Toilet replacement-possible disaster

in DIYHub2 years ago (edited)

DSC_0019a.JPG
Recently, I had to go back south to the town where I was born and raised for the funeral of a friend, you can read about it here
I stayed two nights with a Nephew, who is 3 yrs older than me, the top image is his home. Very nice.
When I rode up, there was a toilet sitting on the grass next to their driveway.


image.png

When I asked about this oddity, they said it was a perfectly fine, 30 yr old Kohler, but it was rather low, making it not so good for folks with bad knees or other handicaps.
I asked, they were going to get rid of it, so I brought it home.
That was over a month ago.
Yesterday, I finally got around to DOING something about it.
But first, since I suspected there was more slipshod workmanship here in the "new bathroom" (since they installed a USED toilet in the first place, complete with years of rust in the tank and corresponding years of mineral build up under the rim) I decided to go all out and check under that floor, so meet "Plumber Jerry"

image.png

I did NOT want any spiders or other vermin, nor dust or insulation in my hair or down my back 🤣
20211118_083414.jpg

The condition of the flooring seems alright, I do not understand what that rectangular cut out is all about. I now suspect that the idiots that screwed up so much else, perhaps cut that thinking the "Terlet" would go there?
Since I had the wax ring, the new seals for the tank/bowl connection, I removed the old toilet

20211118_092448.jpg

and set it down in the shower stall.
Folks, this is a VERY small bathroom.

20211118_092459.jpg
I scraped out the old wax ring (that stuff is SOOO sticky, I hate messing with it) and the bolts for securing the toilet: I had new ones.
I brought in my new/old "Throne"

20211118_092934.jpg
And proceeded to install the seals for the tank to the bowl. Out here I had room to work, but it was still a BEAR.

image.png
This was my first time messing with a "Three Bolt" tank, in my past experiences, there were two bolts securing the tank to the bowl.
So the seals (see in the ↑photo, circled↑) were one piece, three rubbery places to insert through the porcelain for the bolts.
The new one did not fit well.
While assembling the 'new/old' replacement, the gasket between tank and bowl wasn't going in as easily as I thought it should, and while I was twisting to get the holes to line up better, I heard a ¡PING!, looked and saw a hairline crack, that for all I know might have been there already.
So with it still sitting on my flatbed cart, I rolled it back outside, put about a gallon of water in the tank, waiting to see if there is any leakage.
After an hour, no leaks, but I'm afraid when I go to try and get it seated, it might make the crack spread.
One of my friends commented:

When you're seated on a toilet, a crack usually does spread

I went on and commented back about things to do and hoping for the best.
It was over 24 hrs before it sank in, he had made a joke!

image.png
↑I have no earthly idea who made that image↑

So after all that, from the time I came in from checking underneath and beginning on the project, and hour had past while I removed the old, got the opening ready to receive and was working on the assembly, when the problem with the crack sidelined my progress.
Still and all, I give you my new/old throne:

20211118_120301.jpg

The board covering the opening to under my bathroom (which also has the dryer vent and water heater overflow tube,) had some rot across the bottom, so I added an old piece of 2x4, screwed it all together

20211118_161431.jpg
So that now, I am hoping no leaks appear.

And there you have my

"DIY Toilet Replacement"

and near disaster
by

Jerry E Smith
©11/19/2021
All images but that meme are original




cyktlq.png

Sort:  

"Plumber Jerry" doesn't mess around when it comes to getting shitty jobs done!

That's no easy task swapping out a toilet but you did a good job, and I'm hoping the crack doesn't spread when you sit on it.

That joke flew over my head too.. lol.

I hope you get some restful sleep tonight and have a nice Saturday!

That joke flew over my head too

Thanks @futuremind

There's nothing quite like the "fun" of replacing a toilet in a small bathroom...

Crappy job done and dusted, now lets hope that crack never shows itself, well done on completing the task at hand Jerry!

G'morning @joanstewart, I certainly hope this will hold.
On the other hand, my nephew replaced it because it was so low, and I mean it is too.
So far, I am not having any issue getting up or down, but who knows?
I do have an "over the toilet potty chair" that can be adjusted, it was issued when I had my hip replacement.
It isn't very pretty tho ha ha ha.
Thanks for reading and commenting my friend

Over the potty seat would have been next suggestion, we had them for the children and found them pretty helpful. Also passed onto a neighbour years ago who battled with low squatting 😁

Oh you will know when your feet are wet you have a problem, before that enjoy the new comfort of a fresher looking arrangement.

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

Thank you @thoughfuldailypost, and you as well brother @wesphilbin

You are more than welcome!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Plumber Jerry 😅

Classic