Living and Learnng on #BEERSATURDAY

in BEERlast year

IMG_20221117_165021352.jpg

Over the years on #beersaturday, I have always endeavored to try new and different beers, to venture outside of my comfort zone. If it was up to me, every #beersaturday would be a Kolsch or a Helles with the occasional Brown Ale.

Never, in the early years of my beer journey would I feature an IPA unless it was a gift or an error.

However, as life goes on and the beer journey forges forth my tastes have expanded. Two years ago, as a Christmas gift I received several IPAs.

Now, at the time I was not a fan of IPAs, a little too bitter and a little too hoppy for me.

IMG_20221117_165053362.jpg

Buried in the midst of these IPAs were several beers called West Coast Style IPA. A laid back, lazy hazy IPA worthy of California cool vibe.

A new appreciation for the IPA was born. And believe it or not, the @handofzara is enjoying a wonderful lazy, hazy, West Coast Style IPA brewed right here in the Old North State aka North Carolina.

IMG_20221117_165332940.jpg

BEER NAME: Cloud Rise
STYLE: Hazy West Coast IPA
ABV: 7.2%
BREWER: Blowing Rock Brewery, Hickory North Carolina
APPEARANCE: medium amber, cloudy, pours with a rich foamy head
AROMA: hops and fruit
TASTE: mild hops and pineapple
MOUTHFEEL: medium body, great bitters and light carbonation

FUN FACT: Blowing Rock Brewery was founded in Blowing Rock, North Carolina, which is a tiny village nestled deep in the Appalachian Mountains. The sort of place that unless you want to go there, you could never find it! As the brewery grew in popularity, the main facility was moved to Hickory, North Carolina which is not in the middle of nowhere, although not exactly in the middle of somewhere, if you know what I mean.

IMG_20221117_165400737.jpg

Did you know that in America there is a great rivalry between East Coast and West Coast IPAs?

As far as I am concerned the West Coast lazy hazy wins hands down. And none of this growth would have been even conceivable without #beersaturday and a Christmas gift. Thank you @detlev and the #beer community on HIVE.

TRIVIA TIME!

I have a #beersaturday tradition of asking a trivia question and the first person to answer correctly in the COMMENTS wins a BEER TOKEN!

QUESTION: What country does the letter "I" stand for in the name IPA?

Good luck and I will see y'all next #beersaturday!

Sort:  

A bit late, but here I am... with a !BEER for you...

The 'hazy' has made those big American style IPAs a lot more approachable and less aggressive so it sounds like they suit you.

Absolutely! I really enjoy the lazy hazy IPAs.

IPA is the India Pale Ale, my friend. Probably the letter “I” stands for India in the name IPA. You are enjoying the Blowing Rock Cloudrise Beer from North Carolina. I have not tasted it, and I hope I can find it in the imported section in the mall next time and have the chance to try it. Happy beer Saturday and more Saturdays and more moments to enjoy with your favorite beers. Have a nice day and take care.

Well Done!

!BEER

!BEER second try

 last year  

Hey @pinkchic, here is a little bit of BEER from @handofzara for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love your beer glass, as well as the inscription on it. The beer looks very satisfying from view.

That's nice beer. It has a crisp taste to it !

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.