Floating Teacup Decoration

in DIYHub3 years ago (edited)

Saturdays are often slow at the library, but this means I have time to work on projects I can present as adult programs in the future. It sounds like COVID restrictions will be lifted on in-person, indoor crafts, so I have prepared a demo model for a floating teacup centerpiece. Perfect for your next tea party, or just a unique addition to your decor.

20210704_002116.jpg

If this strikes your fancy, there are instructions all over the web.

Supplies:

  • Teacup and saucer
  • Assorted artificial flowers
  • Hot glue gun
  • bendable fork or spoon

My first attempt did not go well. This time, the only problem I had was an off-center cup that needed a rock as a counterweight hidden under the pile of spilling flowers. Otherwise, it was too unstable and would tip at the slightest touch. Centering the cup better can avoid this hassle.

If you want to give this a try yourself, I suggest visiting a thrift store for the cup, saucer, and suitable cheap institutional silverware. Buy artificial flowers wherever you like in whatever style you like.

Share a picture of your own project in the comments for a 100% upvote! At present, I am currently active almost every day, although I doubt I will post as much I did in June to earn another Monthly Author badge from @HiveBuzz.


Comments are always welcome! If you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I will even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

Sort:  

If you perfect any of these craft projects, do you think you'll ever make video tutorials of them?

I have made a couple how-to videos at part of library quarantine grab-and-go craft projects, but there are already plenty such videos on YouTube. If I start using 3Speak or D.tube, maybe it would be worthwhile on the chain, but otherwise, I see no benefit.

I would suggest BitChute instead, though that's mainly because D.tube is a pain to use. I haven't tried 3Speak yet. I must warn you, if you make anything particularly unique or complicated and you don't record video footage of it, you're going to get pestered!