Duvel series for #BeerSaturday, part 3: Fresh versus matured Duvel

in BEER2 years ago

As promised in my post from last week, here I am again with a last post about Duvel for #BeerSaturday, this time about my experience with aging the beer. It’s a practise that I’ve learnt from my grandparents. Duvel was one of our “family beers” – the other was Westmalle Triple, one of the Belgian Trappist Beers. My grandparents always had 3 boxes of Duvel: 1 box was the fresh box, the second was the aging box and the third one the aged box.

Obviously when we drank Duvel, we would take a fresh one (Box 1). Box 1 would be easily replaced by a new Box 1 when (nearly) empty. For special occasions, or just when we felt for it, we took an aged Duvel from Box 3. Box 2 we’d never touch cause that one would replace Box 3 when empty. When Box 2 turns into a Box 3 it would be replaced by a new box 1, which wouldn’t be touched any more again till replacing a box 3. Like this we always had both fresh Duvel and old / aged Duvel available.

But what is now fresh and what is aged Duvel?
“Fresh Duvel” is like one would buy it from the shop and how it’s “supposed to be” drunken. I’m calling it fresh because of its fresh aromas. Compare it with the primery aromas of especially white wine. Freshness and sour are the main characteristics. Especially when drunken cold, one could get “trapped by the devil” and get easily drunk, cause the beer continues to ferment in the bottle. Be aware of the 8,5% alcohol!

I’ve noticed that this fermentation process is intersting till a certain point, let’s say somewhere between 1 and 2 , max 3 years over it’s expiry date, depending on the temperature which one stores it at. After that time it looses too much body. You can imagine that the “body” completely had gone for this bottle that has been “expired” for 6 years. But I drank it anyway and didn’t get sick / ill from it.

A small fun fact about y relation with Duvel: This beer is being brewed in the 4th generation at the Moortgat Brewery and I’m the 4th generation drinking and liking it in our family since also the father of my grandmother liked it very much, even till his last days in his 90’s.

Sort:  

Cheers to that beer brotha. Looks good and a cool scenic spot.

!LUV
!MEME

indeed, sometimes there's no better place than home, right...?... View from my terrace once again... !LUV !CTP

Home sounds like a great place for you for most activities, except exercising. 😆😅 !LOLZ !CTP

What do you get after the animal dinner party?
Stuffed animals.

Credit: reddit
@svanbo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)

That's absolutely true. When one has got what he wants and needs at home, than there's no need to look for it in other places. !LUV !CTP

Doing activities at home also sounds more cost-efficient and time-efficient. 🤓 However, it's rare for a person to want to stay at home most of the time (usually because of the same environment, same equipment, same food, and anything else that may be the same). 😅 !LUV !CTP

Maybe it's not rare for a person who hasn't been home for most time of his life and has been travelling and / or moving a lot... !LOL !CTP

I knew that people would seldom want to be at extended periods of time away from home when I was writing my comment, so that's why I said rare on my last comment, not "almost impossible". 😏

...And even exercising I can do at home. Without machines, but it saves me a trip to a gym if I just want to do some stretching, self massage, own body strength exercises, and something with small weights... !LUV !CTP

I am curious how you pay for your gym membership. 🤔 Is it pay-as-you-enter, subscription (paid daily, monthly, semi-yearly, or other time period), or already paid for as part of a package or your work? 🤓

(What I meant with "paid daily" is that you pay the gym once on your first visit during a given day, and then all subsequent visits to the gym within the same day are free.) 😅 !CTP

I don't have a gym membership, since I HATE the gym. Going more often than once a day? OMG :-(
No, seriously, when I was training in Magaluf a few years ago, the gym was included and we included a weekly session during a certain time. When I was training by myself over there, I omited, and now that I'm training in Palma, I don't have access. I've been on the point of paying, but reconsidered !LUV !CTP

It really sounds like when it comes to exercising, you hate indoors (whether at home or at gym). 😅 Anyway, I heard some people active in exercise that they would prefer jogging, biking, or even dancing outdoors even when gym access is free. 🤓 !LUV !CTP


Credit: free.game
Earn Crypto for your Memes @ hiveme.me!

That !BEER is lovely and goes well with the food you show us there...

Ha, and do you know what's cool?! Thanks to @savvyplayer I can now tip Beer as well! !CTP

A !BEER from me….

Thank you @detlev! I hope you liked the slightly different instake of not just describing or discussing one beer or comparing it with an other one. !LUV !CTP

 2 years ago  

Hey @svanbo, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

@detlev Do you know by any chance how I could post my post automatically in my blog? Last week I found it and I thought it was "edit>advanced" but now I really can't find it any more...

