My Beerday in Antigua started with this Girlfriendless IPA

in BEER3 years ago (edited)

Good morning HIVE!

Had visitors from Costa Rica last weekend and decided to go for a stroll to Antigua. I brought my computer along with me because I had some work to do at noon, so, while the ladies were busy looking around in the local markets, I decided to find a quiet corner where I could get some work done.


Now, I'm of the opinion that if you'll be comfortably working on something, why not enjoy a nice pint of gold while you're at it?

That's exactly what I did.

DSC09749 copy.JPG

Pulled up a pint of Sin Novia (Girfriendless) IPA; how appropriate!

Sin Novia is brewed by the same company that makes Cucurucho Stout. You might want to check out t this post which has some pretty cool info on the upcoming Semana Santa (Easter) week celebrations here in Guatemala.

Anywho, as IPAs go, it's more on the bitter side, which I like. It's made with American hops and no hopes. I guess they named it Girfrienless because of the bitter situation one might find themselves in after losing a girfriend. Not my case at all. I only lost her for about an hour.


After my work was done and reunited with my better half. We decided to go up the mountain to a place called Hobbitenango for lunch. check out the view!
GOPR0329.JPG


GOPR0332 - Giant face.JPG

We where greeted by this most friendly giant who happened to be chilling out by the side of the mountain.

more like stuck; for eternity I think.

He was kind enough to hold us on the palm of his hand so we could get a better view of the Panchoy Valley.

GOPR0345 - hand.JPG


After lunch and a stroll around Hobbitenango, the clock struck Beer o'clock. you know what time it is!

we decided to go to the source and say hi to our friends at Cervecería Catorce (Brewery on Route 14) as you may have guessed, they on route 14.

and look at this place!

I's better than Willy Wonka's factory by a mile!

GOPR0353 - cervecería 14.JPG


DSC09750 - Ale.JPG
DSC09752 - stout.JPG

Everybody was there!
blonde ale was there, porter was there. Heck, we went ahead and said hi to the entire Catorce family.

DSC09753 - all beers.JPG


kids concert.png


If you're ever down here, please let me know. I'd love to have a pint with a fellow Hiver in Antigua Guatemala.

all images taken by my on my Sony a6000 + Sigma 30mm and GoPro Hero 7


This post is part of #beersaturday run by the amazing @detlev. You can find other #BEER posts HERE

Sort:  

That !BEER and the brewery with all the beers looks great!!

Cheers!!

Hi alex-rourke,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

very cool! thanks for checking out my post @curie :)

Whoot, nice and beery story,

I've been to Guate so many years ago. Traveled to Lago Atilan to learn Spanish, went to Tikal and the beaches. A wonderful trip just got awake from my memories.

And a !BEER from me to you

oh man! that's really cool that you visited Guatemala. I hope to write a beery story from Tikal one day; I'll give you a shoutout.

Actually, there is a story from that time in 1991 or so.

On a two month Guatemala and Belize trip, I was carrying two cans of German Beer around 3 weeks in my backpack. Then we visited Tikal and I climbed up the great temple of the jaguar with this beer in my daypack. Spending a long time sitting there, watching the rainforest and the scenery while sipping my beer is a moment I never ever will forget. Yes, the beer was warm - but who cares

image.png
Great Jaguar Temple of Tikal Photograph by Mark Cheney

This are memories, who keep me smiling again and again!

ha! sehr toll!
Long trip! I bet that beer was delicious at the top of the jungle. Thanks for sharing @detlev

 3 years ago  

Hey @alex-rourke, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @alex-rourke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 3 years ago  

Hey @alex-rourke, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice trip and a lot of beers here. Cheers! Never been to Guatemala... maybe I will ... someday ... 😎 🍺