How To Write Better Blogs

Better blogs.png


The struggle to write

Anyone who has ever read a blog post knows that writing good content is no easy feat. Even the most eloquent, well-researched posts can seem stilted and uninviting to readers if they don't have the right visual cues, such as graphics or a layout that's easy on the eye. It goes without saying that if you want to improve engagement on your blog, writing better blogs is an effective way. But as with everything else in this digital age, not everyone knows how to do this. That's what I've run into often enough myself, by the way. Just today, while I was preparing for my "everyday objects" series, I was struggling with the text for a few photos. And then I thought, well I can smuggle for a day, and throw a completely different blog online today.

Since I can't imagine that I'm the only one suffering from this. I thought it might be useful to share some tips here that I typically think back to when I'm in a "struggling mode". Take advantage of it, if you are also one of the 'lucky' people who sometimes have to deal with this.

divider.png

What makes a blog a good blog?

Before you can start writing better blogs, you need to know why you put your fingers on the keyboard in the first place. Usually, it is possible to trace back to three reasons why people start blogging.

  • You want to reach a wider audience and have a platform to share your knowledge and experiences
  • You want to build a community around your brand and get more awareness for your brand, company or product
  • You want to develop writing skills and build a readership for a future career

Now we all know that a new reason has been added since the crypto era.

  • Put simply, you want to make money!


    Only you know which of these reasons apply to you. But how are you going to achieve that?

divider.png

Be consistent

First of all, make sure you're consistent with your blog's tone, topics, styles, and language. This is really one of the most important things to keep an eye on if you want to create a blog that is easy on the eyes of the readers. For example, if you mainly write about gaming, keep the tone and topics of the articles consistent with this. Don't think once you start writing about gaming that you can never write about your pet! Just adjust the tone to your topic, and keep in mind that if your readers follow you because of your gaming blogs, they may not be as interested in your pet.

divider.png

Show, don't just tell

One of the biggest mistakes bloggers make when they're starting out is talking at readers, not walking them through the content. After all, if you just tell someone what you want them to know, is that really that great? Do you expect people to comment on your blog? People are visual, so don't just try to use the right words, but also match them with the right images. Finally, a blog that is well put together and also looks professional by using the right photos is more inviting for everyone to open and really read.

divider.png

Use the right tone of voice

When writing your blog posts, you should be aware of the tone of voice you use. If you use a formal tone, you should use formal language in your blog posts. If you use a casual tone, you can use more relaxed terms. Most bloggers tend to use a neutral tone, but you can also experiment with both formal and casual tones. It's also worth being aware of when you're writing your blog. If you write in the morning, you can try injecting more call-to-action into your posts. If you write in the afternoon, you can write more relaxed so that people stay more relaxed while reading your blogs.

divider.png

Write a blog and not a book

A common mistake bloggers make when writing their posts is spending too much time editing. This is something you don't want to do - you want to write quickly and with as little editing as possible. This is because blogging is an art that relies heavily on instinct and natural ability, so it's a shame to take it away by over-editing yourself. In addition, some bloggers (and I recognize this pitfall very well), tend to throw TOO MUCH information into their blog. A good rule to follow is to keep the length of your post under 1000 words. Going over this will waste your readers' time! If you still want to waste readers' time, you might as well copy and paste your post from Facebook. That takes both you and your reader much less time.

divider.png

Don't forget the coffee!

These are a few things I fall back on in times when I struggle with writing a blog. Now it's up to you to play with this, and experiment. Find which style suits you. And don't give up, with dedication, practice, experimentation, and enough coffee anyone can learn to write better blogs.

Header image and text divider created with CANVA PRO

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Reading this just opened up my eyes to new things I didn't know I needed to know. I just realized that I have been going around blogging the wrong way. I always edit and edit and then re-edit. Which makes my posts come off too formal, but then I also thought that was the goal.
Then I thought, the longer the post, the better. Now I know better.

My reason for writing a blog post is to build my writing skill for personal reasons, I don't think I see a writing career in my future. But I'm always open new opportunities too.

Thank you so much for this post, it is definitely very helpful to me.

Blogging is expressing yourself, and depending on what you write about you want it to be formal, informal, relaxed, active, educating or just sharing something ...

But always keep it close to how you are. That's at least what I try.

Thank you for the compliment.

Hi there, @hetty-rowan. 😃 Your post is sound, on point and what every blogger needs. I admit I struggle sometimes especially in the area of focusing on a niche. The listed points are very helpful and of course, nothing ever goes wrong with coffee! 😁 Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your visit and compliment, and the share on Twitter!

Everyone is struggling from time to time. A good coffee can help a great deal with that ... Lol

You've Put a Light on this topic so brilliantly. Those are some Valid Points and tells a lot about your experience.

Improvement is a part of journey comes with learning and this helps pretty much to Get straight forward better at writing blogs. thank you so much for this Amazing Post!

Thanks for your compliment.

I was just struggling myself, and was trying to get my focus back. So I thought back at why I was blogging, and the other points I mentioned here. By doing that I usually get back into the flow and write the blog in no time at all.

Have a great day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 137 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Congratulations @hetty-rowan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 90000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is really true.Its hard to write a quality blog but with your tips.This will be very helpful.Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking time to publish this post on how to write better blogs. I think I'm OK with the writing (even though it can always improve). My problem is with images.

Occasionally I include edited screen captures with noted added. It's not often that I include actual photos or drawings. It takes me as much time to work with images I know I need as it does text, never mind searching for the right photo. I decided to err on the side of creatively formatted text, although I need to improve my photo hunting skills if I want to use photos more often.