Bloody 'ell blood orange IPA review for Beer Saturday 🍻

in BEER3 years ago (edited)

Beer Saturday barbecue

20210508_071844.jpg

Well it's an absolute wash out in Ireland today unfortunately, but the sun was splitting the rocks last weekend and we had a nice barbecue and a few cold ones.

I'm going to be spending most of today packing boxes for our big move, so my post is about last Saturday, which was a nice sunny day and therefore barbecue weather!

The criteria for a barbecue here in Ireland is a small bit of sun and anything over around 12° Celsius. I know that means Winter to most of ye around the world, but anything approaching 20° Celsius here is a heat wave🔥

20210508_072304.jpg

20210424_171058.jpg

20210508_082013.jpg

Beavertown Brewing Bloody 'ell blood orange IPA

20210424_171137.jpg

What they say

Here we take a stripped-back IPA malt bill and highly hop it with the tropics of Amarillo and Citra and pile head-on with kilos of Blood Orange zest and juice late in the boil, bringing you a smack of citrus and hints of warm orange aromas.

Malt Extra Pale, Carapils
Hops Columbus, Citra, Simcoe, Amarillo.

Can Art

20210508_072456.jpg

20210508_072640.jpg

20210508_072707.jpg

Checklist

Beer Saturday ✔
Smoking barbecue ✔
Savage Thirst ✔

The Info

Brewery: Beavertown Brewery
ABV: 5.5%
Can: 330ml

Thoughts

I wasn't a huge fan to be honest. I love my IPAs and my hops, but this one was too bitter for my liking and not enough hoppy notes coming through. It's by no means a terrible just not as nice as some recent reviews.

20210424_171058.jpg

I poured it into my usual beer tasting glass. I really need to approach Martin's off license about my beer reviews and you never know he might sponsor me beers to taste! How sweet would that be!

20210508_081910.jpg

The Grade

2.5/5

Thanks to @detlev for this excellent ongoing contest for beer lovers across the world. It's simple. Drink a cold one, take a few snaps and tell us about it. You'll get an upvote from a bunch of us and be in with a chance to win some Leo, Beer or Hive! What's not to like!

Sláinte and Peace out.

Golf

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @ewkaw 😊 🍻

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Bloody love Beaver Town beers. I don't think they have a bad one!!

Ya i do too, especially Neck Oil...

I was surprised I wasn't a fan of this one, but there you go...

Yeah Neck Oil and I really like 8 ball as well, but more like an autumn/winter beer. I think Beaver Town were sponsors on a Led Zeppelin tour one time.

I've never had 8ball, I'll have to check that one out 👌

It's a rye IPA!

Hi @ablaze BBQ and BEER is the plan for this evening.

Have a !BEER from me

Nice one @detlev. Enjoy that, I hope ye have a great evening 🍻

Nice one @detlev. Enjoy that, I hope ye have a great evening 🍻

 3 years ago  

Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

YUM! Everything in these images looks delicious. How were those bangers? I think they are called bangers, right?

They were spot on! We don't call them bangers in Ireland though, just plain old sausages!

!BEER and Burger, that sounds like a perfect evening.

Yes a quality combination, thanks 🍻

 3 years ago  

Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @ynwa.andree for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That's a really good looking beer! I love the art, stuff like that even adds to the taste😀

Ya the art is cool on this one alright, thanks 👍

Cheers! That's a perfect combination! Grill and beer. This blood orange beer looks interesting ... 😎 🍻

They both hit the spot @seckorama. The beer wasn't top notch but it was fine and the barbecue was spot on 👌

that beer looks psychedelic and that grill looks phenomenal, invite me next time, thanks for sharing, Cheers!

😁 Thanks Carla! You're officially on the guestlist for next time 😉 🍻