1997 Ford F-350 7.3L Powerstroke ~ Transmission and Transfer Case Oil Change

in DIYHub3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Welcome back DIY’ers, Gear Heads, and Grease monkeys... or Driveway mechanics like myself. This go around my son (@w-splatts) and I are doing some fluid changes in my 1997 Ford F-350 7.3L Powerstroke. Maintenance is something a lot of people forget about, but with proper maintenance you truck or car can be on the road for many years. Shoot my Truck has been on the road for 24 years and my 2001 Ford Excursion for 20 years. That’s a long time to be turning wheels and and kicking up dust.

DF54CCD1-DC7C-4BDF-B75F-EBDFC49FAFDA.jpeg

It’s been about 50,000 miles since I have had the transmission oil changed. My truck is running a ZF5 Manual transmission with a Borg Warner 1356 transfer case. I’m not sure when the last time the transfer case fluid was changed but figured we might as well change that also.

In this video I take you through the process of changing the oil in the ZF5 transmission and the Borg Warner transfer case. In manual transmissions the process is basically the same. But them you get into automatic transmissions that is a whole different puddle of fluid.

Always be sure to check your owners manual for the correct type and amount of fluid to add. My transmission took 3.4 quarts and my transfer case took 6. It required an extra 4 because of the Power Take Off (PTO) bolted to the side of it. A total of almost 10 quarts, yet I only drained about 6 from the transmission and transfer case. I’m thinking the both of them were running a little low.

I hope this video is informative and encourages you to get under that vehicle and handle some of the vehicle maintenance yourself. Save yourself some $ and DIY. Thanks for stopping by.


6F59A612-1A1D-440E-9BF5-EDCD47E40B1E.jpeg

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Join us in the Mancave!

B3BEB29A3854409FBA0F3C7B534887A0.png


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I have nothing but the utmost of respect for all the grease monkeys in the world! @splatts👨‍🔧🧰

Learned to appreciate the sight of helpful hands with dirty nails wearing grease-stained clothes with brains attached a long, long time ago when I had my first car: a '69 Ford Falcon. Manual steering. No air conditioning. But it had an AM/FM radio!

Loved that car even though it occassionally needed some, let's call it, "TLC!" Fortunately we had a friend of the family who worked as a mechanic at FORD Company who did work on the side in his spare time.

Take care!