Din o Dibosh: A Day At A Time

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

My day start each Morning with an alarm that keep snoozing every 10 seconds until I'm left with just one choice- waking up.
I live in a village at the Northern part of Nigeria where farming is their major occupation. During the rainy season, I spend most days cultivating our farm land and few months within the dry season harvesting that which we cultivated. Though I'm a graduate now, not much has changed, I still engage in one farming activity or the other.

img_0.03554201071880008.jpg

Photo credit
My Today
I wasn't sure what the day will look like as I turned off the disturbing alarm. I have gone for job hunting few days back but no positive outcome. "I never will give up" I affirm to myself as I said my morning prayers and studied my everyday devotional. Today's reading came with a message that talks about "restoration", I only had to be positive to believe God is restoring to me those favours and blessings I have missed some years back.
I took my bath and dressed up not knowing exactly where I was going. I hate to stay locked up at home doing nothing especially now that I'm a graduate and my parents expect to see some kind of financial commitment from me. After 2 hours of trekking around the city seeking for job, I realised life outside college is totally a different world. Though brilliant and a first class student, it seem I need something extra to help me survive.

It was until my stomach started to ache that I remembered I have left home without eating. I was holding just the exact transport fee to take me back home, if I take any amount out of it, i will have to either trek home which is a distant place from here or beg a taxi man to help me get home with half of the original fee. Confused on what to do, I sat under a tree shade and started to reminisce my days in school and the goals I have hoped to achieve by this time of the year. I know my future is bright but it is hard at this very moment in time. I sat there watching how busy the street was, women involved in trade , the taxi men announcing their destination and those who seem to be wandering the street like me.

Not knowing where to go further, I took my phone and read a book on finance that talks about "Life after college". I couldn't read as my stomach started to ache the more, I have no choice than to endure this hunger until I get home, "I will include this in my success story" I said to myself as I put up a smile. Whatever it cost me to build a future for myself and my unborn children and to be better than my past, then I will pay for it. My start is still on, I hope it will turn out to be good at the end of the end.

I invite @burlarj @faith65 @iyimoga @shemzy32 to join the contest.
Link bdcommunity contest

Sort:  

Nice entry my man and thanks for the nomination...

You're always welcome