With Winter's Arrivial, Recalling Summer Days Well Spent, Warmed My ❤ !

in DIYHub3 years ago

The first snowfall of the year arrived just like was predicted. Winter comes early here in UpState New York, and with it, activities change as well. I enjoy having a list of things to do as sitting around just ain't my style. We've got some projects planned for the winter months and that's is always a good thing. If I were to have nothing on the board, I'm sure I would go a little nuts.

This is also the time of year that allows me to get involved with @hive on a regular basis.
Throughout the year, we like to document how we spend our time and that includes taking photos of projects that we have tackled.
Just the other day while looking through the photos we took over the past several months I came across pics of a project that was a lot of fun to do.

IMG_4820.JPG

Our son @ryan313 asked me to help him build a deck around the pool he just had installed in his backyard, and I was happy to oblige.
It's not an easy task for his youngest to get in the pool, but with a little help from her sister, she did manage. We hope to rectify this problem in the next couple of days!

IMG_2567.JPG

IMG_2566.JPG
We got a nice early start, which was a good thing, and anticipated that it would be a long day as well. Getting the material on the job site is never any fun, especially during these trying times, but once that is done, it's all giggles, let the fun begin.

Yo, @jlsplatts do you happen to recognize the hat on my son's head? Due to your generosity, I was able to spread them out a little.
IMG_2586.JPG
While digging the footing holes and pouring the concrete, the boss was watching every move.
IMG_2570.JPG
Something is wrong in this picture, as I'm not sure how I ended up on the end of the hoe, while my son added the water. I guess it pays to be the boss. 😁
IMG_2573.JPG
With the concrete cured, the following day we started to set the columns.
IMG_2580.JPG
Laying out the footing holes required some calculating. In a couple of hours, we would know if the placement of all of the footings we had poured the previous day were where they needed to be, I sure hope so. The first one worked out perfectly, but the real test would be how they all lined up after the other ones were installed. 🤞
IMG_2583.JPG
Everything worked out perfectly, which is a good thing. I hate doing things twice.
IMG_2588.JPG
After lunch, we were ready to install the floor joists. I just wish the boss would give me a break and stop barking out orders while I ate.
IMG_2587.JPG
The walkway that would take you from the main deck to the pool deck had to be perfect, as it set up the remainder of the main deck.
IMG_2837.JPG
Everything worked out great, and in a matter of hours, we were ready to install the remaining floor joists.
IMG_2836.JPG
Another one of the bosses stopped by and she was satisfied with the progress we were making.
IMG_2840.JPG
Installing the floorboards was bringing the footprint of the deck to life, and with the real boss showing up, we needed to continue to move along!
IMG_2843.JPG
Now there is a happy looking fellow. I wonder if it could be because of what is in that can, or if it's due to the fact that the boss was gone?
IMG_2846.JPG
Within minutes after installing the last of the floorboards on the walkway, the crowds were already showing up.
IMG_2849.JPG
Being that this was not a union job, we were able to take a little break in the afternoon.
IMG_2859.JPG
With the boss driving us like there was no tomorrow, the old body was feeling a little weary.
I needed a break, or maybe it was time for a cold one. Some adult refreshments should help me to straighten up after installing floorboards for the past several hours.
IMG_2861.JPG
But just as long as the big guy is happy, I'm good to go.
IMG_2862.JPG
By late afternoon the flooring was done.
IMG_2864.JPG
The next step was to install the posts.
IMG_2865.JPG
As the day passed, and the railing system started to take shape, I was satisfied knowing that what we had set out to accomplish would be done before #farm-mom and I would depart the following morning.
IMG_2879.JPG
It was a great day, working side by side with my son! Before retiring and moving to the middle of nowhere, we saw a lot more of each other and developed a very special relationship.
When we departed in the morning, the only thing that would be left to do would be to install the remaining spindles.
Just recently @tarazkp baked some Gingerbread cookies with his daughter and did a post about it.
My reply to his post was, time is always well spent when you spend it with your children and in this case, I couldn't have spent my time any wiser.

It was a long and satisfying day and with my Unicorn in hand, it was time to relax and have a few cold ones.
IMG_2869.JPG
With the project being completed, it was time to have the cousins, aunts, and uncles over for a good old barbeque and swim.

IMG_3834.JPG

I hope you enjoyed, I know I had a blast!

Sort:  

as I'm not sure how I ended up on the end of the hoe.

(How differently that sentence would've read had there not been and E on Ho) 🤔

How'bout a whole house, @thebigsweed? Got time to fab on of those up? This current housing market is making me, as you say, "nuts!"

Dang they're lucky to have you man.

I wasn't planning on logging back in today. As I had mentioned, we were headed to the airport in Syracuse, but 5 minutes before departing, our good friend called and told us she missed her flight. One of those stopover deals before arriving at the final destination. After she showed the attendant her tickets, he directed her to the wrong gate. Now she can't catch a flight until much later. She won't be arriving until tonight at 10:30 pm, what a bummer.

Well, the delay gave me a chance to log back in, and I've been laughing since.
(How differently that sentence would've read had there not been and E on Ho) 🤔
That's hysterical, and if you add the remainder of the sentence, ( while my son added the water. ) now that's some scene. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

I was going to edit hoe, but it's so f--king comical I'm going to go with the hoe.
Not literally with the hoe but with hoe like in the one used to mix concrete.

You're a funny, funny, dude. I wonder if anyone else will pick that up?

Listen, I'm going to be around for a while longer, if you come up with any others, send them my way, keep me laughing all day if that's okay, what do you say?

Ok but I'm not sure where to start. 🤔

while my son added the water.

Now I've heard about these things, Sweed. In fact, the terminology for these things is endless. For some reason, keeping it in the family is all I can come up with at the moment.

Man I sure am glad you understand my humor, many people don't. I end up having to explain the whole sarcasm thing and how it isn't perceived well via text and, as you can likely see already by simply reading this sentence, it kinda ends up being a hoe down.

One more:

It's 2020 and the terminology for these things moves at the speed of a concrete pour but I've never heard it called that before--"concrete."

the hoe but with hoe like in the one used to mix concrete.

Yeah.. way over my head! :zoom zoom:

Speaking of, should anyone reading this see me wandering around outside today, stand me up and give me a push would ya? I clearly need some guidance.

Boy that was fun couple of days.
You really are talented my man.
Nice job as usual. xo

Ah man what a great project made even better by involving the family in the work and the rewards. Those pics will keep you warm in the winter and look forward to the next summer season.

It snowed up here on Sunday as well. No worries though as it melted and we are going golfing on Friday!

Enjoy the cold ones my friend.

Nice job done! And loved the warm summer photos!