Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) - Founders Brewing Co. - Beer Review

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

IMG_2737.jpg

Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) - Founders Brewing Co.

Beer Review

Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) is an 11.3% Barrel-Aged Imperial Stout brewed by Founders Brewing Company in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Founders was launched in 1996 by Mike Stevens and Dave Engbers but had a couple different name changes in the early years. For a while, Founders was one of the largest craft breweries in the country before selling 30% of it's stake to Mahou-San Miguel, a Spanish brewing giant based in Madrid. The Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) is a highly regarded barrel aged stout brewed with a massive amount of coffee and chocolates. It was created when Brewmaster Jeremy Kosmicki stumbled upon bourbon barrels that had previously been used to age maple syrup. They added the same base beer as Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS), to create the CBS.

Check out Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) Reviews on Untappd: (Rated 4.48/5)
https://untappd.com/b/founders-brewing-co-canadian-breakfast-stout-cbs/5755

See what else Founders Brewing Co. has to offer:
https://foundersbrewing.com/

IMG_2735.jpg

The Bottle

Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) was served in a 12 fluid oz bottle. The label reminded me of a Canadian Western theme, with a dark stallion on the cover. The bottle had some fine details. It was a great vehicle for a delicious breakfast stout.

IMG_2738.jpg

The Beer

I was very hyped to try the Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) as I was a big fan of the Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS). It has some great reviews and is known as one of the greatest breakfast stouts in the world. The beer is cave-aged in oak bourbon barrels for an entire year and you can certainly taste the flavor. It had a smooth and velvety mouth-feel with a taste and aroma of roasted coffee and chocolate. The sweet maple syrup flavor lingered in to make it an easy drinking, delicious stout. For a beer with 11.3% alcohol/volume, the CBS was very drinkable (and dangerous!). Overall, I think it definitely lived up to the hype. I look forward to trying more beers from Founders Brewing Co. in the future!

Happy #BeerSaturday!

What are you drinking?

Follow @detlev and learn more about the #BeerSaturday Challenge on HIVE

image.png

Thanks For Reading!

Sign Up to Menē for $5 towards 24K Gold Jewelry
Join Airbnb and Save $40 on your first trip
Earn STEEM Dollars & more by completing online tasks
Convert your online activity into Gift Cards, Crypto or Paypal with GaB
Join the SWIFT Universal Basic Income Experiment
Get Paid to Get Fit with the SweatCoin App
Use Bitcoin for Amazon Purchases and Save $$$
Join Lolli for Bitcoin Rebates
Collect, Trade & Battle on the Blockchain with SteemMonsters
Join Actifit - Get Rewarded For Being Active
Send a Tip Using the Bitcoin Lightning Network

Sort:  

Ayyye I (@ericwilson) live near Grand Rapids! Founders is a popular brewery around here, for sure!

Did you ever go to their taproom?

Sure havent, have you?

Have you been to pigeon hill or unruly brewing?

I used to go to Unruly frequently before Covid - Haven't been to Pigeon. Are you familiar with Grand Armory Brewery?

I’m a fan of Grand Armory.i like the brewery location with that share coffee/BBQ space. They have some great beers too.

I am friends and went to school with one of the owners, their "Weezin' The Juice" is pretty much the only thing I drink anymore.

I was actually going to say that’s their best beer. I’m pumped the Mejier carries it now.

Are you from Muskegon or close by? If so feel free to dm me on Discord EricWilson#1388

I sent a request. EricWilson#1388 did not work so I sent it to ericwilson#1388

I’m a few hours from the area but I head that way pretty often. I’m a regular at odd side Ales when I’m on the west side.

Are you in Canada? They did not release the 12 oz bottle in the us.

I'm in New England. My local package store usually snags some good stuff from all around. I managed to grab a few of these.

Good choice. I think it’s gone downhill a bit since they mass produced it. However, it’s still an excellent beer.

That !BEER looks amazing, love the creamy caramel colored head!!

 4 years ago  

Hey @jeffjagoe, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Both the Kentucky and Candian versions of the breakfast stout are great - but I think I prefer the KBS - Maple syrup is a little bit of a overpowering taste for me.

That beer looks very tasty,it has a beautiful color.

Hi @jeffjagoe looks like a nice one. Cheers, Prost and !BEER from me

 4 years ago  

Hey @jeffjagoe, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.