stray with a golden disposition, complete opposite of Scary Mary.

4XVaf4HN20200725_095647.jpg
Mama

Things are working out S. Mary stays by herself.. Doesn't cause any trouble. Rest of the cats except deaf Gerry give her plenty of space. Gerry on the other hand won't be intimidated by her.

20201018_100105 2.jpg
Goofy> Gerry

Sort:  

Heh, I thought we were catted out! 3 inside and 3 outside (a stray found our cat door and food on the back porch). Love that tree pic!

Yeah all I need now is a dog and a partridge in a pear tree..

Yikes, a dog amongst all the cats, that would keep things lively! Not sure the partridge would last long amongst all those cats though!

Ahhh I always wondered how many cats you had, I'm glad they give you such purpose and routine in life! My animals do the same for me, I'd be lost without them. I think of it often actually.

The laughs I get from their antics makes it all worth while..

What's your litter box situation like? How many do you have? Will the ones who are related to each other use the same box? My cats are brothers and sisters, born in this house and they all share 1 box no problems.

4 different families 2 boxes off kitchen in 1/2 bath they use the most.. One on porch ..5 in basement ..Some cats won't go down the basement.. One of my hobbies scooping litter.. ha ha.. As long as you keep them clean no problem..

it is so odd how cats can look at people upside down. talk about rubber neckers, Gerry seems to be one. I think S. Mary is a very good looking cat, I like her colorization. I am glad you are able to take care of them all they all needed a nice home at one time or another.

Lot of love to go around in this house.. What you give you get back.. Thanks..

I also want to outlive my cats

That's the aim.. You have age on your side,,me I'm running out of time..😺.

You are well done for keeping yourself in shape!👍 It is right!

Haha, imagine if you had not 11 cats, but 11 dogs! 😁

No way.. ha ha

I just figured you had that cat disease in your brain that made you unable to resist them. LOL !!... Yes.... I'm just being funny, but I can't even imagine having that many cats in one house.

I love cats. I only don't have one or two because I am highly allergic to them. Too bad for me !

Older woman who works as a check-out in local supermarket has 31. The oldest is only 3.. So that makes me feel normal... ha ha

I think it's awesome that you are giving a home to so many feline friends!

The cool thing about cats is that we do seem to be able to change Hooman lives; to give them new meaning and purpose; new direction.

=^..^=

And plenty of scooping to do in the litter box.. 😺😊