IPA, Okra, and a Spider

in BEER2 years ago

mind haze double IPA.jpg

I have reviewed a few beers from Firestone Walker before: Union Jack IPA, Easy Jack IPA, 805, and Mind Haze IPA. They may proudly proclaim themselves "A California Beer Company" on their cans, but I try not to hold that against them.

This Mind Haze Double IPA is a strong 8.3% ABV, a surprisingly mild 35 IBU, and absolutely packed with herbal and fruit flavors. I cannot recommend this highly enough. If the Dogfish Head brew I recommended several weeks ago was too much hop punch, this swaps out some fruit punch instead. It doesn't taste artificial, watery, or otherwise unpleasant at all.

I brought this beverage when I again visited the same friends with whom I previously shared shishkebabs and was treated to a dinner of okra, rice, and chicken. This was the first time I have had okra, and it's weird. I don't hate it, though.

I tried to take one of those trendy foodie shots, but my glamorous filter game is not on point.


okra rice chicken.jpg


There was also an uninvited guest while we were eating and watching Doctor Strange. I noticed this spider skittering across the floor and managed to take a candid portrait. It has massive pedipalps, and I think it's a variety of giant house spider. They aren't native to the Pacific Northwest, but were apparently introduced by accident over a century ago, and made themselves at home. I don't think it is the related hobo spider, but I'm no expert.

spider.jpg

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

The unexpected guest was creepy. Anyway, I hope I'll meet someone who could send over beer to me, lol missing it so bad

Why no beer? Also, have a spider song, assuming content isn't blocked in your country because of stupid intellectual property laws.

Looks to be a giant house spider, indeed, with that significantly sloped carapace. He looks a lot like a wolf spider, while a hobo spider doesn't. He's also a mature male, out on the prowl for a female. Or maybe just stopped by for some beer, too. Thanks for not doing the great squish! Poor dude is just frisky.

I like spiders. They eat the flies, mosquitoes, and yellowjackets that make life less pleasant. If they stay off of me, I stay off of them.

I think I had okra once, in a soup, while visiting a friend from the deep South. I don't remember my opinion. but it must not have seemed terrible or I think I'd remember that. I am not a fan of that spider. Ew.

Okra is weird. I try not to gate it but I am ambivalent at best. The spider looks like the big house spiders we get here.

And that beer looks excellent!

I have previously had crispy deep-fried okra. It's much more snackable, if that's a word. I can't send you a Mind Haze, but I think I have a !BEER left today.

I have never had it fried, that might be nice as it is the word solid texture it has that annoys me

I may have a !BEER left in my back pocket!

 2 years ago  

Hey @jacobtothe, here is a little bit of BEER from @meesterboom for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  

Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow excelente post, te sigo y te dejo mi voto, saludos.