Hosting Friday night's event with Jiji

in Hive PH2 years ago

An image edited in Canva. The original image was from Unsplash by Chris Montgomery

My heart was filled with joy and satisfaction as we finished the HivePH discord server event hosted by yours truly and @jijisaurart on Friday. We volunteered to be the night hosts for this week's game for no apparent reason. We felt like helping out and making a game for the community to enjoy. It was my first time hosting an online community platform. As a result, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and company of those in attendance.

For those who are unfamiliar with the @HivePH community, we have been playing a Friday game. Since I joined, it has been a tradition for whoever volunteered, whether admins or members, to host a game. We expected every Friday game to be filled with fun and excitement since everyone was excited about it. The chat room will be inundated with good, funny, and inappropriate responses. But, aside from our happiness, the most important thing is the friendship and connection we formed.

The preparation

The poster created by Jijisaurart

Four days before the game, Jiji and I were talking about the game. She was eager and high-spirited. From time to time, we were messaging each other about the new concept she was thinking about and shared with me so that we could discuss it. In fact, I suggested two or three games to her, but unfortunately, we had to choose one game only. Then, the day she suggested a game, it was her plan to have a game that was fun and educational. It was to test our players' general knowledge.

The game I picked had two pictures and one word. It was a pretty common game, but I found it educational since it allows the player’s game to be active in thinking about what the names of the two pictures were when they were combined. I searched for words online that I could use for the game. The words I used were neither hard nor easy. It was just a matter of speed in thinking, typing, and internet connection. The faster you have those three mentioned requirements, the more likely you will win the game. Fair enough, eh?

I used Canva to collage the two words using the given and available template. The difficulty I had making a collage was that sometimes the photo would not fit in the center. When that occurs, it would be hard to recognize the photo, so I decided to use portrait orientation photos so that I wouldn’t have to adjust them from time to time. Collaging was not difficult but finding the right photo for every word that I enlisted in my notes was.

The Game Night

A screenshot of Friday night's event. It was not the complete participants.

I had taken my dinner meal before the game so that I wouldn’t be hungry during the game since my stomach knew that 8 pm was our dinner time. It was 7:55 when Jiji and I joined the Discord general channel, then we asked everyone who was interested in joining. I was honestly feeling nervous and excited at the same time. When the time hit 8 pm, we decided to start the game with the current number of participants. Jiji was the first one to hold the game, and surprisingly, most of the players knew the answer. What a big brain!

Some of Jiji’s questions were easy to answer so that the players wouldn’t think much about them. Her game was basic fun facts and general knowledge that most of us knew. Thus, it was kind of a review for most of the participants and for us, the hosts, because we actually did not know some of them. You know, the game was intended to have fun, not to give headaches. After the 25 questions came from her, it was my time to play my game.

As I mentioned earlier, my game was two pics and one word, so I would just send the photo and let the participants type their answers. I would say that there were some words that were truly hard to guess. Fortunately, there were smart people among the participants, so it was not too difficult. As far as I remember, they took their time guessing the words "fourteen," "pumpkin," and "freshman. Reading some of their answers would make you laugh, and the other participants would actually tease the wrong and witty answers. In that way, the game would become more fun and entertaining.

The Winners

We consumed 53 minutes of the intended 1-hour time for the game. Though we haven’t reached the 1-hour maximum time, we just allotted the remaining time to count the points of each player who has gained a score. We were having difficulty computing the list of winners because Jiji's and my tally were not the same. So, we compared each other's notes until we got them right and tallied the final one. As I expected, there were tied scores since many had correct answers.

An image screenshot from my transaction history.

An image screenshot from my transaction history.

Last night, we announced two winners, but when we recounted the whole list once again, we found out that there were actually three winners tallied with 7 points, so pardon us; it was our honest mistake. Once again, I would like to congratulate the three winners, @cli4d, @khairro, and @cthings. You three deserved it since you were smart enough to answer most of the questions we asked. I have already sent you three of the additional prices that came from my wallet. It was my appreciation for attending the event.

Truly, the HivePH was home to Filipinos who wanted to have fun, aside from writing a blog each day. I was grateful for the opportunity given to me and by the admins, who trusted us for this kind of event. I had fun, and the experience was superb. I hope that it will not be the last that Jiji and I will host. We would love to host and will give our best to make our Friday event happy and wonderful to attend.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @dennnmarc ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

!discovery 25

 2 years ago  

Congrats for new milestone and color @dennnmarc and @jijisaurart sana oll nalang hehe, by the way "Diamond is not a stone its a minerals" po.

Depende sa host, yern haha! Diamond is a rock!

 2 years ago  

see you on court po hahaha

 2 years ago  

Hahahahaha until now 🤣

 2 years ago  

That's true!

 2 years ago  

Thanks bro. Gosh, you still haven't forgotten that diamond and stone stuff. Well, technically, it would be considered as stone. But to be specific, it will be not. Lol!

