Rest Until You're Strong Enough

in Hive PH2 years ago

It’s finally the last week of September and a few days from now, sentimentals will wake up and greet the new month of October.


Edited on Canva. The image was from Unsplash by Lux Graves

The month of September is always connected to a song titled "Wake Me Up When September Ends." This song from Green Day was already part of the internet culture, often included in memes, skits, etc. This masterpiece has been engraved in the minds of this generation, especially the kids of the 2000s. However, behind the success of this song, there’s a sad backstory. Billie Joe Armstrong, the frontman of the band Green Day, wrote the lyrics relating to the death of his father on September 10, 1892. According to him, after the funeral, he locked himself in his room, and when his mother called him, he replied, "Wake me up when September ends."

To each one of us, the phrase "wake me up when September ends" may have different meanings. Maybe for some people, this month feels unproductive and they have no energy to accomplish the things they want. Or maybe, like Billie Joe Armstrong, they also have a bitter memory that makes them sad for the whole month.

I think it's a case-by-case basis; it still depends on your current life situation. For instance, September in recent years didn’t bring any catastrophes into my life. It feels like nothing. I still do my usual routine for the whole month, which can help me survive in this world. Although there are occasional events, they're not that remarkable. However, this year I faced a lot of situations that challenged my mental and emotional stability, leading me to just shut down from everyone and isolate myself for a long time.

Mukhang trip ako ni Lord na bigyan ng character development this year, hahaha.

My recent tumultuous relationship has brought me a lot of pain. It's so effing draining that no rest can bring back your energy. It feels like you’re just resting to prepare yourself to suffer later in the day. Actually, I am already lucky if I can sleep for the whole night because most of the time there are a lot of voices in my head keeping me awake. I remember taking a sleeping pill just to bring some melatonin to my system, but it was no help. That’s why when September arrived, I felt exhausted. I just want to sleep for the whole month and just wake up when it ends.

What does Wake me up when September ends mean to you?

The image was from Unsplash by Kinga Cichewicz

Speaking based on my recent experience, "wake me up when September ends" can also be translated to "wake me up when I am fully recovered" or "rest until I am strong enough to face the present situation." Resting doesn’t mean you’re going backward. Sometimes, taking a break is necessary and also part of the process. We can compare it to sore muscles after working out, where true recovery and formation only happen during the rest, while continuous workouts without taking a break would result in muscle damage and injuries. We might see it as unproductive in the short term but if we look at the longer time frame, we are giving ourselves a favor; to go back stronger and well prepared.

Thankfully, September seems good to me. Even though I entered this month with wounds, I am glad that some of them are already healed and now just scars. Thanks to my friends, who became my support system when I was down. I am also grateful that I successfully entered a new journey as a university student, which helped me to become distracted and be away from negative thoughts. And lastly, thanks to myself for not giving up and battling with his inner demons—you deserve everything good.


Hello, this is my entry for the 4th-week contest of Hive PH. I hope you enjoyed reading my entry ❤️. Thank you!

Sort:  

"wake me up when I am fully recovered" or "rest until I am strong enough to face the present situation."

I think this is necessary to get back on track. Rest for a while ang come back stronger.

 2 years ago  

Yiee it's nice to hear it Ford, 'healing for everyone' come back to tracks, write and becomes active again hehe. Oww no... December is waving...

Pasko na sinta ko 🎵

Yes last week to go and then later on here goes December, rime flies so fast like yesterday we just celebrated Christmas and now here we go another Christmas to celebrate. Cheers to Ber months

Indeed. Time flew so fast.

Thank you for checking out my article :))

Mukhang trip ako ni Lord na bigyan ng character development this year, hahaha.

Dami tripping ni Lord this year noh? Well, I hope you have grown better than before.

Nanahimik lang naman po ako sa gilid Lord ba't naman po ganun? eme hahaha. Baka naboboringan na Siya sa takbo ng buhay ko kaya need nya lagyan ng unting ✨spice✨. Tsaka para mas maging better individual

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much :))

 2 years ago  

Or wake me up when the Market is up again at 20% aigooo haha. Madami talaga syang pwdng maging meaning ano.

Uy pwede pwede 😂. Kaso baka hindi na tayo gumising pag ganyan hahahahaha

 2 years ago  

HAHAHA wag kang ganyan clipuu, manalig kaaaaa haha. Sana naman malay natin hahaha

Congratulations @cli4d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It's okay to feel those heartaches @cli4d, its a part of of human nature but as you said, some of the wounds are now scars. Let those scars remind you that everything will be healed in the right time. You will be okay soon. Learn to love yourself and have a positive mindset.

Those wounds and scars are now making me stronger ❤️. I am still lucky at some point because I had the chance to experience pain and such thing make me feel alive, as a human again. Thank you Ate @jenthoughts for your input :)))

Nice to know that you are dealing well with the monster. You are a tough one, and can do more great things. So never give up. 😊

Thank you ate @jane1289 for the encouraging words ❤️

Penge po healing energy mga 100%. Drain na me. hahah Mag !PIZZA ka nga.

Healing for everyone

Kidding aside, wag kalimutan magpahinga :)).

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@juanvegetarian(3/5) tipped @cli4d (x1)
ayane-chan tipped cli4d (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

!PIZZA

Thank you @juanvegetarian. Sarap ng pa-pizza mo hahaha

Welcome. Eto pa ang isang slice. Enjoy... !PIZZA