REASONS WHY I LOVE GARDENING

in Hive PH2 years ago (edited)

REASONS WHY I LOVE GARDENING.png

I was fixing my plants one Sunday morning when my grandchild ask me "Lola why do you Iike planting?". He even pointed out that there are worms in the soil which he is afraid of. I replied to him that worms help the soil to be healthy and taking care of plants gives me joy and happiness.

I remembered that I got interested in gardening way back in 1990's. I can't remember the exact date but It was one afternoon while I was watching my children play in the garden when my friendly neighbor Nanay Fe (she is like a mother to me) approached me and asked me if I wanted to plant some flowers in my garden. Nanay Fe has many ornamental plants in her garden and her orchids are always in bloom. So naturally I replied yes because she might be offended if I say no. After I said yes she started to give me cuttings of her orchids and some plants like chinese bamboo, dumb cane, ferns and cucharitas. She advised me that they are all easy to plant especially for beginners like me. She also gave me some useful tips on how to care for plants. I accepted the plants half heartedly because in my mind I already have a bunch of household chores to do. Just taking care of 5 kids was already taking a toll on me. And caring for plants would just be an additional burden for me.

welcome little one!.png

After receipt of those plants what I did was bought some pots and soil for the plants because I could not just leave the plants unattended. I also knew that Nanay Fe would be asking about those plants and I do not want to disappoint her. So I repotted the plants that she gave me and bought some charcoal for the orchids.

At first planting was just to show Nanay Fe that I liked the plants that she gave me. Then as the days passed by I saw that my plants were thriving and growing beautifully. Nanay Fe even commented that I have a green thumb which brought a little pride to myself.

What really hooked me into planting was when my orchids began to have buds. It was then that I would talk to them and cajoled them to have beautiful flowers. For me it was like waiting for a baby to be born. The excitement of waiting is there, wondering what would be the color of the flower and then comes the real joy when the flower opened up in full bloom. So naturally, I called Nanay Fe to show her the fruit of my labor. Her words were "See I told you planting will give you unexplained happiness" which I agreed up to this moment.

Plant Collection.png

After that episode I began to buy flowering plants like roses with different colors and varieties. Chrysanthemums, daisies then I added some orchids to my collections. Mind you, I do not buy orchids with flowers because they are expensive. What I bought are small cuttings because it is cheaper and I also like the excitement of caring for them and guessing their colors when they bloom. My husband also supported my hobby by bringing plants from different places that he visited.

After a while I realized that the first 10 pots that I bought had already multiplied as well as the first plants given to me by my neighbor. My new plants began to bloom with flowers. It's like their producing flower was their way of giving back to me the care that I have given them giving me a feeling of fulfillment.

Before when I'm not yet into plant caring my life was only centered into household chores, being a mother and wife. It's like following a monotonous pattern everyday. But when I began planting my boring life ended. I now have an exclusive time that I can call my own thru gardening. It's like finding friends with my plants.

Plant Collection(1).png

That is why when we have to move to my husband's province due to some circumstance I had to leave my plants behind because they were so many and the transportation that we rented cannot accommodate all of them. So I reluctantly gave some to my neighbors and friends. It's like having my babies sent for adoption. I was so lonely at that time. I even lost interest in planting.

I regained my love for plants and gardening only recently. I started planting again but it was indoor plants now. It's no longer flowering plants because it requires sun which our place lacked. Still I was contented because I'm again doing what I love.

But then I found out that planting nowadays is quite different than it was before. The prizes of plants nowadays are costly as well as the equipment needed in planting. Unlike before when you can just ask your friends or neighbors for cuttings or plants for free. Now you would be ashamed to ask for free because plants are being sold at a high price depending on the variety and lushness of the plants. But for me I still continued what Nanay Fe thought me. Whenever my plants have new babies or if they are lush enough to be separated then I also give some to my neighbors and friends. Just to continue the cycle of sharing.

Benefits of gardening.png

If I will be asked what do I get from gardening...plenty. Here are some reasons:
a) It helps purifies the air.
b) It relieves my stress just looking at them.
c) Fulfillment - when you see them grow into a beautiful and lush plant then I call it fulfillment
d) Relieves boredom - when I'm gardening time just fly by without me noticing it
e) Free therapy - when you have problems then its like a therapy and it is free
f) Adds beauty to your surroundings.

By the way, I found out that there is a new name for plant enthusiasts nowadays. They are now called Plantitos and Plantitas. Nice name and I like it.

Regards to all Hivers! Hope you are all fine and in good health.

Credit design to Canva

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @jeannette20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Nice to have a beautiful plants in the garden. You really have a green thumb. So happy to see your flowers and plants sis. 🥰
Buti sis Di sinabi Ng apo niyo na madumi mag gardening. Hehe

Hahaha sinabi nga niya madumi ung lupa pero nakita nman niya nka gloves ako. Thank you sis for reading.

Hehehe. Akala ko wala gloves. So Okies Lang kahit Meron worm. Hehe
Thank you also sis! 🥰

I agree with your listed benefits of gardening. As for me, I am into vegetable gardening. Magandang gabi.

During pandemic I also tried vegetable with @romeskie. I planted pechay, sili and kalamansi. I was able to harvest pechay and it was nice eating vegetable from your own garden. Salamat at magandang umaga!

it was nice eating vegetable from your own garden.

Indeed, it is one of those that we can call "proud moments"(Bunga ng Dugo at Pawis sabi nga nila).