A Rookie Game Host | Hosting a Game On HivePH Together with @Dennnmarc!

in Hive PH2 years ago

Volunteered as a host

Every Friday, HivePH conducts a game event for the members to gather when the clock strikes eight in the evening. The room is always chaotically organized, lol. The throng of messages piled up as it approached the time to play. I too cannot even follow through on different topics. Dead air is not a thing on Fridays.

I volunteered myself as a host this time around. As a rookie game host, I was not that confident to execute the role. Thankfully, another member volunteered to co-host, and that was my buddy @dennnmarc. I felt much better to have a partner.

Making the game

The challenging part of making the game was frankly choosing the game itself. Den and I had so many ideas in mind. We were considering a purely Mathematical game, but your girl is so weak in this subject, I might quit myself as a host. I just love counting money, haha! Kidding aside, we were indecisive in the first place. We had six days to think about it so no pressure at all. In the end, I chose the trivia game, and Den chose to go with 2 pics 1 word.

Banner

To get the members excited for the Friday game, I quickly made a banner to entice the members. It is my first time hosting an event on the Discord server so, I have to make it something special.

DEN + JIJI'S.png

Aren't we adorable? I designed this banner in Canva. The first thing that came to my mind when I think of a chaotic yet fun game are neon lights. Neon lights are bursting, glowy, electrifying colors. The way I want the Friday game to be. Den posted the banner on the Discord server which received positive feedback.

.play Party Rock Anthem by LMFAO

Game night

The first part of the game was trivia. A member should give the correct answer to the question. That is how easy it was. Also, this is a warm up for the next game.

Some questions took time to be answered, and I love the struggle of them getting the right answer, haha! Well, I intentionally put hard questions to spice up the game. It would be platonic if all questions were easy. I will not give away the night without them floundering, lol.

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 1.38.36 PM.png

This particular question rattled them. It was so funny to watch them toss answers that were fitting but far from the correct answer. We the hosts were bursting in laughter! Correct answer was from @kneelyrac.

The correct answer was Andromeda Galaxy.

For the second part, it was Den's turn to present his game. The mechanics is simply think of a compound word. Two words will be combined to come up with a new word. The hints are the two pictures.

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 2.44.20 PM.png

This is one of the challenging questions. I too would not know the answer right away if I was not the host. I keep saying that I know the answer forgetting that I was a host and had the answer key, haha! Of course, I know the answer, haha!

Because it was a minute already with no correct answer, we dropped a hint of the answer saying that, "Look at the hands of the clock." So, the hint was four. Now they only need the second compound word. They kept saying, "boy", "shirt", "man", "stand", etc. @sensiblecast got the correct answer for this round!

The answer was fourteen.

The game ended around 8:50 pm. We had more time to recount the scores. My mistake was not putting them in the spreadsheet for easier counting. We had a little hiccup in the tally but eventually totaled the right scores before 9 pm. Thanks to Den for double-checking everything.

For this game, the winners were @cthings , @cli4d, and @khairro ! Well done, guys!

Grateful for HivePH

I was a bit anxious as a rookie game host because I am not used to present. I am always in the background making sure that the surface is running well. They say, there will always be a first time. I was also pondering some shitty things before Friday and did add up the pressure of doing well in being a host.

In the end, I was grinning from ear to ear that it turned out very well because of the support of @hiveph community, and my cohost Denmarc.

HivepH is my sunny days in winter. This community makes me ecstatic! I can be a host as long as they want me to. I am forever grateful for the community's support, especially to the staff for making sure HivePH is running smoothly. Indeed, a fun day for us all and a memorable one for me.


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!
📸 Banner created in Canva, Screenshots from HivePH Discord
©️jijisaurart

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

I can be a host as long as they want me to.

Host some more events. ;) More barda, more fun. Thanks ulit sa inyo, Jiji and Denn!

Kain !PIZZA uwu

Welcome, Arc. More bardagulan to come, chariz. Salamat sa Pizza!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I was trying to guess the clock an sthe boy, and I guess it right. I hope I can join the next game night.

Yeah, it was a tough question. Looking forward to see you in the next Friday!

Im glad na success ang event niyo last friday, sayang lang at hindi ako nakapunta HAHA ayaw ata ng signal 😂 next time nalang siguro

!PIZZA

Change to Converge na Pat haha! Uy, salamat sa pa PIZZA! :)

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@arcgspy(1/15) tipped @jijisaurart (x1)
jpatrick28 tipped jijisaurart (x1)
dennnmarc tipped jijisaurart (x1)

Join us in Discord!

 2 years ago  

Congrats to the both of you! maghost pa kayo ulit next time 🤩

Hahaha pwede pwede kaso mukang pera ako kaya need ko maging player chariz 🤣 Ikaw na naman next C! Yehey!

Congratulations to both of you!
I hope I can join too, I think the game was full of fun and happiness because of you two..♥️

Hello, teach! It was indeed super fun!

Kamusta po @jijisaurart? Napili po namin ang post na ito sa aming curation ng MCGI Cares(Hive) community. Nais po namin kayo na anyayahan sa aming community na nag aaral ng salita ng Dios.

Maaari rin po natin i-follow ang aming Official Facebook page

Keep doing the great job po ❤️

image.png

Nawindang kami don sa fourteen HAHAHAHA. Congrats sa successful na palaro nyo last Friday! Medyo nagamit utak ko hahaha. We really enjoyed the night :))

Hahaha! Galing ni Den e. Happy na nagenjoy kayo. Super brainy mo ha. Congratulations!

Natyempuhan lang na naka on ang aking utak that time hahaha. Thank you!

 2 years ago  

Thanks for hosting @jijisaurart and @dennnmarc! It was fun to not be the host and to just be in the audience, pang gulo lang 😂
Happy you made a cute banner too! Sa uulitin!

Nakapagpahinga ang aming wittybot haha! Ansaya maging host kaso may mga pakelemero sa sagot, tago natin sa pangalang Yonong 🤣

 2 years ago  

Hahahahahaha! Nakakatuwa nga eh. You should do it often.

 2 years ago  

Aww! I had fun hosting even though I'm so new at it. Anyway, the most important thing is we enjoy and have a successful night. 🤍

Have some !PIZZA

Indeed~! Thanks sa PIZZA Den!

ang ganda at ang fun! how i wish makajoin ako but im not on the server yet and im so inactive lagi

Hindi enjoy yung game!... sabi ng talunan 🥹 it was an awesome game! salamat sa pag host @jijisaurart @dennnmarc. !pizza !luv

untitled.gif

Congratulations @jijisaurart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The game looks so fun! Hahahahaha. The first question was so hard for me. I wouldn't have guessed that the answer was Andromeda Galaxy since I'm not familiar with it. Hahahaha! I hope I'll get to join next time and maybe win.🤪

Great night sis. I want to join in the next one.