Requiem For A Lost Love - Part Three

in BDCommunity4 years ago

heart-1192662_1920.jpg

Who was I kidding? Now it seems that only I’m the naïve one left in the whole universe. All of the signs that were right in front of me. Her bunking classes, telling me that she had parties to attend to and me never getting taken along. Everybody leads a dual life, plays many characters, and here I was, believing that if I closed my eyes, everything would be perfect.

I’ve lost my attention. It’s meaningless now going to school today. I mean how would I see her eye to eye while knowing she’s a cheater? Seeing me, she always gives the prettiest laugh imaginable. Or it might be that those are laughs of pity. Can’t tell the difference now.

I came back to my room. It’ll take a few moments for the truth to set in. I mean it’s not every day I get cheated on. That aside, I might beat the shit out of Sean if I see him. So there’s that.

There were always some questions about my existence in this world that were unanswered. The first one would be, who’s my father? I was not capable of asking these to my mom before she died. And never could I sum up the courage to ask Jack. What If he gets upset? He always seemed to take care of me as his own. Hell, the guy is 45 years old now and still not married. Though he’s seeing someone still it’s not likely for someone as good-looking as him.

To keep myself busy, I was searching for something to do. Jack told me there might be a rat infestation in the basement. Cleaning it should take away my attention for a moment.

The basement looks like a nightmare. Somehow the rainwater is dripping in Must be through the crack on the wall of that side. I need to epoxy it or it will eat away the foundation.

This place is filled with boxes. Some look like they haven’t been opened in ages. Some of these have dates on it. Like they’re some kind of memorabilia.

While stacking them up one caught my eye. A name is written on it. My mom’s name, Jessica. Suddenly my eyes get a little blurry. In all these years, I’ve had nothing to remind me of her. Except for that half-torn photograph of. In it, she was holding me. In the part that was torn out, a part of a hand was visible.

The basement looks much cleaner now. I’ve set some rat traps all around. Should take care of the infestation for now. I got out of the basement with that box.

While opening it up, my heart felt so heavy. All these years have gone by, it feels like the box holds a portal that will take me to my mom.

It’s so organized inside. Like somebody has always cleaned the dust off of things inside like it’s been held to and cared for years. Must be Jack. Who else? The only living thing in this house is me, him and my pet parrot.

I’ve found some photographs and a diary, some showpieces, jewelers and a photo album. Opening the album was like a storm of emotions. Most of these faces I do not know. I found a photo of my mom in a hospital gown holding a child. With an infant and a man. That must be me and the man has an uncanny resemblance to me. Looking at the photo, I immediately know who he is.

To be continued...

Cover photo from Pixabay

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

Are you a Splinterlands player? If Yes, then checkout MonsterMarket.io. Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase, and 2% cashback on every booster pack purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space - 60% for cards and 40% for packs, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDvoter Team