Life lessons from a lady in her 90's

in Unity Toward Freedom2 years ago
Authored by @Miss Hugo

Devide.PNG

Well hello, stranger...

The past week has made me think a lot about the people who have influenced me. My thoughts went back to my ouma (grandmother) a lot. You see she fell ill a few months ago and it's been hard. And with ill, I mean she's getting old. She's been in ICU for around 3 weeks now and even though she's positive, it's clear that the old age is getting to her.

20210413_204550.jpg

This photo was taken last year during my visit to her. She didn't want to go for her walk that day, but in the end, she enjoyed the fresh air.

My Ouma was born in 1931, the eldest of five children. She was born into a poor family, but her parents worked hard to give her and her siblings the best they could. The first 8 years of her life were spent during the great depression. Which was followed by the second world war. 1945. At the age of 9 her brother was born, followed by 3 more sisters.

IMG-20181007-WA0020.jpg

This is an old photograph of my grandmother and her three sisters. The quality is low, but even the original is blurry.

Seeing how much her mother worked around the house to keep the household in order and her father working extra shifts on the railway, she started taking on responsibility. She would get up a few hours before school to build a fire and heat water. This was used to clean and cook breakfast. She would get water to do laundry and make sure the food was prepped for dinner. After an early morning, she would make her way to school. By the time she reached grade 8, she dropped out of school and started working.

2016-07-13 14.10.13.jpg

My grandmother during her visit to her sister in Cape Town. She was 88 at the time this picture was taken.

I never really paid much attention to our conversations as a child. And looking back I should have. These days when I listen to her stories about the great depression, the second world war, the polio virus, the swine full outbreak, the South African Border war and just her life in general... I can't help but feel grateful. All the opportunities I got in life were passed down from her hard work and determination.

IMG-20180212-WA0003.jpg

This photo was taken in 2017 when she was 85 years old.

I admire her. Don't get me wrong, she made her mistakes in life and she has a difficult mood, but she always showed up. I'll be leaving you with a few life lessons I learned from my Ouma. I wanted to share it with you all since I believe it is something everyone can use in their daily lives.

  • Always make your own bed. It's not someone else's responsibility. Same for the choices you make, the consequences are your responsibility.

  • "n ding het n plek en hy hoort op sy plek". Everything has a spot, so put it back in its spot. This way you stay organised. It also makes me believe that we as people have our own spot in life and that is where we can make a difference.

  • "As jy n ding begin maak hom klaar". Always finish something once you've started it. Never give up on something even when you don't want to do it anymore. Let's say you started painting and realised you hate it... Finish that painting, it's proof that you tried and didn't give up. You might never paint again but at least you can say look I tried and gave 100%.

  • This is one everyone should know. "Daar is altyd iets mooi in die dag". There is something beautiful every day. We tend to rush through our days and never really sit down and feel. When was the last time you looked up at the sky? When last did you hear the birds? Are you aware of the changes in nature when spring comes closer? Take a moment and appreciate the things and people around you. Surviving is not living.

20220415_135433.jpg

We took this photo during an outing at the start of this year. She was still doing well during this time.

If you made it this far, thank you! I hope you find some wisdom in this post. Make use of it and live in unity with yourself. Take care and appreciate those around you.

Devide.PNG

image.png

Devide.PNG

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @technicalside ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I'm here with you all the way @misshugo Lots of Love!

You certainly gave me a idea for a story, also something that I haven't shared with a lot of people if anyone at all.

Anyways.

I think this is something a lot of people can relate with.

"As jy n ding begin maak hom klaar".

Now that's something to live with and being consistent with that in life can take you places. Far away and high up places.

First of all, I want to say you look so much like your Ouma 🥰.

These lessons are priceless, I'm so fortunate to have received this message today, I'm so glad I stopped by.

We should always finish what we started, this is something that is really hard for me to do, I hope I can keep to this.

Thank you so much sharing the wisdom you got from Ouma with us. She has indeed live a life full of inspiration, please give her a very warm hug for me while you whisper thank you from Hope ❤️.

🤗 thank you for your kind message

It's my pleasure friend 🥰...

She's such a beautiful soul.
I'm glad you shared this.
I'm inspired to write about someone loving in my life too. 💗💗💗💗🥰

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks a lot ☺️

Congratulations @misshugo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

this is a very nice post

Daar is altyd iets mooi in die dag".

 
Your grandma is smart as anything :) And if she came out of the great depression and all the rest of that with this attitude then she's a strong woman too.

You be strong for her now, okay? What a great influence you have had in your life 💥❤️

I'm glad you put some of her wisdom down here...

Thank you 😊. I'm glad that I'm able to share some of her wisdom with you.

 2 years ago  

I was very touched by your article about your grandmother... I hope she's doing better ! It's true that no matter how combative we are, it's hard to deal with it as we get older.

She seems to be an optimistic person, even if you say that she has her own character ^^ I love your pictures, both of you, from year to year, we feel that you are close and it's good that with age, you yourself have understood the value of what she could say and tell. The value of experience.

Her life looks to have been complicated and full of efforts, but I am convinced that this is also what keeps her going ! I love his precepts and advice. Common sense in its purest form ! Especially the last one, which I feel I sometimes "overdo" ^^ Basically, when I'm not behind a screen, I wonder at everything and spend my time happily meditating on every detail.

Surviving is not living.

This also is primordial to understand :)

You give her a good kiss and I hope she gets better ! Thanks again for your testimony and hers, take care ☀️

You're correct! Her optimistic outlook in life and the need to keep going is definitely rooted in the troubles she faced in life.