WARHAMMER 40k - King of the Cape Match analysis - Match 1 VS Imperial Knights

Hello everyone! This weekend past I took part in the King of the Cape Warhammer 40,000 tournament, you can find my post about that HERE

What I want to do now is take you on a journey into the nitty-gritty game rules and blow by blow action that resulted in each of the matches. Starting with Game 1 against the Imperial Knights!

My opponent was Nicholas Woode-Smith. A cheerful and good sport of a man. We had a very fun game and he took the loss of over half his army with good demeanor. He did manage to win the battle.

Let's talk about what the Imperial Knights are:

Imperial Knights

Hulking mechanical relics piloted by Nobles from a variety of Houses across the galaxy, these war machines are among the most feared weapons in the Imperium! Simply put, they are large, armed and armoured like few other and basically the largest things to hit the battlefield that are not Titans.

The Army-List

The Knights can be played a number of ways. Nicholas specifically played the following:

Noble Household: House Taranis
Questor Allegiance: Questor Mechanicus
Chivalric Oaths: Defend the Realm and Lay Low the Tyrants

Knight Crusader - 535pts

Knight Gallant - 405pts

Knight Paladin - 450pts

2x Armiger Helverins - 310pts

2x Armiger Warglaives - 300pts

Total: 2000pts ar 104 Power Level

Basically the Armiger Helverins are armed with shooting support, the Armiger Warglaives seek to get into assault while the three knights are generally equipped both in combat and shooting to deal out what many units in the opposing army would deal.

Basically, the thing that really cost me the game was not knowing what Imperial Knights can and cannot do. They have some major drawbacks in that their big guys can be seen over any and all buildings while even my Land Raider is not visible behind a building.

This led me to opportunities where I could shoot and was not shot at from my target.

There is no such thing however as preventing all damage.

9th Edition games are fought and won by gaining Victory Points and Nicholas has at his disposal, Secondary Objectives that are unique to Knights.

Our end result:
Knights: 51
Space Wolves: 38

With a gap of 13 VP there are a few things that I should have done:

1: The Knight Gallant was able to stand in the centre of the board and do an action where he prays. This gives Knights massive amounts of VP.
2: Engage on all fronts, Bring it Down and Raise the Banners are cool, but I did not know about Space Wolves and Astartes Secondaries until after the tournament. This would have been a great way to replace Raise the Banners!

I would have liked to check more closely how the game was scored and make sure I eke out every little bit out of the game.

All in all, I would just like to face them again. They are big and they deal plenty damage, but I have learned in this tournament that dealing damage does not always win you the game!

My time is up tonight... another battle review shall come tomorrow!

Thanks for reading!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

Sort:  

!LUV
!LOL
!PIZZA

I told the Starbuck's clerk my name was Marc with a C
When I got my coffee it was marked Clark.

Credit: lobaobh
@zakludick, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things

(10/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Thank you!

!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!HUG

Dear @new.things, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @zakludick.
(1/2)

Yesterday a clown held a door open for me.
I thought it was a nice jester.

Credit: reddit
@new.things, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @zakludick

(1/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

😂😂😂

!LOL
!PGM
!CTP

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @new.things

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


A priest was arrested at a church
He was convicted for mass murder.

Credit: reddit
@zakludick, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things

(3/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @rashid5 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@zakludick(1/5) tipped @new.things (x1)
new.things tipped zakludick (x1)