Chilling at the Tamp!

in Hive PHlast year (edited)

B0724D31-790E-4B26-94DA-C2E098C31C48.jpeg

Have you heard about the TAMP?

"NO!" That was our synchronized answer to our friend and co-worker, Maam Meivy, when she asked us after our duty as Adult Leaders during the Division BSP Camp held at Camp Marina, Lahug, Cebu City! She briefly explained to us what she knew about the TAMP, which she discovered while scrolling Facebook the other day. She said that many people come to visit the place for its ambiance, cakes, foods, and beverages. Her inquiry eventually turned into an invitation.

"YES!" All of us answered yes to her invitation. Maybe it was because we needed to chill out after the tiring and boring day with the boyscouts. I will have another post about the BSP camping. Maybe, it will be the next post. 😊

I do not know if it is also a thing to other people, but I always get very excited when I am about to go to a place (any place) for the first time. I was really excited to get inside Maam Meivy's car and leave the BSP Camp.


So, is this the TAMP?

Yes, this is the TAMP or rather "tamp". It is located in BTC or Banilad Town Center near University of Cebu-Banilad Campus and Gaisano Country Mall. I have been to BTC a couple of times already because we come here for Jeju Samgyupsal and sometimes to have grocery at Robinsons, but we never knew there is a cafe here.


What were my First Impressions!?

The entrance was clean, so that was a good beginning impression for their customers. There are also ornamental plants outside and the color of the nature always give us a calming and relaxing vibe, so that was a good one too! But I am not sure if the plants were real or made of plastic.

As soon as I took my seat, my roaming eyes and my phone camera started wandering the cafe. I usually take photos of the ceiling or the ceiling lights, the accent walls, and the counter. Obviously, my eyes were a bit impressed!

I was happy seeing people talking to each other while eating cakes or cookies in Tamp. Well, I have to write and emphasize this because it is not very common in other cafe's. Usually, people in SB are so engrossed of their cellphones or laptops or their iPads even if they are with their friends. Do you also observe that in other cafe’s or in any restaurants? Anyways, I find this place a good location for friends and families for conversations and catching-ups!


Should we order cakes or drinks?

"Both". We ordered three slices of cakes and drinks for the four of us. Maam Meivy was so generous that she offered to pay for the cakes so we only had to pay for our drinks that was a big SAVE for me and my wife. I ordered a Matcha Frappe, my wife ordered French Vanilla, Maam Meivy ordered Java Chip, and Maam Marj ordered a Mocha Frappe. I wanted to try how their matcha in Tamp tasted. Matcha has been my favorite flavor since I started drinking frappes and milk teas.

After maybe a minute or two, the three slices of cakes were served to us. All of us uttered "Wow" when we saw the cakes. We ordered Chocolate Blackout, Ube Pastllas Cake, and Blueberry Cheesecake. It was so tempting! But we waited for some more minutes for our drinks to be served also.

So, we chatted about anything we could think of - about family, work, travel, and upcoming events until we couldn't take more waiting anymore! We grabbed our forks and enjoyed the cakes! It was heaven!

My personal first favorite was the Ube Pastillas Cake, it was sweet but not so sweet. I have heard it was one of their best sellers! My second favorite was the Chocolate Blackout Cake because why not, I love chocolates, periodt!

The waiting for our drinks took twenty minutes or more. We talked about everything until we had nothing to talk about except for the long wait we had to endure for their drinks. We already set high hopes because they had to prepare our drinks for almost half an hour.

Eventually, our drinks were served. If you carefully check the picture on the right, we already ate all the cakes! That pissed me off a little because I am not so good at waiting, I know that is kinda toxic, but I always try not to behave and not complain in the store or cafe as much as possible.

I was once a Jollibee crew. So, I kind of understand why these things happened sometimes. But it is always a manpower problem if these things happen and I believe the management have addressed this kind of issues through trainings and the like.

Anyways, I was still excited to try my Matcha Frappe as they were for their beverages!

Cheers!

I had not tasted one for more that a year already because my wife and I agreed not to drink milk teas anymore. No reason at all anyway!

