BeerEveryday: Hungarian edition

in BEER2 years ago

Hello thirsty friends!

I'm currently on vacation, my posting came to an halt, but I figured "if there's one thing I do in vacation, it's drinking beer! I can at least put an entry at BeerSaturday". BeerSaturday? Let's be ambitious here! BeerEveryday sounds good!

There's no time to lose: I have just a couple of weeks to study the matter: what do people drink in Hungary?

First day: let's begin with a lunch at the Market Hall. The food couldn't be more local (who said "for turists"?) with gulash, pork stew and sausage sauerkraut.
The beer served was a Borsodi. A classic Pils (what else to expect in Hungary?) which did honorably the job. I'm not a fan at all of Pils, but I'm indulgent in vacation. Even more with 32°C.

20220803_124019.jpg

Another brand of Pils: Dreher. I find it a bit below the Borsodi. A bit less malty, a bit less tasty.

20220803_193823.jpg

A label beer "specially brewed for the house", yeah, sure, I do believe it. Not unpleasant in all cases, so it wasn't so bad to take another one because of the slow service.

20220804_125129.jpg

Yeah, it's not because one is having sandwich for lunch thzt he should do so without a beer!
I had a try at the Soproni IPA. It was very pleasant. I don't think it truly qualify as an IPA (but IPA is very fashionable, let's forgive the marketing move), at 4.5% ABV, made in Eastern Europe, it screams lager to me. But the result was nice: refreshing as a Pils, but tasty. A pretty good surprise!

20220805_122931.jpg

A Dreher again, and a Pilsner Urquell for good measure and comparison, it is the stallion in my opinion when talking about Pils.
The Dreher is clearly under by its relative lack of malty taste and less expressive bitterness.

20220805_191205.jpg

Another one, bartender! Let's have a try at the Dreher Gold then! Better than the standard Dreher, it is not far from the Pilsner Urquell in enjoyability.

20220805_194557.jpg

What else do you have, bartender? A wheat beer? Sure, I will have that!
(You may have spotted a huge pork knuckle on the table, it required corresponding beverage to go along with)
I expected some Hungarian creativity with this beer, but it was just an imported HB Munchen Weisse. I do like the style, but it's out of this competition.

20220805_195401.jpg

Another day, another beer! I went with the Dreher IPA while my wife had the dry hopped version. IPA, IPL, doesn't matter. Both were excellent, my preference went for the IPA which had a bit more body and consistency. But the dry hopped was nice for a lighter choice.

20220806_120209.jpg

So far, my winners are:
Dreher Gold for pils (but I should try the Borsodi again)
Dreher IPA for IPA (but I should find a Soprani on draught to be fair)

Enjoy your summer, guys, as you see I'm enjoying mine!
Cheers!

Sort:  

You ain't kidding when you say beer everywhere lol

It looks like good beer, fantastic food, and an awesome vacation...
Enjoy it man!

!BEER
!GIF beer

Well... It's vacation after all! Hope you're having nice time too!
!PIZZA

Congratulations @engilhramn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Enjoy your vacations and the beers. Cheers! 🍻

That food looks amazing - beer looks pretty darn good too

Yeah, happy life! The wife decides the destination based on the food, so we will never be disappointed on this side!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @engilhramn.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I'm not a light beer fan.The IPA would be out.I would have stuck with the Barsodi. Glad you and the Mrs is having a great vacay. Enjoy the rest of your time and the Beer.

Thank you! Not a fan of light beer either, but not much choice around here... It can be seen as a diet, so I enjoy even more the good beers when I'm back home!

Since your vacationing in Hungary .Where is home?What kind of beer do you h a ve at home.Here in Canada is all Domestic Beer.A small percentage is small breweries.

Home is in France, just at the border with Belgium ;)
I have quite little experience with North American beers, we can find a few, but not much are imported.

What's a good beer in France? You must of heard of Budwiser beer.Belgium must export there beer to France.

That's it. The 2 main producing regions are east, with a german style, and north, with a belgian style. I personnaly prefer "strong" ales, triple or trappist style.

Does France have there own Breweries as well.I know there known for there wine but what about beer?

Enjoy your summer too, nice to have a chilled beer from time to time.

Indeed! One of the best moment in life, sitting down, relaxing and enjoying the first swallow of beer!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@engilhramn(4/5) tipped @fiberfrau (x1)
engilhramn tipped bigtakosensei (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Nice beer tour of Hungary ! Hope you are all having a great time !
!LOLZ

Food and beer have been great till now, we just moved out of Budapest to a lake, put the kids in the sand and finally having a rest!
!LOLZ

Scrabble
It’s all fun and games until someone loses an I.

Credit: reddit
@hoosie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @engilhramn
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(1/2)

What do you get after the animal dinner party?
Stuffed animals.

Credit: reddit
@engilhramn, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hoosie
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(1/10)

 2 years ago  

Hey @engilhramn, here is a little bit of BEER from @drunksamurai for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

!BEER

Beer can't go alone, at least have a !PIZZA with it!

 2 years ago  

Hey @engilhramn, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

I had to think, where did I drink Dreher before! I remember it being a very fine beer!

If not Hungary then somewhere around. I don't think they export much... I never heard about it before in all cases!

Yes, it was only when I was in Budapest. I didn't see it exported either. But I liked the beer!

That's a lot of beer! 😂

With moderation, for learning and educational purpose only!
!ALIVE

@katiebeth! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @engilhramn. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

!BEER

Nothing like a beer to feel !ALIVE !

@drunksamurai! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @engilhramn. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.