My craft beer bottle collection part 2

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

I'm so pleased last time people liked my beer bottle collection post. I'm back with a few more, and I've decided I'm not going to be sad and take tasting notes 😉. I'm going to continue talk about my bottles only.
DSC_0278.JPG

This time I'm going to show you these four
DSC_8916.JPG
DSC_8917.JPG

livinguktaiwan divider.png

The first one is the Gatekeeper golden ale. The moment I saw it on the supermarket shelf I knew I had to buy it. Not because of the label, but this time it's really because of the bottle. Can you see anything special about it?

DSC_8901.JPG

Probably not from the front. Let me turn it sideways for you. Can you see it now? The bottle isn't round. It's a flat oval shape, like a medicine bottle. I haven't seen a beer bottle like this before, that's why I was so keen to add it to my beer bottle collection. The oval beer bottle is the brewery's signature and according to their website is based on an eighteenth century gin bottle from Gibbstown, by the Delaware River near Philadelphia. It's a pity that they didn't explain what an 18th century gin bottle from Philadelphia, USA has to do with a beer brewery in Suffolk, UK. Oh well, at least the bottle is unusual and that's what matters!
DSC_8902.JPG


I always wonder why craft beer has this mysterious mythical names and taglines. Like Moorhouse's Blonde Witch, their tagline is

Spellbinding, tantalising, she spins her golden charms and whispers her haunting siren call, like a shining beacon

If you look at the label, it's actually quite a modern looking one. The silhouette of the female doesn't look like a witch, she doesn't have a pointed nose and crooked teeth for a start! The mystical aspect comes from the location of the brewery, at a place called Pendle at Lancashire in UK. Apparently Pendle is known as one of the most haunted places in UK, and in 1612 there was a famous Pendle Witch Trail here where 12 people were charged with murdering 10 people with witchcraft. Now we know.



The My Generation Session Pale Ale is another bottle with a female face on its label. It's a collaboration brew between My Generation and the Black Sheep Brewery. The brewery is Black Sheep in Yorkshire UK, and the brand is My Generation, launched by a guy who plays the guitar and loves music and beer. I have absolutely no recollection of this beer as it's one of the earlier ones I got....



The last beer I want to share today is from our friends across the pond, the Shipyard American IPA. It hails from Portland in Maine. Shipyard has been brewing beer in the States for over two decades and they also collaborate with a brewery in UK called Ringwood. Ringwood is part of the Marston Group in UK, and Marston recently formed a joint venture with Carlsberg.

Wonder where I'm going with this? Craft beer is normally brewed by independent brewers producing on a smaller scale. Their uniqueness lies with the owner's ethos and technique. I can't see how this can preserved in a large corporation and these small brands often just end up as another cog in the wheel. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against large corporatons, I just wonder their fit with artisan products. Never mind, if the worse comes to worse, there's plenty of beer to drown our sorrows.


If you're interested, you can read about my first Craft beer collection post here

Sort:  

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

You have quite an interesting collection there! Wow! 😉👍

Thanks! It's certainly a good use of rubbish since they're going to be recycled anayw, might as well put them to good use.

Amazing collections like an art exhibition. With the different packaging and design, they are indeed a nice collection.

!tip

Yes, that's the best thing about them. I tend to choose all the unusual label as I don't know that they taste like anyway.

The Moorhouses one is local to me. They were giving bottles away after a trail 10k run last year that @bingbabe was competing in. I took one home, it wasnt really my thing.

Your quite near me then 👍🏽. I just got into Vocation Brewery i'll have to post them 💯🐒

That's nice, free booze I mean.

I actually had the Moorhouses last week with a curry, it's quite light and was overpowered by the curry, but I found it ok, maybe coz it's light.

As it says. A beer a day keeps the doctor away lol.

Really appreciate your bottle collections. Who know in the coming time these can became of worth $1000.

Ha Ha! That's a nice thought.

Thanks man

Love the Shipyard Ale cracking taste and hoppy too, always a bonus 💯🐒

I had that a long time ago, forgot what it taste now. Maybe I'll get another bottle next time.

Just bought a load so might do some little reviews 💯🐒

What a beautiful collection :)

Nice bottle collection, I would love to taste all those !BEER
Cheers!!

Thanks, I have to say I'm not that a big beer drinker, hubby does the drinking and I do the collection, so we do well

 4 years ago  

Hey @livinguktaiwan, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Te feklicito, buena iniciativa, si yo lo aria tendria una hectarea completa de botellas, jajajajaj, gracias por compartir

Your welcome! Glad you liked it.

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It must irk you that so much craft beer is moving to cans, as someone who has a craft beer bottlecap collection it certainly annoys me.

ohhh! That sounds like an interesting collection. I've never come across anyone who collects bottlecaps. How many caps do you have?

Hopefully you will be able to collect more before they disappear. It's a bit like me used to collect matchboxes, and there are less and less of them now.

It would be upwards of 300 different ones - I have one rule though, I have to have drunk the beer, so I know where and when I drunk each of those 300 odd beers.