Birthday Celebration - Homeschooling Style

in Hive PH2 years ago

1.png

It feels like only yesterday, I was reminiscing how long I had to endure the labor of giving birth to my little one. She's not so little anymore. In fact, it is only sinking in to me that my baby just turned 6! I remember my younger sister told me she's not a baby anymore when she turned six. I was tickling her and she stopped me and told me I shouldn't tickle her like that because she's a big girl already. Now, my baby girl is also growing. Whatever! She's gonna be my baby girl no matter how old she is.

Aya's 3rd field trip

2.png

We chose not to hold a party, no food preps, nothing of those sorts. She had her cake though from her aunt, and dinner from her grandma. My husband and I decided we should have a field trip for her birthday. Since we're studying Marine Biology as part of her Science lessons, we decided we go to Manila Ocean Park. One of the things I enjoy in homeschooling is that we get to organize our own field trips and we have the choice to sync them with our lessons.

And I saw that was a good decision because it shows with the way she smiled and jumped from one exhibit to another how happy she was to be there. We have just started the book and have just discussed the different zones in the ocean though we've touched a bit about the animals that live on each zones. It helped that we have talked about the different groups of marine creatures because she was able to identify each of them as we went along. It's also a good thing that Tatay also loves watching documentaries about marine life, he was able to have a lot of teaching moments with her.

Since I am her main educator in our homeschooling journey, her father needs moments like this so that they could still have enough bonding moments with each other. They have playtime together, they have reading time together, but it's always good to have extra bonding time together while she's young because time flies so fast! Next thing we know she'll be going to college! T_T

My husband's bestfriend joined us together with his family. It was a good catch up too since the two of them hadn't seen each other for a long time. And we also got to meet his family. My daughter had lots of fun with her newfound friends. Which is really a rare occurrence since she's not very keen on making new acquaintances let alone new friends.

There are several attractions that not only will amaze the kids, but are very highly educational. When you visit the place, the signs and the informationals on the sides of some of the aquariums are a great help in appreciating the marine life on display even more.

Presents!

3.png

We try to make sure we don't skimp on gifts for our little one. But we also don't want to over-indulge her with too much gifts. So we opted to go for quality for our gifts this year. By quality, doesn't mean we chose expensive gifts, we just chose those that would give for more quality time with her once she opens the wrappers.

Binoculars

Part of our Science lessons is Nature Studies. We have been studying the insects in our mini farm at our terrace, we wanted to also be able to observe the different birds that perches on our plants from time to time. It turned out to be a very timely gift because just outside the Manila Ocean Park is the Manila Bay where several ships dock at all times. She had fun peeking through the binoculars and seeing the ships up close.

Building blocks

My daughter is now 6 years old but she's still enjoying playing with the big versions of lego building blocks which her uncle bought for her on her 4th birthday. Her father decided he would buy her some of these but a lot smaller, and with the option to build ice cream trucks, hotdog stands, and a burger shop.

I am a very patient person but when it comes to building those small things, I just don't have the heart to do it. So this toy became another father-daughter bonding moment. The two most impatient persons on earth, patiently building those tiny little blocks. What a sight.

The Furry little thing Called Sasha

4.png

And just like that, we became a fur family. My daughter has been wanting to have a pet for quite some time now. I am not completely against it, but I always tell her that she will have to learn how to handle responsibilities first before we start to look into having a pet inside the house.

To test the waters, I created a chore chart for her to complete everyday for the last few months. She will have to tick on each box per chore per day as soon as she finished them. At first, (for a few weeks) I have been constantly reminding her, asking if she has done her chores. Then it happened. One day, she just started doing her chores on her own. Yes, without the need of any reminders or any nudge telling her to finish her chores before she preps for bedtime. From then on, she has been performing her duties everyday, with very little guidance from me or her tatay.

