My #BeerSaturday celebration

in BEER3 years ago

For the work of 200 weeks of #BeerSaturday

This week I found a beer and a very special glass together in such a nice box. So, I decided that this is a present for myself for all the work and time I spend since 200 weeks with the #BeerSaturday challenge.


Kwak box with glass for @detlev

This nice beer comes from Buggenhout, East Flanders, Belgium and I got this box at my local beer dealer.

97C627D9-907F-4179-88C4-292AF27B9FAC_1_105_c.jpeg

Ingredients: Barley malts, mineral water, wheat, hops and white candy sugar.

Created in the 1980s, and named after an 18th century brewer and innkeeper, Pauwel Kwak, who apparantly developed a shorter version of the traditional English long stirrup glass (which developed into the yard of ale), for coachmen to use.

Kwak is served with respect for tradition in its own Kwak glass. Recognisable, special and just as idiosyncratic as the taste of the beer itself.
Text by ratebeer.com


The special glass

C07610A5-3F1F-4157-8EB9-CBA4A24E7126_1_105_c.jpeg

Myself working on the third Kwak

no more comments
81E0CEB2-358F-4B38-B8A8-F4465FC76746_1_105_c.jpeg


About Kwak

Kwak pours into my glass slightly hazy and the color of polished gold. The head is dense, off white, and lasting.

Very rich set of aromas on this beer. Hints of candi sugar and spice up front, moving very quickly into caramel candies. Caramel is supported by hints of leather and tobacco, reinforcing the aroma's overall spiciness. Then I get what smells like ripe summer berries, especially strawberry. All these elements combine to give an aroma that is at once both vinous and gently barnyard in character.

Kwak is smooth bodied, nicely rounded in the middle, and very full flavored. Flavors of caramel and spiciness lead the charge before moving into barnyardy flavors of leather, horse blanket, and tobacco. The center is vinous in nature, giving flavors of ripe grape rather than the berries I noted in the nose. Slight alcoholic spiciness somehow feels appropriate here.

It's pleasantly complex boasting the spiciness you might expect from a Belgian beer and coupling that with a vinous, barnyard profile. And yet the flavors and aromas are restrained enough to prevent them from becoming off putting. This is a very enjoyable beer to sip on during a cool, autumn evening.

I can't describe it better as this text from BPVandenbroek from Canada (AB) at beeradvocate.com


My box with glass

3400D9B5-1B7D-4AD1-B07A-02BFC8C0B84C_1_105_c.jpeg

Left side up

1A1156EC-FBBE-43D1-879B-B3F89B2A4424_1_105_c.jpeg

Left side down

4AFDEE3C-25E3-43F2-96F0-120882EC8C8A_1_105_c.jpeg

Right side

6F9606AE-C3BF-4CBE-B845-11518C43E508_1_105_c.jpeg


back Side

C32CB501-8136-4D64-B80D-DBFC14B2708D_1_105_c.jpeg


Inside

1D700A9C-2C2D-4BF6-A8B0-52FB2322F50B_1_105_c.jpeg


4 beer and a nice glass

image.png

Text by ratebeer.com





The story of this day

image.png


For so many weeks I organize the #BeerSaturday again and again. So, I decided to have a special present for myself.


Since several years, this funny looking glass was calling me in all that bars and pubs. Today it was may day and I bought this box for me



Notice to myself
You really need to read the pouring instructions to prevent a big mess.




Finally

Kwak is a different beer. It comes with all this different and complex taste. Warm and and strong and coffee or nuts and this wonderful little different taste.

says @detlev


Beer taste to good

There are actually not so many pics from me and or the beer as I was way to delicious. This wonderful taste took all my time...



Have a great day everybody

98F4F9C1F6634296807D4D91BFB89304_1_105_c.jpeg

enjoy #BeerSaturday
and show us your beers






@Detlev loves HIVE

More from @Detlev
Get / shop my book by HIVE
JOIN BeerSaturday Challenge

Enjoy
Engage
Follow

Sort:  

You must own at least 1 CC to reward commenters on this post!
Please charge 1 CC to reward your commenters.

Kwak is one of my favorite beers, it does have indeed a rich flavor. Now I want to get me some, ha ha ha.

Drinking with that glass (have one myself), do you take the glass out, drink some and then put it back. Or do you leave it in the wooden construction and use it by drinking holding the handle?

Either way it tastes awesome!





Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

Hey @oaldamster, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

and it is so much fun using this glass.

A !BEER from me and some great beer for you

It is indeed fun.
Cheers, thanks for the Beer! 🍻

Posted using Dapplr

I love the glass, about 3 months ago, I also wrote about Kwak !BEER which I found here, but unfortunately, I did not get a box with that nice glass!

 3 years ago  

Hey @detlev, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That is a good beer - we actually get that over here too. I love that glass too. I first discovered that style of glass even existed a few years ago at a Belgian beer bar in Rochester, MN, of all places. I should try buy one of those, now that I think of it

Das Kwak fand ich auch sehr gut und mit dem Glas im Paket hätte ich auch zugegriffen. Interessant fand ich auch, die Geschichte um dieses Glas. Das "Kutscherglas" wurde ja nicht grundlos so angefertigt.

Würde heute etwas merkwürdig aussehen, wenn so was beim Busfahrer steht.