You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive's Most Effective (But CONTROVERSIAL) Marketing Video (So Far)

in Loving HIVE ❤2 years ago

Well nobody has downvoted it yet and it must be one of the best rewarded posts in a while. I do think the censorship resistance matters, but so do rewards to many people. With $HIVE at over $2 most posts can earn something as votes have more value. We do still need to be vigilant for the various forms of abuse. Bigger rewards will make that more common. I really don't think that many of the big accounts want to drive people away, as some imply. It is in their interest for Hive to succeed and 'bums/butts on seats' is what makes that happen.

I like your video.

Let's not make Hive our secret. Tell the world!

Sort:  

Heh, that may be because I specifically avoided tagging the most vocal dissenters from my previous post, but either way, I'm grateful for the upvotes & rewards.

You and I have discussed abuse often. My stance on it is that dealing with abuse is something every project must do, as it's woven into human nature, and is practically zero justification for slowing growth or avoiding effective approaches.

Grow first, fearlessly, then deal with abuse second.

Glad you like the video, it's my way of creating an easy way for others to 'tell the world', I guess we'll see how well it gets leveraged. :) Anyway, thanks for your insights as always, wishing you a great day! 🙏

People being vocal does not mean they are representative of the larger community. This post is top of trending, so it is pretty visible. I have seen some people they fear that sort of exposure, but is it so bad? The malicious downvotes are a tiny part of Hive and just a small price to pay for the freedom. I have been working with someone to discourage some of those that are just an annoyance. I want Hive to be a friendly place, but some people love conflict.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I totally agree. My thinking was more along the lines of... if I'm writing a piece on the value of cussing, tagging a bunch of dogmatic Christians is just poking the bear. Similarly, if I'm posting a video that Hive's biggest draw is crypto-rewards, tagging a bunch of anti-reward purists is unnecessary conflict. If people happen to find this piece because it's visible, so be it. In my entire time here, I've never shied away from people's opinions.

I love your focus on making hive as friendly as possible, thanks for all you do! 🙏