Since I saw a positive outcome with our little responsibility experiment, I went ahead and looked for a kitty to adopt. It didn't take too long to look. Apparently there are many PusPins around, ready for a fur family to take them in. We got our fur baby last month, a few weeks before Aya's birthday. And I can see that she really is feeling the big fur sister vibe. Our little kitty needed to be bottle fed for a few weeks and our responsible big fur sister is very helpful in every way. She's actually excited for the time when she's going to be the one to fully take care of our little furbaby.

Judging from the amount of smile and laughter my daughter had during that day and the days after (since we already got Sasha at home), our birthday celebrant is very much delighted with how we celebrated this special day. Cheers to more non-extravagant but extra-special and educational way of celebrating birthdays!

PS.

Wishing my dear friends @themanualbot, @ybanezkim26, and @markjason a happy happy birthday. Sorry for the late greeting, but I didn't forget about your special days. I just was so busy irl. It's always better late than never. Know that I love you always. :)

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yie happy birthday po sa anakish. Wow interested with insect world? That's great. I been with insect too and kind of exciting differentiating classification and names. Forms of wings and antennae hehe. Wishing all the best for her, and all the goodness much to receive....

 2 years ago  

Thank you! Uu. Dati may caterpillar sa lemon tree namin, pet niya na raw yun. Haha. Ayun, kasama na sa lessons nmin tuloy ang insect life.

What a responsible cutie! Happy birthday to your baby 🥳 I am a fur mom too and I love how you train her first before giving her what she want because yes having pets are like raising your own child, training them where to poop and pee and of course not to eat our food haha.

 2 years ago  

I had to make sure she's ready for the big responsibility of taking care of another living being. She is very responsible with her plants but having pets around is a lot different from taking care of plants. She needs to make sure that she can take on that task. And I'm right behind her, guiding her and helping her all the way. :)

 2 years ago  

Happy Birthday baby girl 🥳🥳, time flies really fast no. Mamalay ka nalang she's introducing her boyfriend to you. And even if you are not yet ready, mapipilitan talaga. Anywasy, surely your little one had a great birthday celebration. Not too extravagant, but simply and more meaningful coz she get to celebrate it with you. More birthdays to come pa for that little one 🥳🥳🥳🥳✨🥰❤️

 2 years ago  

Thank you!

Mamalay ka nalang she's introducing her boyfriend to you.

Matagal pa yooorn! Haha. Pero pag nasa tamang age na at kita kong responsableng nilalang si junakis, kahit girlfriend pa ang ipakilala nya sa akin, keriboom lang.

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha ay mabilis tumakbo ang oras, charrr hehe. For sure with your guidance she will grow a responsible and a kind kid. ❤️

 2 years ago  

Happy birthday to your child, mommy rome!
Super nice ang gift! I think I would like the field trip as birthday celebration too. Aw yan na pala ginagawa ko 😅
I think your daughter is so mature na because of homeschooling! Galing mo mommy!

 2 years ago  

Haha. Thank you Witz! Kapagod kaya magparty, nasstress pa ang bata kasi nao-overwhelm sya s dami ng gustong lumapit sa kanya. Kaya other ways of celebrating na lang. Hehe.

Yeah, she's matured for her age. Minsan I have to remind her na ako ang Nanay. Haha.

 2 years ago  

Yeah I think intimate birthdays or field trips like this are really nice for kids. She can also build strong connection dun sa family friend. Kesa nman ang daming bata and matatanda. Di nya ma memorize lahat ng names 😂

Hahaha! Baka ma overtake ung role noh, sya na maging Nanay.
I think she'll be a good ATE. ayeee! next baby na yan. joke lang, no pressure.
I'm sure you're already struggling with one. 😅

Thank you @romeskie and HAPPYbirthday to your little one!

