A nice place, good food, and a tasty beer

in BEER4 years ago

There's nothing like a good meal and a cold #beer. Especially after a nice productive day, roaming a historical town. Taking pictures, and discovering new places. I walked around the town until sunset. As I walked back to my car, I passed one of the local restaurants called Aidan's. The restaurants and bars in this area were given permission to open up. It's hard to imagine needing permission to open your business, in the land of the free. Yet I'll save that discussion for a different blog.

IMG_20200524_212027__01.jpg

The smell from the restaurant was so inviting, I put my frugality to the side. Currently in Rhode Island restaurants are allowed to open as long as the customers eat outside. The restaurant have to keep a log of it's customers and their phone numbers. Yet despite compounding state regulations, there were several people eating outside at the restaurant.

I approached one of the servers, and asked if it wasn't too late to get a table. The server assured me that I could, then led me to the tiki bar.

IMG_20200524_204511.jpg

When I sat down the bartender asked me for my name and phone number. Before the new norm, I would have been flattered at this gesture. Yet I found myself wishing I had been quick-witted enough create a new identity. Oh well.

After the formalities were done, my server handed me a menu.

IMG_20200524_204121.jpg

On a funny note. I didn't not realize there were two sides to the menu. I guess lucky for me the side I was looking at, had two food items to choose from. 😂.

I quickly looked over the menu. Knowing that I would create a #beersaturday challenge post. I wanted to try something new. Glancing over at the draft beers,

IMG_20200524_204608.jpg

and then down at the menu. I ordered a Magner's Cider Beer, and it was tasty.

IMG_20200524_204437.jpg

Unfortunately the owner has not updated the store hours on Google, or the menu. So I had entered the restaurant half hour before they closed. Realizing that I would be their last customer, and not wanting to linger. I quickly decided on an 8 oz top sirloin.

As I waited for my food. I sat at the bar just looking around. There were a couple parties finishing up their meals, and a gentleman sitting at the other end of the bar. Conversing with a server. Two large screen TVs had some random show playing, and I sat peacefully. Looking over my my photos, and sipping on my beer.

IMG_20200524_204351.jpg

I've driven past this place countless times while delivering. It was always pretty lively, and full of people. The bar is colorful, and inviting. Normally there would have been a live band playing, or a DJ mixing up some music. Yet it seemed as if the bar was recovering from its time in quarantine. It was somewhat quiet, as quiet as a restaurant can be.

At about three quarters into my beer. My food arrived.

IMG_20200524_205805.jpg

The server asked if I wanted another #beer. How could I decline. Wanting to continue with my #beersaturday challenge, I ordered an Amstel light.

IMG_20200524_205957__01.jpg

The food was delicious. The Amstel light beer was okay. I enjoyed the cider beer more. Overall it was nice experience. I paid my tab, tipped the server, and went on my way.

IMG_20200524_212027.jpg

I appreciate you visiting my post. I invite you to check out the #beersaturday challenge hosted by @detlev, and supported by #beer community.

Please feel free to check out some of the post I was able to put together while walking around the town like this one:

A perfect day, and a great little community gem
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@dreamingirwin/a-perfect-day-and-a-great-little-community-gem

Thanks for sharing with me.

God bless.

Sort:  

That looks like a great end of a nice day.
Stay healthy and beery and thanks for a #BeerSaturday how it should be.

!BEER and Prost

Glad to you like it, I debated for a moment or two before posting it on whether or not it qualified.

Hey dear @dreamingirwin,

time to join the next #BeerSaturday here on HIVE

Thanks for the reminder. I have some pictures ready to go I just need to put it together.

hi @dreamingirwin, cool, looking forward to this

You are fortunate to have the opportunity to go out and enjoy a meal away from home, great beer, my mouth turned to water, I was delighted with your activity, I even accompanied you from afar.

Aww thank you. I know I'm lucky. If only we could influence more people with good thinking. Things would actually start to improve for everyone.

We make the difference ourselves, to that extent we influence the people we have in our environment to be the one that is all different.