We enjoyed our stay for a little more in this cozy cafe while finishing our drinks. Maam Marj decided to not consume all her Mocha Frappe because she would give it to her daughter who was already inquiring why she was not home yet.


Would I recommend Tamp to my friends?

"Absolutely!" Overall, I still enjoyed our stay and we definitely achieved our target to just chill out. But, I would want to give my reviews in numbers because that is just my preference.

  • Cleanliness - 9/10. The outside and inside was clean but I wasn't fully impressed by the sanitary level I expect and want in a CR/restroom.
  • Service - 7/10. The crew were attentive to their customers' need. They were also very patient and approachable but they served the drinks very late.
  • Food (Cake) - 10/10. The cake would be the perfect reason why I would visit the place again.
  • Drink (Matcha Frappe) - 7/10. It was certainly not the best matcha I tried.
  • Price - 9/10. Just.

I think that would be all for this post! Thank you for taking time to read this one. I hope to see you on my next one! Love lots!



The Author

Christian Yocte is a public school teacher in the Philippines who also loves other interesting things like making digital and traditional art, exploring new places and destinations, writing journals and musings, and a lot more. He currently resides in Cebu, Philippines. Join him as he ventures different places, shares his masterpieces, and makes his life more meaningful.

If you like this post please give it an upvote, a nice comment, and a reblog. It would also be great if you follow him to keep posted on his next post like this.

Sort:  

Dear @christianyocte,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

Sure! I really took time to read the proposal and decided to vote for it also. Thank you so much for your services! @arcange

Thank you for your support @christianyocte, really appreciate it! 👍
Without imposing and as we are in a renewal period for proposals, if you could take a look at the HiveBuzz Proposal Renewal - #248 as well 😁

How are you @christianyocte, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

We can also follow our official Facebook page

Keep doing the great job ❤️

image.png

Wow thank you for chosing my post!

Katam is dinha..hehe
The ambiance looks great. I'm happy you had a great time with your wife and friends. God bless..

Salamat! Their cakes are not very sweet compared to what we buy from red ribbon or goldilocks! It is way way better! The matcha shich I drank was also not also very sweet, however it wasnt the best matcha I tasted.

But, we hadfun there! Thank you for dropping by my blog. 😊

Wow I always like cakes that taste not so sweet. I haven't tasted matcha milk tea. Maybe I will soon. I just ordered Cookies n Cream milk tea yesterday, so Matcha would be my next. Hehe

You're welcome.☺️

Kaning milktea mao niy hinungdan sa akong pagdaku. 😅😅

Hahahah..parehas gyud ai..saona twice or thrice a week mag milk tea. Mao to Ang tiyan pwerti kadako. Tagsa nalang ron..heheh

Gagmay kaayo ta diba? Hahha now we are so different!

Hahaha... As in..

Well, well, I love your sincerity while rating the TAMP, by your rating the place is a very nice place to be and I am already salivating and wishing I was at your place so I could visit there and such an amazing place for myself.

Though I wish their workers were here to see this post so they could make possible amends in areas where they are lacking especially that aspect of delay.

You really had a nice time sir, when will you take me there?😁

Haha wow! Thank you for taking time to read my post! I agree the people in tamp should be here in Hive so that they will be aware of how I see they service.

Soon, my friend if I become rich! 😂

You are already rich sir.. because you are working towards it.

You're welcome. It's such a privilege to be here🥰

Oww! Thank you for those words! I know you are also working towards your financial freedom, my friend! 😊

I am sir, little by little 😁😁

Happy to hear that sir! 😊

Smiles🥰🥰🥰 . Thank you! ❤️

I remember being excited, too, when I went to Tamp for the first time. I've been to their branches a lot of times, and I always get their yema cake. It's so good! 😁

If you order a meal and a drink, you'll get a cake for 1 peso only!

Hmm! I didn't know that! So thanks for telling me this. It seems like Tamp is your go-to cafe.

This is a very nice review. But the Ube Pastillas Cake got me coz I really love Ube 😍 Thanks for sharing @christianyocte i would love to visit Tamp in Banilad soon.

Thank you so much for visiting my post. Go visit it because I just learned you can get a cake for 1 peso only if you order a meal and a drink!