5 Things I Wish I Knew Before 20

in BDCommunity2 years ago

IMG20201129125319.jpg

Picture of my 18-year-old self


Having recently turned 20, I reflected on many things that I have done wrong in the past or things that I should have improved more upon. To be honest, turning 20 was a super scary experience for me. It signified my first step into actualizing growing up and becoming an adult in this modern world.

Although I pretty much appreciate the life that I have right now, these five pieces of advice are something that I wish I knew before turning 20.


1. Money won’t make you happy.

Growing up in the Philippines, young people are always encouraged to earn more money to become stable in the future and enjoy life altogether. While this is true and that money can provide us with financial stability and happiness to some degree, it’s not permanent.

Think about it, when you earn money and buy these things you like, you get happy for some time, but eventually, everything goes back to normal.

2.Focus on the things you love doing.

Pursuing dreams is frowned upon here in the Philippines because it results in low-earning jobs most of the time. I have been brainwashed by this too, brainwashed from the idea that life is for practical things; nothing could be further from the truth.

Life is supposed to be lived for our happiness; choose what you love doing and are happy doing.

3. Try out new things.

Staying in our safety bubble is for sure a very comforting place to be in, far from trouble, far from uncertainty.

But life is not about being the safest person in the world, we all die eventually, one way or another, and you’d much rather go to your deathbed saying, "I’ve done this", and "I’ve done that", than regretting the life you lived and saying “ I wish I could have done this” or “I wish I could have done that”

4. Don’t disregard small steps.

Small steps are, well, small, but that does not mean they are insignificant. Small steps are all it takes to create something significant long-term.

Think about the Eiffel Tower, you think engineers built that thing in a day? It took two years to build the iconic structure in Paris; that’s a lot of small baby steps.

5. Don’t be easily discouraged.

Tough challenges and hurdles will always be present in life. They are the things that will make us stronger and be more confident when facing them in the future.

It’s up to you if you want to meet them head-on or constantly run away from them and allow them to haunt you for the rest of your life.

How about you? What tips or advice would you give to your former self?

Hive2.png

Thank you for reading my post! And I wish you all a great week ahead!

Hive2.png
Carlos.png
hive separator (5).png

Sort:  

Love it @humbledwriter TRY OUT NEW THINGS! I still remember my decision to leave the Philippines when I was 21. From that time on as I recall it now. Maybe I do regret it when I didn't leave. Because leaving the country and being away for so long makes me realize a lot of things. And I'm forever grateful for that.

This is so nice @humbledwriter Keep writing✨ Really gives me some time to pause and think about life ✨✨✨✨

Wow! 21, that's such at a very young age. Where did you go? and why did you leave the Philippines?

Thank you so much! Hoping to also try more new things in the future.

Na bored! Haha. Yes, Wanted to explore the world and naa may opportunity gi grab.

Goodluck! ✨✨✨✨✨

That's nice! Thank you!!

Congratulations @humbledwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Really well put, Step 5 will always be difficult to overcome!!

Thank you for reading! Yes, I am struggling with that up until now too, but I am starting to accept challenges and starting to love all the lessons they bring me with.

How about you? What tips or advice would you give to your former self?

I would love to tell my former self to take it easy. Not to force anything because things happen for a reason.

That's a fantastic piece of advice! Taking it slow and easy is the best way to succeed. Thank you so much for stopping by!

Your're welcome. Great up.

I agree. The other variables are easier to achieve but the last one is something that you really have to teach your self and it is easy especially there's always gonna be bumpy roads where you go.

Nice write up, Carlos!

Yes, these bumpy roads are something that will help us become stronger. Thank you so much for reading❤️❤️!

It's a pleasure, Carlos. I hope everything is well on your end. <3

Thank you! I wish you the best in your endeavors too!!

money won't make you happy

All our lives we have been taught that "kid, money is everything" and then we grow up and realize that it really isn't all true. Yes, we need money to pay bills and enjoy life, but money won't make us happy. It's what we do with our money-- share it and make others happy, that truly counts.
When we die we don't get to bring our money with us so why do we hustle so hard and make more and store money in our banks when at the end of our short lives on Earth, what matters most is how well we spent our resources and how much we have lived a purposeful life.

Hehe.

Lovelotssssss from this 27-yr old gal, who, at 20 thought that this age is "old" but now I realize I'm young and also it's all about perspective really.

Keep on writing @humbledwriter, I'm excited for what's in store for you 😘

It's what we do with our money-- share it and make others happy, that truly counts, I agree with this so much! giving money to people with limited means and seeing them happy is something that I would want to do in the future. Thank you so much! and I hope you all the best too!

When I was young money makes me happy but now that I am old; it is in doing good that always brings us happiness. Do things which you love, surely it gives you good memories of happiness.

That's an inspiring message @sorenkierkegaard! Thank you so much for your excellent advice, I will continue to do things that I love. Wishing you do the things you love as well!

Love all of these advices except the money part, jk 🤣 I'm glad that I had done the #3 before the pandemic. Thank you for this! 😍 It made me remember that I've done courageous things before, so I shouldn't be discouraged every time I experience failure from this day forward. Looking forward to more self-encouragement posts!

How about you? What tips or advice would you give to your former self?

I feel so old answering this, but there's one thing I wanna tell myself.

"YOLO is not true. You live every day, and you die once. So, make sure to spend most of your life calculated." 🤍

That's awesome! It's great that you've done something entirely new and it paid off.

Yes, I agree too. Although we only have one life, we must do everything to make that life last long but enjoyable and happy as well.

Thank you for your feedback!! Hope to read more from your content as well!

  1. Money won’t make you happy.

It won't but this is a very important one on which most of the things depend. But yeah it shouldn't be the first and foremost priority of our life.

I do agree with the point of yours and mostly about focusing on the things we do love and the small steps one.

I read some place ago, they asked what if you been given a chance to go back 5 years from now. What will you tell the younger you? If me I'll tell all in btc 🤣🤣

hahhaahahah that's actually great advice. I too would also tell myself to buy bitcoin, ethereum, and all the other shit coins that have gone up thousands of percent recently.

5 years ago makes a lot different by now today.😏😏

It sure does.