The Old Man and the Beer!

in BEER3 years ago

Screenshot 2021-07-04 at 15-37-06 Grandpa Simpson Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

Easy pops this ain't no novel, and I ain't no Hemingway!

This a beer post for #beersaturday, now calm your wrinkly ass down, for I have a story to tell ya about my old man and a beer.

It all started about a month ago when I went on a road trip to Tennessee where I had a very special beer one night.

IMG_20210521_193540663.jpg

This is the beer that I had a CHIMAY. Here is the post if you are so inclined: https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@handofzara/road-trip-brews-for-beersaturday-and-it-is-my-4th-birthday-on-the-blockchain

Shortly after returning from the road trip, I had a great telephone call with my 80 something father who lives several hours away. During the conversation, I told him about this great beer that I had enjoyed called CHIMAY.

Now despite his age and health issues, nothing stops a man of my bloodlines from a good beer. Later, that week my father called me to tell me that he had gone to the Liquor Store and searched high and low for this holy grail of beers. After a few wrong turns and a little help from the store clerk he acquired a Chimay.

And to quote the Old Man:

Screenshot 2021-07-04 at 15-49-23 So old we are Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

As he hung up the phone he said: "Keep an eye out for a package, I sent it to you today."

Ohhhhhh PRESENTS!

Screenshot 2021-07-04 at 15-52-51 Woohoo Homer Simpson Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

IMG_20210610_171343096 (2).jpg

Not only beer but special CHIMAY glasses.

Alright, admit it for an 80 something year old man, my dad still ROCKS!

IMG_20210610_171401288.jpg

Now this CHIMAY is different than the beer I had in Tennessee. The Grande Reserve started as a special brew for Christmas but soon became so popular it is now a year round brew.

The down and dirty on the Chimay Grande Reserve.

Beer Name: Grande Reserve
Style: Belgian Dark Strong Ale
ABV: 9%
Brewer: Bieres De Chimay, Belgium

IMG_20210611_171429737.jpg

Appearance: dark brown with a medium head
Aroma: toasted malts
Taste: malty with fruity undertones
Mouthful: medium to full bodied, carbonates well in the mouth

Hangover Factor: Unknown as I can't afford to drink more than two but I suspect any more and I might be hurting the next day although I probably would sleep like a log!

So there ya have it, my tale of The Old Man and the Beer.

God willing and the kegs don't run dry, I shall see y'all next #beersaturday.

Sort:  

Happy Forth of July!
Just started my weekend, great ideal! I could use a nice local Micro-brewed craft Beer for a change. It's been a while, I'm just to lazy at the moment to hike down to the local outlet.
Cheers @handofzara 🍻

Cheers! Good Chimay and a good story! !BEER 🍻 🍺 😎

Great post, Happy Fourth, (belated) both the Hive date and the holiday... lol

Yer Dad rocks, how frikkin cool is that.!!

I am chilling tonight in Saluda NC. On my way to deliver at the Food Lion in Cherokee, NC. wed night.

Thanks for the follow, and here are a few hive to throw towards your beer tabb...

Rock on @handofzara ..!

!BEER

Nothing like hanging out in God's country! Happy trails my friend.

 3 years ago  

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com