Tell Me About Philippines: Mythical Creature (Aswang)

in Hive PH4 years ago

iko6.jpg

Philippines has many mythical creatures that until now, people still believes in it. These mythical creatures are very well-known to the old Filipinos and those who are living in the rural part of the country. But in this generation, only few people still believe in it because they believe that there are no mythical creatures in this time because of the advancement of technology.

It may be true, but for me, even if I belong to Generation Z, I still believe in those mythical creatures because I have a first-hand experience with them.

Let me share with you some of the famous mythical creatures in the Philippines.

ASWANG

iko.jpg

Aswang is the most famous mythical creature in the Philippines. Aswang are human who transforms into wild-like creature with large wings, red eyes, dark body, long sharp nails and tongue. It is believed that they make a normal human as their prey, but their favorite preys are pregnant women and newly born children. It is believed that they also transform into different animals such as dogs, cats, snake, etc. to sneak on or escape after targeting a victim.

I have many experiences with this aswang. I don’t know but I can see them more often and even feel them. My most unforgettable experience with aswang happened last year. We have two neighbors who were pregnant that time. It was midnight when I heard loud steps from our roof. Those steps are very unusual, and I could tell that it’s not from a cat who keeps on going to our roof. Those steps are heavy like a human stepped on it. I also started to feel odd and that is when I thought that what is on our roof is maybe an aswang. Everytime I encounter an aswang, I do feel that same strange feeling.

After a few minutes, it jumped from our pregnant neighbor’s roof which is just beside our house. Then I heard a scratching sound from their roof that keeps on repeating. It bothers me that is why I decided to stand up and look for our flashlight. When I tried to find a flashlight, my mother woke up and asked what I was doing. I told her that there is something on the neighbor’s roof. I immediately opened our window and flashed the flashlight to our neighbor’s roof. That is when I confirmed that it is an aswang. A huge creature flew up above when the flashlight was flashed to its direction. My mother also saw it and said that it is an aswang. After that, we heard something that flaps it wings and jumps from one roof to another.

On consecutive nights, that aswang continued to visit our pregnant neighbor’s house. Aswangs are very eager to get their victims that is why they don’t stop until they have accomplished their mission. When our neighbors knew that incident, they advised our pregnant neighbor to display dried stingray’s tail and a sharpened bamboo outside their house. It is believed that aswangs are afraid of those things. After displaying those things outside their house, I no longer hear and feel aswang coming on their house. I think that is effective.

I still have lots of first-hand experience with aswang as well as my relatives and friends. I would love to share those stories with you but that would make my story long.

I also have first-hand experience with other Philippine mythical creatures, and I will share it on my next blog. I hope you enjoyed reading and see you on my next blog.

Do you also have an aswang story? Share it in the comment below.

All photos above are drawn by me.

This is my entry to @mrnightmare89's contest - Tell Me About Philippines: Mythical Creatures.

Sort:  

Aswang is not real since I read some publication that claimed aswang is just a story made by CIA to won war against our older ancestors.

But if I where to asked, I really love to see aswang for real. You know a childhood fantasy to kill them with bamboo spears.

Thank you for reading my blog. I'm just sharing my experience.

Sana may karugtong pa.

Meron pa po kasi nagsusulat pa ako

wow keep up the good work

Thank you

You are a very good atoryteller. Keep on writing... :)

Thank you so much for reading my work. I will do my best to write quality content.

Good to hear. Sige, ingat palagi.

Because of this platform, I am able to know more about your talent @jrico. Keep up the good work. Your drawings seem so real.

Thank you so much for appreciating my work.

Really? You saw an aswang? I doubt it since it's hard for them to see. I heard their voice maybe but not see them. But you're drawing seems true because that's whta people said about it.

First, great story. You got me reading until the end. True or not, aswang will be part of the Filipino culture. They make a great topic of conversation too.

Also, your drawings are so good. Keep up the good work!

Wow ganda ng pagkakwento.