Magic Monday: War of the Spark Booster Pack

in Magic: The Gathering3 years ago (edited)

20210111_182602.jpg

This set doesn't seem to be part of any overarching block. I admit I have been out of the loop as a casual MTG player, so I don't really know how this fits in with other sets of that time.

The cards will have to speak for themselves. Here they are in the order they were packed.

20210111_182839.jpg

So far, these are underwhelming. The Vampire Opportunist ability might trigger some combos, but it's way too situational.

20210111_182925.jpg

The next batch of commons is a bit better. I dig the new art for Totally Lost. Law-Rune Enforcer and Burning Prophet both look good, too, all things considered.

20210111_183049.jpg

Honestly, the uncommon and the rare are kind of a letdown, too, but I like the Kiora card regardless of its price, and I am inordinately pleased to see Fblthp with his own card after seeing him make cameo appearances on so many Ravnica cards including the portrait on the old version of Totally Lost.

All told, no high-value cards and no real must-haves. What would you draft from this pack?