 2 years ago  

Thank you! Lagi mong alalahanin yung gift na bigay ko sayo. Poorita mirasol lang tayo kaya walang hangganang friendship lang ang kaya. Hahahah

Happy birthday po sa inyong junakis! She looks pretty and adorable ❤️

 2 years ago  

Thank you. Mana sa ina. Hahaha. 😅

Happy birthday to your little angel. You are very blessed to have a little one that is beautiful inside and out and for sure she will take care of sasha until it will grow

 2 years ago  

Thank you.

Oh, I love your parenting method. It was really nice to know that she is growing as a responsible kid. How I wish the kittens grow up healthy so they can have more time to play.

Anyway happy birthday to your little one, I wish her all the blessings from God.

 2 years ago  

Thank you. I do hope they both grow up healthy, my kid and her kitten. I hope they grow to love each other and have fun and make lots of happy memories.

 2 years ago  

Happy birthday bebe girl! Bet ko yang responsibility experiment, magaya nga para sa panganay ko😆

 2 years ago  

Thanks. Yeah, sobrang helpful sa pag-gauge ng kung ano na ang kakayaning i-handle ng little ones natin. Training na rin for bigger responsibilities in the future.

A field trip is so much fun for children as they are going to explore outside of their current environment and with classmates too! I'd be looking forward to my son's first field trip. By the way, happy birthday to Aya.

 2 years ago  

Bumabawi rin kami dahil 2 years din ang nawala sa exploration moments namin. Very nice talaga ang field trip na ito para sa mga kiddos.

Thank you @romeskie. :) Best wishes sa matalinong Aya mo. 😄

 2 years ago  

Hope you had fun too on your birthday celeb. Love your pics btw! :) Sana sa sunod na luwas mo, pa-Manila naman at nang makapag lunch man lang tayo.

Happy Birthday beautiful little one.

 2 years ago  

Thank you! :)

u tickle away! 😊🤙 even though they get big.. they always remain our babies! :)

My own daughter just got a job!

I can totally picture her happily jumping from exhibit to exhibit..

 2 years ago  

They grow up so fast! But yeah, they'll forever be our little ones. :)

Happy Birthday Aya :D It is fun to see that the efforts Ate Romeskie have put in her homeschooling bearing fruit, I would say the fruit doesn't fall far from the tree, manang mana sa Mama hehe. Those presents are good especially the building blocks, let her imagination go wild using it. I hope you guys the best Happy Birthday again Aya :D

 2 years ago  

Thank you! :) Mana rin kay Tatay yan. haha. She's been having fun with her building blocks. I wonder when she'll get tired of those. Para ako naman ang mag try. hehehe

Happy birthday to the little cup cake 🤗

She's gonna be my baby girl no matter how old she is.

Hehe. All the mothers say the same. My mother tells me this though I have turned 30 😀

One of the things I enjoy in homeschooling is that we get to organize our own field trips and we have the choice to sync them with our lessons.

That's a freedom. I have observed that kids learn better when the things are displayed to them in real time. It is good to know that your daughter enjoyed the trip and it made her smile and jump.

Sasha would add more joys to her life ♥️

God bless you all

 2 years ago  

Thank you! Your mom is so sweet.

I realized that kids learn faster when they can connect the lessons to other things that they see. She had so much fun while her eyes feasted on so much awe and wonder. And when kids experience that, they learn a lot.

She had so much fun while her eyes feasted on so much awe and wonder.

The lessons learnt this way would be with her forever 🥰

Thank you, mommy! Happy birthday, Aya!

Kita tayo pag nakabalik ako ng Manila.

 2 years ago  

Looking forward to that! 🥰🥰

Masyadong hectic yong Manila trip ko 2 weeks ago. Walang pahinga.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ruffatotmeee.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Aaww I wish her a happy belated birthday. She's already 6, soon she'll enter the teen years 💔💀

Happy birthday to your beautiful daughter mommy rome. Sending a big hug with lots of love. God bless

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 69000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022

Field trip and a birthday sound amazing! It's great to teach kids responsibility and how to care for and love other things! A baby cat sounds precious!