Walking along the historic Cami de Cavalls path, Island of Menorca

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

A little over two weeks ago I decided to travel to the wonderful island of Menorca to enjoy the natural marine and coastal ecosystems that were designed and built by the enormous forces that move and make the tectonic plates converge, leaving a beautiful landscape with its rugged coastline, several beaches, majestic coves enlivened by the Mediterranean Sea and a forest with riparian and semi-xerophytic vegetation, there are also a hundred private farms and other properties for cultivation.

Calaturqueta.png

Cala Turqueta, the path of Cami de Cavalls led me to this magical natural body of seawater, embraced by splendid vegetation and prominent limestone rocks.

As a nature lover I preferred, together with my husband @jesusf04, to make a journey of at least 8 kilometres from Cala Turqueta to Cala Galdana. We could have rented bikes and we didn't because the path of Cami de Cavalls is very irregular; besides, I don't have my husband's expertise to ride bikes in mountainous and rocky areas.

CamiCavalls4.png

So it was a fun walk that got even more exciting when we took a detour to see some caves and didn't know how to get back on the trail. 😅

What is fascinating is that it was an adventure and this type of setback enriches our experience; especially if we take into account the ecological, historical, geological and tourist value represented by the Cami de Cavalls, which means horse trail.

CamiCavalls7.png

Taking a look at the 14th century, we find that King Jaume II, known as the just, successor of Frederick II on the throne of Aragon and Valencia; issued an edict ordering that all settlers were in the duty to watch over and protect the island territory against any threat of invaders or pirates.

CamiCavalls2.png

While I was walking I was amazed by so much natural beauty, imposing rocks with marks originated by external agents and partially covered by communities of lichens and other plant organisms gave me energy to continue the journey and see more components of the coastal biotope.

CamiCavalls.png

The singing of the birds and the playfulness of the small lizards did not allow the environment to be silenced.

And so time passed while my eyes did not cease to observe everything from small plants to the rocks and native fauna present. My joy was beyond description, I only know that it filled me with good vibes to walk the historic path that was trodden by thousands of soldiers during past centuries.

CamiCavalls5.png

During the journey and daring detour, we find some very curious caves due to their natural cavity and unquestionable human intervention, possibly because of the first cultures that populated the island and then because of the soldiers and settlers that disputed the fabulous territory.

CamiCavalls9.png

The hydrological richness is not limited to the Mediterranean Sea, during the trip we could observe and feel several springs, streams and small currents of fresh water that provide hydration to wildlife and maintain moisture in the root system of plants.

CamiCavalls11.png

After about three hours, this friendly warning notified me that 2.5 kilometers away was Cala Turqueta, the brilliant bay you saw at the beginning of this publication. So my adrenaline was pumping and my curiosity was running high. I was anxious to delight my eyes with the beautiful coastal panorama.

Calaturqueta2.png

My husband was the first to descend and approach the shore to see the crystal clear waters along with a variety of small fish, shells and molluscs.

Calaturqueta3.png

As I have recounted my exciting journey along the historic and beautiful Cami de Cavalls trail, I now conclude the post by wishing you the best of success and good vibes.

About the photographs


The pictures were taken with a camera of a smartphone, brand Appel, iPhone X

CamiCavalls14.gif

Sort:  

Wow, such a nice place.
It's my dream to have a dip in the blue water. The caves are beautiful and you may find such a cave in India as well.
Let me know If you have plans to travel India

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.