You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Are They Philippines - Meet Marito The Trisikad Driver

in Hive PH4 years ago

My father used to be a pedicab driver. I used to fetch him from the pedicab terminal every night (he refused to go home until there's no more passengers). As soon as class and my shift at McD's is over, I would drop by at the pedicab terminal, we'll share a mid night snack of either siopao or bbq , whichever is available. I would insist on driving the pedicab on our way home so he will just sit in the passenger seat. I know how hard it is to drive a pedicab back and forth and my heart goes out to all pedicab/trisikad drivers.

This reminded me of the days when my father was still at the prime of his health. Now he's practically bedridden at home. And covid has been a real challenge because I haven't visited him and my mom since last March.

Cheers to Manong Marito! Yes, just enjoy the little things, and live in the moment.

And cheers to you @iamyohann. This is a great initiative. Even the littlest bit helps, I sent a little something to help with your features. ❤ More power to you!

Sort:  

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing a big part of your life. Your words are very touching.

Even though I have very rarely used their services, I have always been amazed by the fitness of the pedicab/trisikad drivers.

It just can't be easy to drive those especially with heavy loads and going uphill sometimes.

I am also always a bit affected when I see older men in their 60s or even 70s pedaling their way around town carrying younger men or women in their 20s or 30s. It's like things are reversed. At their age, these people shouldn't have to do such a hard work to be able to live.

So yeah, you're right, cheers to Marito, your dad and all the others!

In the 2 months I have been on Hive, I have been lucky to get a good support and appreciation from different people and I want to share some of the rewards.

This initiative is my way to give back a bit to some of the people around here. As of now, my first 2 features are not on Hive and would most likely never join but I do believe they can use a little extra. The amount isn't necessarily much, but for them, it can make a difference.

I hope you can visit and spend time with your parents very soon. It's important to make the most of the time with have our loved ones.

Thank you very much for your contribution. Do you have any suggestion on how you want me to distribute it?

 4 years ago  

Yeah, those uphill pedalling! My legs hurt on the first times I pedalled my dad's pedicab. But he does it all day, under the heat of the sun and even during rainy seasons. There's more passengers when it floods, so more moneys. But greater risk.

It's totally up to you. I don't really mind, I'm just glad I could share some, even very little, to this kind of initiative. Cheers!