Congratulations Denden for a successful hosting of a night event in the server. How I wish I have joined but I my connection had a technical issue. Next time ulit.

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much ate. I appreciated it. You can join next week's Friday event and I wish your internet connection will be good and smooth. It's a fun event, really. Shouldn't be missed!

I am honored to host the game last night! I am so happy to be your co-host, Denden! Indeed we nailed the game. It was full of waves of laughter! Truly the members are so brainy, huh!

Congrats also to the winners! @cthings, @khairro and @cli4d ! Well done, guys!

 2 years ago  

I had fun last night, thanks to you two @dennnmarc and @jijisaurart! ❤️🥳 Di ko inexpect na manananalo ako last night kasi kumakain pa ako when it started 😅 Pinag bigyan ko na nga sila makascore, nanalo pa rin pala hahaha Thanks guys, you da best! 🎉

Iba talaga si C! Dapat kumain ka na lang sis, give chance ba. HAHAHA!

 2 years ago  

Ayy grabe naman ang nakain ka pa non. Ang lakas talaga ni @cthings . Ang brainy na, fast hands pa. Combo is real. Congrats again! I'm excited on your game next week. Hihi.

Congrats @dennnmarc and @jijisaurart. D best!

 2 years ago  

Aww. Thanks so much ate. I appreciated it. Next week, attend ka po ah. Hihi.

Sure denn. Hina ng data Kasi kagabi.

 2 years ago  

Salamat sa pag host ng event for the community.

 2 years ago  

Welcome @adamada! Actually, natuwa nga kami ni Jiji kasi pinayagan nyo kami. Lol! Ayun, request namin sana maulit ulit. Hihi


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dennnmarc.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I tried to join yesterday kaso ayaw talaga ng signal 😂, congrats for the success of your event.

Nkakatuwa cguro yun...I missed it because I was busy... .bka naman may mamuo jan sa chat2 nyo ni @jijisaurart 🤣😛✌

Oh, sayang I wasn't able to join. I went out with my sisters kasi.
Congratulations for the succesful event!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@arcgspy(2/15) tipped @dennnmarc (x1)
cli4d tipped dennnmarc (x1)
lhes tipped dennnmarc (x1)
cindee08 tipped dennnmarc (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations sa inyong dalawa ni jiji,ang galing 👏

 2 years ago  

Kainis! Wala lang naalala ko so kainis woth ur voice hahaha. Pero kainis talaga laso di ako tumama lahit isa sa palaro na yaana ahahaha. But anyways, as you said it was filles with joy naman so that is very much enough for me already. I had a good laugh with y'all. And congrats to the both of you. It ks a success napasaya nyo kamong lahat. And congrats din sa lahat ng winner.

ƪ(˘⌣˘)ʃ

Congratulations @dennnmarc at @jijisaurart for the successful hosting of the event kahapon. Super enjoy kagabi na may kaunting piga ng utak hahaha. Events like this form stronger bond talaga. Siya nga pala denn, may utang ka pa sa aming kanta ah, di namin kakalimutan iyan.

 2 years ago  

Ang saya last Friday! Thanks denn denn and @jijisaurart! Next Friday si C naman! Yay!

!PIZZA

Thank you @dennnmarc @jijisaurart for the fun game yesterday! We really enjoyed it hahaha. Di ko ineexpect na mananalo ako kasi sila ate Cthings at Khai na yung palaging nakakasagot don sa 4pics1word hahaha. Kaloka!

 2 years ago  

hahaha ang staff naguluhan din sino ba talaga winners 😂

thank you again @jijisaurart and @dennnmarc! Of course merong next time noh~

It was my first time joining the Friday night event and was contemplating to join pa kasi werking mode pa eh. Kahit nadelay sa work okay lang because I enjoyed the event. Yung sa game mo lang talaga nainis ako kasi super slow ko talaga basta pahula keme eh. 😅

I'll make sure to join every Fri night! And congratulations!

I was there in the event but I just tried answering a few as I was actually doing something that time, but it's indeed fun participating in such activity. Reading the answers made me smile too and I just can't help but say that everyone is equally smart and witty in their own ways.

Wow may mga ganap pala pag friday. Di ko nalaman agad. Busy lang sa tinatapos coloran na nft. Habang nagtatanong ng basics nitong site hehe. Congrats sa successful hosting. Mukang masaya ang pa quizbee hehe.

Wow sana all na lang ako nito. As usul, i am forever absent kapag friday night so hindi talaga ako makajoin nito kahit kailan. I am still happy for all of you and congrats @dennnmarc and @jijisaurart for that successful event. Keep it up.

Salamat, Jen! It is okay po. 🙂

Congratulations to all winners..I-ban niyo na sila next game..🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

In fact, I suggested two or three games to her, but unfortunately, we had to choose one game only.

Ilabas niyo yung other 2 games or magwewelga kami! Char. Thank you for hosting, Jiji and Denn! Wen next event?

!PIZZA