Studying Another Artist's Style My Way

in Hive PH3 years ago

I've been doing some more practices sketches and browsing the some works from multiple art platforms. The idea is to expand what styles I know and not. Just asking myself questions like what styles I can pick up and transform into my own version? It's been like that ever since I got more into making illustrations and art in general.

First, I approach the subject of evaluating what my present skill sets are and what styles I have picked up and built upon. There's a lot of routes to choose from when rendering an illustration. The type of strokes, color preference, and even media matters a lot to getting it right.

I figured some styles are only possible when I consciously remember their settings on photoshop. The thing about watching tutorials from digital artists is that some of them aren't beginner friendly. Most assume that you have already grasp the fundamentals to study their style.

I have seen WLOP and his tutorials. These are far from the time lapse or speed paints you commonly see on Youtube. His tutorials are for advanced digital artists. I always wanted to learn his style. He was one of the few artists that kept me glued to wanting to learn digital art. But damn, to get a level where I understand his style would mean I more layers of work written in years. Just saying he definitely earned the praises he gets as an artist, and it's all a hobby to him.

There are also local artists I want to highlight from the Philippines I follow on Instagram. Aoi Ogata , Serafleur, and Adelair have been sources of inspiration. I was fortunate to meet @adelair here on the blockchain. Their art is nice to look at and I just dream of the day some daily minutes of practice would get me halfway near the skill set they have.


Second, I examine what tools I have at my disposal. If their works were rendered in high resolution, I'd rethink about pursuing the style because I may miss out the minor details during the process due to limitations in my hardware. Working on several layers on photoshop is taxing to my potato laptop (but I use GIMP). The idea is just trying to keep it within my practical limits. I could spend several hours sketches some details only to be frustrated that some settings don't exist on my version of photoshop (if I still had one).


Third, the style has to be reproducible in such a way that I can just do it on traditional media. This isn't a fixed condition but it really is a plus to have this checked. Parkjinsuky has been my latest artist of interest for the simplicity and style. He creates his pieces through traditional media and then readjusts them digitally.

He doesn't need the digital enhancement as his traditional skills with inking and watercolor are beast levels. The software just makes his works on steroids. Now I understand that his art is for commercial mainstream and not the type of art you'd see being an avant garde of expression. But that's the route I chose to pursue. I still take dips on the other spectrum of art once in a while.

Shroom.jpg

Sorry for the crappy photo. This was taken with nil photography skills and artistry in mind. Just one of the pages on my practice sketches trying to understand Parkjinsuky's style. I try to pay attention to the minute details because that's where the devil is and then try to figure out their process. I know the feel is different when I translate the muscle memory to a graphic tablet. So far it's been a productive study learning the artist through studying their work.

Although the small details aren't easily seen on this photo, it's there with some image enhancement. I didn't made the sketches with the idea of making a post. But I was inspired about talking the learning process. I just think beginner artists trying to find their way should curate other artists and figure out who they want to emulate.

Having the title self taught feels great once you earned the skills yourself. One thing I learned about making art that's mainstream is that it can be profitable as a hobby as long as you put in the work and be consistent. Both things are something I struggle with but I'm working on it.


If you made it this far reading, thank you for your time. This is a creative footer by @adamada. A Hobby Illustrator. I post all my works first on this blockchain before sharing it on other social media.

Sort:  

My art teachers would have loved you XD they were really big on copying/studying other people's styles (usually old masters because it was a fine arts class) to develop your own.

and I was a terrible student because I just went and did my own thing anyway

Small details tend to be one of those things that you have to not worry about other people seeing or not (if you're not specifically showing them off) as it's the kind of thing that they would notice the absence of without necessarily knowing what's wrong :) As for taking pictures of pictures that can get interesting, just try to make sure you have some brighter and more even lighting (turn on some extra lamps if you need backlighting).

 3 years ago  

I think your teachers and I would agree with several things but to pursue the purist form of fine arts is not something I m inclined to do. But I get the point, understand the fundamentals or rules then break the norm.

I'm so neurotic with the tiniest details, the minor strokes that make up the whole and looked up it being a sign of an inner obsessive compulsive habit. I had several of those habits leak into my routine that I had trouble purging some just die harder.

I should've taken the photo on daytime and not under fluorescent light. I had grown accustomed to having my blogs lack engagement or anyone even noticing the tiny details of the post. People are busy and can't be bothered so I write to document what I thought to look back on them a few months after. I do consider anyone might come browsing on the posts weeks back just cause, so there is some effort into writing for others to see. Will refrain from doing some parts of my future posts on the spur of the moment.

If it's any consolation all my progblogs are done at night (usually well after I should be in bed x_x), the only advantage I have is screenies don't have the photograph taken in the dark problem ;D

You poor thing, you sound like me. My sister is constantly NOBODY IS GOING TO NOTICE when she sees me obsessing about something XD (she's right, but I'll notice and that's what's important ;D)

Congratulations @adamada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

It has been a while since I drawn something. I really like to practice my lost skills, but I a preoccupied with too many things. I not used to drawing digitally, but I want to learn some. Would you care to suggest a friendly tutorial? Cheers !wine

 3 years ago  

No tutorial I can think of. It will depend on your goals when you want to draw. There's just drawing for the sake of drawing and drawing with the intention to practice something. When you draw doodles, the neural networks aren't as focused as drawing with a specific goal such as copying a style or seeing the end result prior to beginning and finishing.

It would also depend on what you want to achieve when you draw? I draw on traditional media just to get some idea about how to render the image through muscle memory but I'll still be fiddling with the graphics tab to see if I can replicate the memory. What do you want to draw? semi-realism or anime? or cartooning?

If it is digital, maybe do cartoon or anime style. I am more on abstract or impression, and inking on traditional. I need to rediscover my drawing style then.

 3 years ago  

Doing digital with a graphics tab is a different set of rules. The transition takes weeks to get used to the tool. But if you're just doing this for a Hobby and have no goals to go semi realism and higher levels of skill beyond flat coloring, then it's far easier to hit goals. Abstract digital art is another world and not an expert on that to make a commentary.

Nice work @adamada. Art has always had a soft place in my heart because of it's ability to speak to a person on many levels and to society as a whole.

 3 years ago  

What type of art speaks to you most?

Film, music and paintings...

 3 years ago  

I was thinking along the lines of paintings, like surrealism, impressionism, expressionism and etc. But realized the question was vague.

My favorite painting styles change from time to time. If I had to choose now it would be impressionism. :)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!