Kalabasa-Tofu Egg Noodles | Vegetarian Lunch Meal | 2021

in Hive PH3 years ago (edited)

squash & tofu.png


It's a rest day for workers here in the Philippines (with 100% of salary given to workers who opt not to work or 200% for the first 8 hours if you still go to work), as the President declared a public holiday in observance of Eid’l Fitr, the end of the Muslim holy month of Ramadan.

My wife had kitchen duties because she stayed "home" for the public holiday, she cooked up one of my favorites: Pansit, Kalabasa at Tokwa.


Ingredients

For this #vegetarian dish, we included Squash, Tofu, Button Mushrooms, Black Beans, Bok Choy, Bean Sprouts, Tomatoes, Eggs, Water, and added some spices and flavors (pepper, turmeric, cayenne, soy sauce, tomato paste, vinegar, sugar, and some vegetarian stir-fry sauce.)


Cooking Process
The process is fairly simple, cook the tofu and set it aside. Sautee the tomato, squash, button mushroom for a few minutes. Add seasoning (one to two teaspoons of soy sauce and vinegar, pepper, turmeric, cayenne, and sugar) then cover for one or two minutes. Add the Black beans then cover again. Add the Bok Choy and Bean sprouts after a few minutes; cover. Add in the tomato paste and about two cups of water - cover for around 5 minutes then add in the noodles.

Lastly, put the eggs on top and cover again until cooked. This should be around 30 to 45 seconds.


The finished product looked delicious. :)


2a.jpg


Conclusion
To end, it was a nice lunch meal. As we Filipinos love to eat rice with anything and everything, I put this on top of steamed rice and had a blast.

Everything seemed to taste better when someone else cooked the food; the flavors didn't taste exactly like how I would have adjusted and overall it was just a nice experience.

That's it for now. I'm glad you read my blog post. I hope you will be able to create this meal as it is a healthy-ish dish full of ingredients that we had in the pantry.

Thanks and have a great day ahead! Mabuhay.

@juanvegetarian


*Thanks to @bearone for the #hiveph badge.
-I used canva.com for the thumbnail image.
-All the photos are mine.

HIVE Badge.jpg

Sort:  

You added egg. That makes you an ovo-vegetarian! 🤔😅

Yup. Somehow, eggs are still ingrained in my system. lol :) !PIZZA.

How about being a lacto-ovo-vegetarian (vegetables with milk and egg)? 🤔😀

Yup, I still drink milk. Mostly when we run out of soya milk or other plant-based alts and some as ingredients in food products, such as !PIZZA. 😁😁😁

Yummy !PIZZA 😋

I guess that those who eat vegetarian pizzas are lacto-vegetarians, because the cheese in pizzas is made of fermented milk! 🤔😅

Connect

Trade


@juanvegetarian! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @savvyplayer.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Well, there are Vegan !PIZZA places, like Indulge in Quezon City. Taste can't be compared to the traditional ones, but they are really popular. The place "Z" is also cool with live music at night. You should try it if you are in the Malingap area near the Q.C. City Hall. :)

Can vegetarian pizzas be ordered for delivery from there? 🤔😁

Connect

Trade


@savvyplayer! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Connect

Trade


@savvyplayer! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Connect

Trade


@savvyplayer! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

I'm not vegetarian, but I do enjoy consuming vegetables, and this dish looks quite good!

Actually, now I'm hungry.

lol.

Anyway, thanks for sharing, wishing you a great day! 🙏

Good to know that you enjoy consuming vegetables, @ryzeonline. It did taste quite good; actually, better than good since I'm not the one who cooked. lol

I hope to share more when the schedules free up some more. In the meantime, have a !PIZZA. :)

I do! And I bet it did, lol. It's interesting how things cooked by others can somehow 'taste better', eh?

And looking forward to it, and I'm very grateful for the (vegetarian???) pizza! Thank you! 🙏

Fantastic! That would be a #vegetarian !PIZZA in real life. :)

Connect

Trade


@ryzeonline! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Connect

Trade


@ryzeonline! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Wow! Parang masarap to kabayan, ma-try nga.

Totoong masarap ito, @afterglow. Salamat sa pagbibigay-pansin sa aking blog post. Mag-!PIZZA muna tayo. :)

Connect

Trade


@afterglow! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Looks delicious ! nakakagutom hahah

Yes, very tasty. The disadvantage about this is nag-overeat na naman ako. :)

Mag !PIZZA ka muna, @jude.villarta.

Connect

Trade


@jude.villarta! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Delicious

Yes, it was delicious. :)

 3 years ago  

Nakakalaway naman po. But this recipe is new to me. Na excite ako dun sa egg na nilagay.

Oo, nga. Mahilig kasi kami mag-experiment ng iba't-ibang sangkap. Or, kung anong naiwan sa ref bago mamalengke. Salamat sa pagbabasa ng blogpost ko. Mag-!PIZZA ka muna. @jonalyn2020 :)

Connect

Trade


@jonalyn2020! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Let me try your recipe.hehe