Since the automatic reblog feature has been removed on many Hive frontends (such as #Ecency, #PeakD, and #HiveBlog) to prevent users from accidentally reblogging their post, you should just reblog your chosen posts manually after publishing them. 🤓 !PIZZA !LOLZ

Can i reblog using the Ecency front end? I only see the possibility to cross post. And Cross posting only seems to be possible in a community, not in one's personal blog...?... !PIZZA

You can reblog any post (from you or others) by going to the Posts or Blog section of the profile which has the post, then click the icon that looks like a refresh/cycle button to reblog. 🤓 The icon is at the right side of the comment icon. 😏 !PIZZA !CTP

It's all very easy when one know where to find it. Thank you once again. It worked! !CTP !PIZZA

Congratulations for learning something new again! 🥳😅 !CTP !PIZZA

By the way, the last 10 days any of my posts isn't doing well... I wonder how comes... Before that I was consistently over 1,50, which I can live with for an #Actifit post, but now it's about the half for any post during the last 10 days.... !PIZZA !CTP

Maybe the low price of HIVE (about $0.30 each) has something to do with many deserving posts (and comments) not getting curated. 🤔 Even the #Ecency Hive account has less than 70% Voting Mana, so it needs to (very) carefully select posts (and comments) to curate. 🤓 !PIZZA !CTP

Indeed it was like that. I hope that my recent post about my bird is going to get more traction in the next 6 days because of the promotion, because at the moment it has only been valued for 63 cts. My post about Boterham Beer raised about 1,75 and that is really not worth the efforts I make to write these posts... !LUV !CTP

I hope that my #Ecency Boosting Request for your post about your bird gets approved, so that at least you would get at least $2 worth of author rewards for your post (even though I noticed that the larger the Ecency Points you choose for your Boosting request, the lower the chances of the request getting approved). 🤗 !LUV !CTP

A taxi driver was getting flirty with a woman in a bar.
At the end of the night he took her back to her place.

Credit: reddit
@svanbo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(4/4)

Absolutely. More and more I really !love (need?) to eat something small when drinking my beers, even it's only one I'm drinking...

I wonder what's that food on the table with your beer. 🤔 It doesn't look cooked yet. 🤯😅 !PIZZA !CTP

It's not supposed to be cooked... It's some cheese and salami...
And in the black bowl is a salad I made, but I'm not sure any more if it was from some fish leftover or chicken... It's easy to make salads to use for a spread on toasts with the beer. You take some leftover, mixed it with chopped boiled egg, and mayonaise and add some herb or not. Writing this, I do remember, it's chicken with curry ;-) Delicious! !CTP

I didn't assume it's salami because I expected salami to be cylindrical and/or chopped into circles. 😅

Maybe you are the go-to person to ask about how to make beer (or other alcoholic beverages) more enjoyable! 😆😅 !CTP

oh absolutely! I can give a lot of tips about, food, drinks and food pairing :-) !LOL
About the salami, I like tochop it in cubes, like you can see !CTP

So... In the absence of alcoholic beverages, what drinks do you want? 🤔😏 !LOL !CTP

Anyway, I wonder why you call the food "chicken with curry" instead of "chicken curry". 🤯 Maybe you are referring to a different recipe than what I'm thinking! 😅 !PIZZA !LOLZ

I think it's a different recipe indeed. Chicken Curry for me is a warm dish which people tend to eat with rice, right? (Oriental dish) the chicken with curry I meant here is a spread for on the bread prepared like I've been explaining inmy previous answer !LUV !CTP

Sounds like we have to remember the difference between "chicken curry" and "chicken with curry", especially when we want to try out new meals in restaurants! 😅

What did the Buddhist say at the sandwich shop?
Make me one with everything.

Credit: reddit
@svanbo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(5/6)

 2 years ago  

Hey @svanbo, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @svanbo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @svanbo.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Mu hubby has done the same thing with Duvel ... Always a good supply of fresh and old ones. The oldest one he ever drank was over 20 years old! It was nearly like Porto.

Do you mean a Duvel from 20 years old???? Or it was a different beer? I would dare it with a dark beer, but a blond one.... When I see in what a state this one from 2016 was already... I wouldn't keep Duvels for 6 years any more, that's sure... This one has been "hidden" somewhere at home and when I found it I thought "I can better keep it a bit longer for the moment I really feel like trying it" !LOL !PGM

I tried to starte a professional hide and seek team but it didn't work out.
Turns out good players are hard to find.

Credit: marshmellowman
@fiatgirl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/6)

It was a Duvel. It also depends on the conditions of the storage place, but a 5 year old Duvel is still perfect to drink. When you take older ones, it's best not to drink then completely, but leave the last with all the yeast in the bottle 😜

I must say in the 2016 bottle I found pretty little yeast. I was surprised about that! !PIZZA !CTP

Duvel. I'll have to give that a try!
I see it here on the shelves sometimes.
!ALIVE
!wine
!PIZZA

You reall should give it a try indeed. People who like beers (different than Pale Ale and Stout beers) generally like Duvel. Now that shortly I can tip as well !BEER, maybe this a kind of a motivator :-)


Congratulations, @davidthompson57 You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINEX With @svanbo.
You Earned 0.300 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.240


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@svanbo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @davidthompson57. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@savvytester(5/5) tipped @svanbo (x21)
svanbo tipped savvytester (x12)
davidthompson57 tipped svanbo (x1)
svanbo tipped fiatgirl (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Cheers! !hivebits !LOLZ !LUV

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Starting Sept 10, you will need to reply to your OWN post or comment to mine HBIT. You MIGHT also find a bonus token! Details here.

Cartoonist found dead in home.
Details are sketchy.

Credit: reddit
@svanbo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mimtan

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's sew FUN tribe!
(1/1)

Thanks! !LOL

I slept like a baby last night.
I woke every two hours and cried.

Credit: reddit
@mimtan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's sew FUN tribe!
(3/6)

Great beer, however one drinks it! !LOL

I'm in a club for kids who love math.
We are called the Algebros.

Credit: theabsolute
@mimtan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's sew FUN tribe!
(4/6)