Some More Time!

in BDCommunity3 years ago

There is an advertisement or a random video that came to me a few minutes ago. That has created a big shake on my mind. I am just thinking about it over and over again. Actually this kind of heart-touching videos do come to us frequently and force us to think about that deeply.

That video was about a young boy and his middle-aged mother. She comes to him holding his phone and gives that to her son to install some of the social media apps. She mentioned some which her son uses. Actually all moms are not so familiar with these modern facilities and they don't know how to use them properly. Even my mother does have a smartphone and she doesn’t understand all the facilities properly. She just uses her needy things and that number is very little. Let's go back to that video, her son asks what she will do with these as she won't understand them properly. She replied that she wanna use them because her son remains busy with those social media things and if she appears on those platforms then he will be able to give her some time too. This is the moment which made me puzzled. This is the moment where her son realized that gap and her mother's motive and so am I.

1620763444019-01.jpeg

Trust me, I also spent a lot of time on social media. I do give time to my mother too and I am happy about that. But I do think that I should do that more, maybe making her special often would be a great moment for her. Their worlds are confined within us. They don't have hangout groups like us, they can't go out for travelling like we do. Many mom's do have that freedom but here, in my sub-continent, that's very low. So it isn’t so hard to make them feel a little bit happier than before. You know I do that kinda thing often for my mom when it's possible and I feel too much satisfaction on seeing that smiling face of her.

Sometimes I wonder how some of us feel who don't have their mother or parents with them. Who left them already. I can't imagine my world without them. Only those people can feel the true value of having parents.

Can we ask ourselves whether we are giving enough times or not as much as we do spent with our friends and social media. Staying at home under the same roof doesn’t mean giving time to parents. Mother is working on and on in the kitchen and the son is busy with the phone. That doesn't mean giving time in my point of view. You know we can have some very funny moments with our parents too, I have a little sister and I usually do leg pulling with her and my dad stays in favour of her always and then there comes my mother who stays beside me, hahaha.Trust me those moments are too much funny and enjoyable.

Actually this writing was about the feeling I felt after watching one video. We should realize that and give some time to our parents too and make them feel special. We spent a lot of time scrolling here and there and with friends. They are also our friends and we should bear in mind that too. So stay happy,stay blessed with your family.

Sort:  

I spend a lot of time online but whenever I get the chance to spend time with my family I drop everything. Social media has connected us in some many ways and separates us in other ways as well.

Yeah, everything works like a two-way sword and it is on us which one we will prefer. Thank you for reading and your opinion and also sorry for the late reply as I was a little bit busy with life.

No problem. Life can be overwhelming sometimes. I have had to deal with a lot these past few weeks. Cheers!

Congratulations @minhajulmredol! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very interesting post. I haven't seen that particular video or ad, but I understand the story.

Sometimes social can bring us closer to others, other times it can distance us. I believe it all depends on the mindset, attitude, and choices of the person using the social media.

And now social platforms are changing anyway. Some social platforms are becoming more restrictive, and in response a 'free-er' decentralized platform like Hive springs up. (That's what I wrote about in my post yesterday.)

But the point is, no matter what's happening on social, it's important to ask ourselves am I using my time well? Do I want to spend so much time on this platform? Am I doing what makes me happy? Am I treating others the way I want to?

Definitely food for thought, thank you for posting. 🙏

Glad to see you reading my post and sharing your feedback. I do also agree with you. Its on us how we are managing our times and giving priorities. A balance should be maintained always!

My pleasure. And yes, exactly! 😀