When All of This is Over: A Post Pandemic List

in Hive PH4 years ago (edited)


When all of this is over, will we even know that it's really over? I want to know when it'll be over so that I can do the things I wasn't able to do, the things I used to enjoy, and the things I took for granted. Will I still want to do them? Will I still enjoy them? Will I still overlook their value? I guess I won't find out until this thing is over.


When all of this is over, I want to step outside, remove my face shield, throw away my mask, and breathe in the air of freedom. I want to shed my fear of closeness and physical touch. I want to make up for the time I didn't spend with the people I care about. I want to walk the streets and go further to once restricted places. I want to try new things, taste new flavors, and buy the things that were once non-essential. I want to go out and be an essential.


When all of this is over, I will do everything that is on a list. I will remember the feeling of isolation and make it my drive to move forward to check each one that is on my list. I will change my normal and work towards completing everything on my list. I will use my precious time to share with others some of the things on my list.



When all of this is over, I want to hug all my friends and family. They say it takes 7 hugs a day to boost your happy hormones. If that's true, then I am at a huge deficit of hugs for so long. I want to hug my brother who just got married right before the quarantine. I want to hug my father who's been away from us for far too long. I want to hug my aunts and uncles and cousins. I want to hug my close friends, batchmates, and org mates. And when I meet someone new, I want to shake their hands firm and strong.


When all of this is over, I want to visit the places in Cebu (Philippines) that I haven't been to. I will start with the ones closest to me, the places I have taken for granted for their proximity, the places in my city (Mandaue). I will go to them even if I go alone. I have made another list, a list of the places I want to go to. If you've read my introduction post, it's one of the things I talked about sharing here. I want to go around the island and leave behind memories without worries about border check-points and 14-day quarantines.



When all of this is over, I want to eat out and taste again the food that I enjoyed before the pandemic. I want to be reminded of the times when the decision to eat out did not depend on health protocols. I want to eat at my favorite chicken place without a barrier between me and the person I'm with. I want to go to those crowded food stalls and order something other than the always-safe-choice buttered pork chops. I want to go to that burger joint and taste their delicious onion rings still hot from the fryer instead of ordering it online. I want to go out drinking and try out liquors that I've only looked at on the shelves of convenience stores.


When all of this is over, I want to do the things I've been afraid to do like getting tattoos, starting a business, or moving out of the house. Writing about them even scares me. I know I could get a tattoo right now but who knows, maybe I will get one while we are still in quarantine. And get more after all of this is over. I want to build a startup without being limited by this pandemic. I want to feel the fear of launching a product without having to fear catching a virus. I want to be fully independent but also to have the choice to come home to my family whenever I want and hug them right away without needing to take a bath first.


When all of this is over, I want to be able to help in however I can to the recovery of everyone. I don't have a lot of money but I have the energy. I don't have a lot of influence but I can make time to gather resources. I want to be able to donate what I can and support the local businesses by offering my patronage. I want to be able to donate blood regularly again. I can offer my ears and my heart to listen. I can offer my silent prayers.



When all of this is over, I want to take in everything that has happened and learn from it. I want to inculcate within me and to the people that I can reach, the importance of health and relationships. I want to always remember that life is never predictable, that it will always have its ups and downs. But I want to be as prepared as I can for whatever comes, financially, physically, and emotionally. I want to value each moment that I will be spending with my friends and family. I want to cherish the opportunity to go far and visit different places. I want to be excited to be able to do new things and experience freedom.



That's it! That is my Post Pandemic List. I hope to be able to do all the things in it now that I've publicized it in this community. This post is an entry to the @hiveph contest. Be sure to check out the other entries to the contest as well.

What about you? Do you have things in mind that you'd want to do after all of this is over? You can write your own Post Pandemic List and together, let's look forward to the light at the end of this tunnel. Cheers!

Image Source


Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (writing, cryptocurrency, fitness). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.

Sort:  

Congratulations @glecerioberto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Great post, I really like the flow of your writing. I hope we all get through this. I am there with you on facing fear. May we all muster up the courage we need to make the most of our lives.

Thank you. I initially wanted to write it as poetry. That's why it's so 'flowy.' I really like how it turned out.

One of the good things this Pandemic has brought us is the chance to reevaluate our lives and realize the value of making the most of it while we can.

Truuuu, I'm not a hugger baya but this pandemic made me realize that I took it for granted.

I can only imagine 10 years from now (if naa pa ang Earth 😂), facebook/instagram memories will remind us of how masalimuot 2020 is! This year deserves a memorial 😅

Apir sa not a hugger. Hahaha. The Feast helped me realize the joy in hugs tbh. Worship nya ta together puhon sis.😁

Waaahh cge, para di ko mauwaw ug call and response kay naa nakoy kaila haha! Puhon 🙏