Hitchhiking, pigs, and valleys | Cervantes, Ilocos Sur

in Hive PHlast year (edited)



clc81d8kq00pd83sz3iln5reb_GOPR3798.webp
clc81d68t00mh8hsz1ew1bzvm_GOPR3794.webp
clc81dhud00n324sz0ai03pz7_IMG20180305125322.webp
clc81dltz00nb92sze1v51rdh_GOPR3793.webp
clc81dnj100oj0psz1cuo4cp5_GOPR3791_Moment.webp
clc81dxu500o4a2sz76m02mn7_GOPR3804.webp
clc81dx5o00jq1sszhtd4f2jn_GOPR3807.webp
clc81e9ey00ms69szb5q9bg5r_IMG20180305125128.webp
clc81easn00n93qsz9loahuze_GOPR3808.webp
clc81eivr00m4brsz9f7rfa2b_GOPR3809.webp


"Life is a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Helen Keller


Hey folks! 👋🏻 I've been having more time lately as I stay awake past midnight until early in the morning for my mother's after-surgery care. More time to write! 😎

I know we're not done yet with our Vigan, Ilocos Sur escapade and will definitely write another post about it. But I'm itching to write about this at the moment. Gotta give in! 😁


We planned out every single detail of our "The Great Luzon Escapade" and our next stop after Vigan, Ilocos Sur was the humble town of Sagada in Mountain Province. I could clearly recall doing intensive research on how we can reach Sagada from Vigan. The more obvious and more accessible route was Vigan-Baguio-Sagada but when I looked at the map, it was too far and will consume more than a day. I came across a blog mentioning another unpopular route that will take us less than a day of travel. The blog suggested we alight in Bitalag (Ilocos Sur), take an open van ride to Cervantes (Ilocos Sur), ride another open van to Abatan (Mountain Province) and finally another ride to Sagada town proper. It might sound a lot but based on my computation, it was supposed to free up more than 5 hours of travel time. Who doesn't want more time to explore, right? Naturally, we took the Vigan-Cervantes-Sagada route.

Grace and I were beyond excited about that day's cross-country travel. We were literally traversing from the Northwest to the heart of Northern Luzon and that meant seeing massive valley after valley and mountain ranges that never seem to end.

We arrived in Bitalag past nine (9) in the morning. What the blog didn't mention tho is that the van going to Cervantes doesn't leave Bitalag unless it's full. Now, this is when things got a bit thrilling. We waited in the van for 30 minutes and another 30 and only two other passengers arrived. Then, we learned that the single trip to Cervantes might leave at midday or worse, late in the afternoon. That's when Grace and I decided to use the power of our mighty hands. Yup, hitchhiking was the only answer we thought of. 💯

We left our bags in the van while we tried to get a free ride from passing vehicles. I personally didn't think it was offensive not until we were scolded by the van operator. We got our bags and that meant, not returning inside the makeshift van terminal ever. I've tried hitchhiking before during a few trips in the mountains of Cebu but I haven't done it here in a Province where people speak a different language when they scold you! Haha!

Vehicles passing by were willing to take us but unfortunately, most of their trips end even before they could reach Cervantes. Bummer! 😭

The only vehicle that offered us a ride was an open truck transporting pigs to Cervantes. We weren't in the position to say no. Don't laugh at this! But I thought Grace and I will be sitting next to the pigs at the back of the truck, but the owner of the truck (a businessman) was kind enough to offer the front seats; they were the ones who sat at the back exposing themselves in the heat of the sun and the pig's shit! It was too hot that day that we made a few stops so the pigs could take cold baths.

People were warm and hospitable. I know we, Filipinos, are known for our hospitability but it's still different when you experience it yourself. Surreal! I felt that they were delighted even surprised to have tourists take that route. It's not every day that this happens. They're proud to show us around their town that they insisted we drop by Bessang Pass for a quick photo op. We did just that and back on the road.

This is one of the most remarkable rides among all the backpacking I did in my entire life. The route was simply scenic and refreshing. It was a bit scary too especially when we were up the narrow mountain road most of the time. The roads were paved; I could only imagine how challenging travel was prior to road improvements. And then we descended into a beautiful and unforgettable valley where the next terminal is located. The truck driver made sure to drop us at the terminal; he even told the driver where we were headed. It was too much; my heart was full.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macjulez ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I'm from Ilocos Sur but I haven't gone yet to Cervantes. I once had a classmate who came there and like he said, the place is really amazing. Thank you for sharing!

Hi @macjulez, where are you from? I love your province!

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 2500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Wow! What an amazing view of nature. Nature is truly the best. Thank you for sharing @patsitivity. It seemed that I had been there too. It is the place where my brother resides. But I never had an opportunity to visit it😄.

Glad you find my post pleasing @naymhapz.

Your brother see this view every day! Now I'm jealous! 😁

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Thank you @hive-145540 🥰

You're welcome

Hitch hiking? Wow that's a strong act because others is afraid to do so. I have done that before when I was still in highschool but we're a lot of students doing it.

Hey @jenthoughts, there were only two of us and both of us are girls! Now that I think about it, it was brave us of to trust strangers! But all went well,thankfully! They were soo kind.

Parang ang sarap gumala diyan Ma'am @patsitivity ano? Ganda² kasi nung view. Yung tipong close ka sa nature ba. Tas may pa-monuments pa.

I would do the same because I am impatient most of the time 😃

Glad that you were able to ride that truck! And they were so good to you! Mayta managhan na sila!