Happy New Year!

in Hive PH3 years ago

unknown.png

What's up everybody! It has been such an amazing and interesting year! Funny how a lot of things happened, good and bad, and here we are now, on the last day of the year. Through all the drama, transitions, changes, and of course, fhe virus, the year is almost over! In a few hours, 2020 will be over. On this last day of the year, I just want to take a look back at the good things that happened.

We all came together

Even for a short period of time, our ever so divided community was united. It may just be a spur of the moment for some, but I am very much grateful for everyone that stayed. I must say, they're just a handful and I am confident to say they know who they are. Besides, I don't feel comfortable mentioning lists of names, I might forget someone and unknowingly make them feel left out. So to all of you amazing folks who continued supporting the Hive PH community in your own ways, big and small, thank you so much.

We started a path to financial literacy

@hivephilippines account was originally created to support and upvote posts from all its delegators. Later on, I realized and admitted (it took longer for the latter to happen) that it's not working out. APR is on all time low, the upvotes it gives out isn't making that much of a difference. And so, after much deliberation, hivephilippines account transformed from upvoting service into a passive income source for its delegators.

At last, it finally made bigger ripples to the delegators' accounts. But it was not easy keeping it liquid. Hand in hand, hiveph and hivephilippines accounts worked together to make sure all transactions run smoothly.

Another thing that needed to be addressed was the manual labor I had to put into actually transferring the weekly earnings intothe delegators' wallets. It took a big bulk of my time because I had to semi-manually calculate the earnings, plus it made me anxious every single time. What if the excel file crashes, what if the formulas I did were wrong, what if I did not transfer correctly. Manual labor is always prone to more errors. That is why I am really grateful to @jazzhero for making the bot for hivephilippines. It took a lot off my plate! So thank you so much, man. I owe you big time. I feel like I can step away for a while and not worry about the hivephilippines delegator earnings at all because of you.

We earned support from Hive Community Leaders

Since October, Hive PH people have been receiving support from @theycallmedan and @threespeak as part of the @hiveangelists initiative for the communities on Hive. Everyday, 2 posts are chosen from all the Hive PH curated posts. These two posts will receive upvotes from theycallmedan and 3speak.

Aside from that, I select an author who will come up with a post on the 26th or 27th of the month. That will be submitted on the 27th in the Hive Community Leaders channel and will be reviewed. If all goes well, the post will receive upvotes from theycallmedan and 3speak. You may want to check out the posts that have been submitted for the last 3 months:

October
November
December

To qualify for this, all youneed to do is come up with an article about Hive. It can be a walkthrough, or your journey, or even how you promote Hive. I usually select the writers but if anyone is interested in writing one for January, please let me know. I am online on Discord most of the time. You can also approach @ybanezkim26 or @adamada. Thanks to these guys who are always helpful in keeping this community afloat.

We celebrate the small wins together

We have joined in the Power Up day initiative. Thank you so much to @traciyork for all the work you do in the Power Uo day drive. Thanks to the constant support from @ybanezkim26, @themanualbot, and @leoneil we are able to make sure that Hive PH peeps joining the Power Up day still wins something. The competition in the global power up day is tight and I want to make sure that everyone in our community wins something that's why we also have the #hivephpud too. And so thank you so much to everyone that joins the local initiative as well.

Right now, with everything that has hapoened and as the dust starts to settle in, I see fewer and fewer people in our community. It's cool though. Ours is but a small community but what we lack in numbers, we compensate with quality engagement. It makes me feel accomplished when I see quality posts from Hive PH people getting equally quality comments, earning the upvotes that their articles truly deserve.

It has indeed been a tough, interesting, and totally a year to remember for all of us. If you have gotten this far, I thank you for your time. I hope to see you again next year.

Happy New Year everyone!

With much love,

@romeskie

P.S.
I know I said I did not want to mention names but I ended up mentioning a lot of people in this post. If I may have forgotten someone, my sincere apologies. Know that I am always grateful to everyone showing their support for the Hive PH community.

Xoxo

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnCA7MG3vMWNWWjDG.png
Credits to @bearone for the HivePH badge and to @themanualbot for the banner and footer.