New Year's Resolution: Mission Organization

in Hive PH3 years ago

000115110725581_20210104_003342_0000.png

My new year's resolution last 2019 was to shake off my post pregnancy weight. It has been three years that time since I gave birth but I still can't fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes. Happily, I can say I stayed true to that new years resolution.

2020, I swore that I would make sure all the clothes are folded and put away after laundry and drying is finished. You see, late 2019, we downgraded from a two storey house to a 1-bedroom apartment. Because of that, I did not have a laundry room like I used to. Before, it would take days or even weeks before I put away the clothes. Our new apartment does not give me that luxury anymore so I got to make sure there aren't clothes laying arpund on the bed unless I want my fmily to be laying on a bed of clean laundry.

Gladly, I can say I was aso able to deliver on this promise. Of course, my supportinve husband was there to help whenever I succomb to laziness or when I'm not feeling well.

That's two years in a row I have delivered to the small promises I made to myself. For this year, I'd like to continue the streak. I now know that one way to remain in the path to fulfilled new year's resolution is to make lifestyle changes to sustain it.

Going to the last part of 2020, I was exhausted. It almost felt like I was running a marathon and I am at the last few meters before the finish line, I was just struggling to get to the finish line. What can I say, 2020 was not an easy year to tackle for anyone.

It did not help that I was binge watching Hells Kitchen on Netflix while working my crochet MTOs. The task I wa sdoing was becoming stressful and all the yelling in the show did not really help with the stress.

20210104_003658_0000.png

And then I looked around my house, it was a mess! I mean I have a toddler who has tons and tons of toys, and we all know what that means. She knows how to clean up, but still... I have crochet supplies on almost all corners of the house, and since I was working on back to back crochet sets, all my stuff must be at arms reach. When I go to the bedroom, the closets look clean on the outside but the insides are just as messy as the living room.

And so, as soon as I finished the sets I was working on, I started my 2021 new year's resolution: Mission Organization.

The first step I did was to scale down the clothes. We're not a shopping type of family, we only biy clothes that we really need but then, we don't throw out our old clothes either. As a result, it gets harder and harder to cramp everything up in our cabinets.

Then of course, I also had to address the enourmous pile of toys. I told my daughter that some of the toys need to be given away to other kids who doesn't have toys. She can still keep the ones she really likes. Luckily, my she is nice enough to dump a bunch of toys in the "Give it" pile. It was a fun activity for her. I would hold a toy up, and ask her if we should Keep It or Give it. I was surprised with the toys she decided to give away. We did the same activity with her dresses. It's a good practice of giving and sharing.

Now that I have trimmed down the clothes, all I need to do is to organize them in the cabinets in a way that even when my husband pulls the clothes, it will remain organized and neatly folded.

20210104_004124_0000.png

Coincidentally, I chanced upon Marie Kondo's show on Netflix, Tidying Up with Marie Kondo. I learned a lot of things from that show. It also helped that Marie Kondo has a very calm and cool aura. The first cabinet I worked on was finished beautifully!

Now, I just have to continue working on the second cabinet. At least, I can say the worst part is over.

Originally, I just wanted to keep my new year's resolution as simple and as easy as possible. This way it will be hard to break it. But since I am on a streak, I am extending the Mission Organization not just on the clothes but also in the kitchen and on miscellaneous items. I may be channeling my inner Marie Kondo but as she said, her method isn't just about organizing your stuff, it's about changing your lifestyle to help you not only to achieve your goals but to sustain it as well.

How about you? Did you have any New Year's resolution?


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.
sible.

Sort:  

I love this Mission Organization! I am also inspired by Marie Kondo. This actually changed my life by just being organized with my things first it does help me go through my day productively! :D

 3 years ago  

I do feel a lot productive lately. Even the hubby and the kiddo are now involved in tidying up our place.

Winner! Haha! 😄😄😄

That's really nice maam haha. I wish my whole family gets same effect by just watching Marie Kondo hahaha.

Hi Romeskie, well done on the mission organization. I like the Konmari method. I watch Tidying Up with Marie Kondo with my daughter to relax. Her vibe is so positive and calming.

 3 years ago  

I agree! She acts so cool at any given situation. I love her. And I love the Konmari method so much too.