FivePine Chocolate Porter: The Final Amateurish Beer Review?

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

This may be the final installment of my intermittent amateurish beer review series, at least for the foreseeable future. A family member seems to have some serious issues with alcoholism, and I will consequently not be drinking any alcohol in solidarity with their hopeful recovery.

This was the last brew I had on hand for review, and I was saving it for a special occasion, but circumstances changed. I will not be resupplying. It also took me some time to gather my thoughts for this post. I offer my apologies for any clumsiness or preachiness that may still bleed through.

So, let's see if this ends on a high note.

Today's brew is FivePine Chocolate Porter from Three Creeks Brewing Co. of Sisters, Oregon.


"A robust porter that features 2 lbs per barrel of the finest Belgian chocolate, creating a slightly toasty pint with underlying chocolate sweetness."


This is very chocolatey. It is also quite malty, and not especially bitter at all. But it's not like a cheap corn adjunct lager. It's a thick brew. You can almost chew it.

Do you like liquid chocolate cake at 6.2% ABV? You might like this.

Do you like cheap beer made with corn and rice that you can happily chug by the gallon during a football match? This is not your beer.

All told, I am pleased that this was not a disappointment, even though this individual's alcoholism is. I have a childhood friend who is in recovery from alcoholism, and I know people who have kicked some pretty hard drugs. Some people can enjoy some intoxicating substances safely, but others cannot.

If you drink at all, I ask that you honestly examine your consumption habits, and seek help if you are an addict. I don't know what to believe about addiction, or whether it can be overcome through willpower alone, but I ask you to do whatever it takes.

If alcohol, tobacco, sugar, weed, or anything else has that strong an ownership over you, you are not a whole, free individual. Please, be free, and drink responsibly, even if that means just drinking water.

Hive Signature Bar.png

PeakD Signature Bar.png

Sort:  

As last beers go, this sounds like a good one

Here’s one for the road

!BEER

Any subject in any article we write can be any subject, so can we write the beer label?

I'm not sure I understand your question. If you are writing about beer, you can use the 'beer' tag. If you are not writing about beer, using the 'beer' tag will probably result in downvotes for tag misuse.

Understood. Thank you so much.

 4 years ago  

Hey @jacobtothe, here is a little bit of BEER from @talesfrmthecrypt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.