WHEN HARD WORK DOESN'T PAY

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

5b04ed42f2f9e01aeca8592dbeac72c7e38515e68c69a6f9746ebadd183e8c6f.0.png

As a child, my parents used to say that working hard was the key to success. To achieve anything meaningful one needs to be dedicated to a course and in due time they will reap the fruit of their labor. However, I learned that this wasn't totally true.

During my third year in uni, I tried to get my grades up. I was going through a tough time financially and emotionally. I dedicated all my time to studying as a means of escape. Unfortunately, my grades did not improve. They took a nosedive.

I was perplexed. I had put in all the time and effort. I sacrificed everything to make sure I did well but the opposite happened. In retrospect, I would have paid more attention to my nutrition, rest, etc. All I wanted was to succeed but I failed. I failed woefully.

I had a lot of resentment for myself and for everyone who had told me to work hard at anything. They were so certain about the outcome of working hard and I believed it as well but life had other lessons to teach me.

I know people who don't merit much move ahead in life easily. I have seen people take the fast road to success. A lot of young men my age go into fraud and they are doing well for themselves. And it seems like the end justifies the means.

At this point, no one cares about how hard you work. All they need is a result.

This is a terrible narrative in our society today which has led many into dabbling with the wrong things and crowd. I am not a saint but I do hold firmly to my values and that has kept me from going rogue.

LESSONS LEARNT

If I could have a conversation with my younger self I will tell him about how rough and difficult life is, especially for those who do not have the means to navigate through it easily.

I will also tell my young myself to be of good courage. Despite life's many complexities one needs to find meaning. And when one finds meaning they should stay true to the course. There will be many disappointments. It's all part of life's journey.

Within those disappointments are lessons to be learned. Some are recurring lessons; some are new lessons. One should not give in to nihilism but rather fight for one place in life.

GRATITUDE.

For as many disappointments you encounter in your life you will have an equal amount of wins. I will tell my younger self not to disregard his wins. Sometimes they are the only things that keep one motivated.

Lastly, I will tell my young self that good things do happen, even to those who don't merit it. It might not sound fair but it is life. And what that means in essence is that good things can come your way when you least expect them.

Hard work does always pay but your passion will lead you all the way. Cheers!

Sort:  

I have also experience that too.
My uncle once told me, "Timmy, don't work too hard, but work smart, the world is evolving."
Nice write up bro.

Even working smart doesn't guarantee anything. The idea that an action (work) will definitely result in a reaction (success) is flawed. And there are many factors contributing to that. So most people are not prepared for failure and do not know how to handle it when it occurs. The whole point of this article is to throw some light on the fact that things won't always work out the way we plan sometimes and that's fine. We can learn from those experiences and move on.

Thanks for stopping by I appreciate it.

Yeah, your right. We learn from experience.

Hi @nonsowrites, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON