WATP #6 - Meet Kris The Street Food Seller + Eliza's HBD Reward

in Hive PH4 years ago (edited)

Hello #Hive,

Time for another #WhoAreTheyPhilippines feature 🙂

For the 6th edition of #WhoAreTheyPhilippines (WATP) We are meeting Kris the street food seller.


Who is Kris?

Today, my scooter took me on the back roads of Alegria, South Cebu, Philippines. I was driving along the shaded windy road, enjoying the beautiful landscape, when a scent of BBQ caught my attention. A few meters further, there was this girl sitting on a stool, her back against the road and she was attending to a BBQ grill. This is how I met Kris.

I stopped by and started to engage on a conversation with her. Great for me, her English was impeccable. As usual, I explained the #WhoAreTheyPhilippines concept to her and asked for her permission to interview her as well as take a few pictures. She was a bit shy about it at first but gladly accepted.

Kris is a single 21 year old student born and raised in Alegria. Every day, starting from the middle of the afternoon, she sits at the side of the road in Barangay Montpeller and grills some Filipino delicacies. At the time I was with her, she was attending to some addidas (chicken feet) and isaw (chicken intestines on a skewer). Though she also had some Filipino red hot dogs available. The aroma in air was great.

Street food is very common all over the Philippines and I'm sure I'll show you some more with the future #WATP features. It ranges from grilled delicacies and meat to fish or squid balls, banana skewers, etc... Out of all the options, I think the most feared by foreigners visiting the Philippines is the balut 🙂 She wasn't selling any though.

Balut is a fertilized developing egg embryo that is boiled and eaten from the shell.
source

For the anecdote, you can't see it on the pictures, but the stool she was sitting on was hollow in the middle and only the ring was left to it. I can't imagine it being very comfortable.

She's studying for a bachelor of science and hospitality management which she should complete in 2 years. Her dream is to be able to set up her own business one day, specifically a restaurant.

Just like a lot of people in the area, and because of the current pandemic situation, her family is struggling to make ends meet on a daily basis. So in order to support her parents and siblings she daily sells grilled meat on skewers. She also sometimes does acrylic paintings that she tries to sell in order to help pay for her school fees. I asked to see one of her paintings, but it wasn't possible at the time.

When it comes to hobbies or passions, she very much enjoys painting and dancing because it takes her mind away from everything. But in the end, she gets much of her joy by spending quality time with her family and friends. Judging by the behavior of the people present at the time of the interview, I could see that she is very much liked by the people in her neighborhood. She appears to be a very jovial person so what's not to like about that.

This is it for Kris' presentation. If you would like to contribute to her reward, 100% upvote this post and share it with your followers by reblogging it.

Thank you all again for your support and see you next week for another feature as well as Kris' reward.


Time for Eliza's HBD Reward

Eliza was the feature of WATP #5 and the author reward came in today.

Payout Eliza.jpg

So here is the breakdown for her reward:

   HBD 0.650 from post payout
+ HBD 3.000 from @ybanezkim26
+ HBD 2.000 from @discoveringarni
+ HBD 1.000 from @kneelyrac
+ HBD 1.000 from @romeskie
+ HBD 1.000 from @iamraincrystal
+ HBD 1.000 from @macchiata
+ HBD 1.000 from @iamyohann

= HBD 10.650

This amount converted into the local currency is PHP 526.21 so let's round it up to PHP 530 to make it easier.

Here is the picture of Eliza receiving her reward. She was very happy with it.

IMG_20200820_152601.JPG

Thank you to everyone who participated to her reward and especially the above mentioned persons for their contributions.


What is #WhoAreTheyPhilippines?

#WhoAreTheyPhilippines is a weekly project where I randomly select a person in the area where I live or work. I interview that person, take a few pictures and then post about him/her on the Hive PH Community. After 7 days, when the author reward can be claimed, I convert the whole HBD amount to the local currency (PHP) and hand it over to him/her along with some contributions from some of you.

I am very thankful to all of you for your support, upvotes and contributions. I am glad this initiative is well received.


Check out the previous editions here:

WATP #1 - Ernesto The BladeSmith and Ernesto's HBD Reward
WATP #2 - Marito The Trisikad Driver
WATP #3 - Pampilo The Vulcanizer
WATP #4 - Virgilia The Sari-sari Store Owner
WATP #5 - Eliza the Plant Seller


Status on the current contributions:

ContributorTotal ContributionUsed ContributionRemaining Contribution
@ybanezkim26
HBD 22.010
HBD 9.010
HBD 13.000
@iamraincrystal
HBD 10.000
HBD 1.000
HBD 9.000
@romeskie
HBD 8.000
HBD 4.000
HBD 4.000
@iamyohann
HBD 6.162
HBD 6.162
HBD 0.000
@discoveringarni
HBD 4.000
HBD 4.000
HBD 0.000
@kneelyrac
HBD 2.311
HBD 2.311
HBD 0.000
@macchiata
HBD 1.000
HBD 1.000
HBD 0.000
Sort:  

Make it 3 HBD for my contribution. As usual say hello to Kris for me. Thank you for this!

Will do, thank you 🙂

I love this project! :) keep up the great work! :)

Thank you very much for your kind words and your generous contribution to this initiative.

I sent 1 HBD, say hello to Kris. Awesome project.

Well received. I'll add it to Kris' reward. Thank you very much for her.

I was waiting for @iamyohann 's next post for quite some time. It wasn' t only recently that I learned there's a new account for this initiative. I missed out on Ate Eliza's feature 😅 But glad to know I'm back on track now. Hehe.

Knowing how active you are with this initiative, I was wondering why I didn't hear from you last week despite being tagged to the post. I just assumed you were taking a break or had other things to attend to.
Welcome back! 🙂

Yeah that was weird. I didn't notice the mention in my notifs. Maybe I really did was caught up in the real world at that time. But I've followed this account already so I won't miss out 💖

Welcome back!
I confirm receiving HBD 4.000 from you. Would you like me to use HBD 1.000 for the next 4 features, including Kris? the same way I do it with other contributions or you would prefer dividing it differently?
Thank you very much for you support.

You can give the 4 HBD to Kris. I'll continue supporting your next features 😁

Sure, I will do. It looks like Kris will be getting a generous payout. I'm happy for her. Thank you very much.

#awesomeness post. Glad to see the good vibes going out to the 'real' world. #HIVE rocks! :)

Thank you for this comment 🙂

You're welcome po. 👍

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #40.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

Thank you very much for the support

Congratulations @whoaretheyph! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store