Books I've read in 2020

in BDCommunity3 years ago

image.png

Let me add the list first and let it get out of the way. I've stylized the authors' name as Goodreads does and merged all volumes together where it's applicable. Also sorted the list in alphabetical order.


My 2020 In Books


A Wizard of Earthsea (Earthsea Cycle, #1) by Le Guin, Ursula K.

21 Lessons for the 21st Century by Harari, Yuval Noah

Accidental Death of an Anarchist by Fo, Dario

All Systems Red (The Murderbot Diaries, #1) by Wells, Martha

Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy, #1) by Hobb, Robin

Before They Are Hanged (The First Law, #2) by Abercrombie, Joe

Cat's Cradle by Vonnegut Jr., Kurt

Conquest of the Useless: Reflections from the Making of Fitzcarraldo by Herzog, Werner

Death of a Salesman by Miller, Arthur

Der Golem by Meyrink, Gustav

Dust of Dreams (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #9) by Erikson, Steven

Giovanni's Room by Baldwin, James

Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies by Diamond, Jared

Heart of a Dog by Bulgakov, Mikhail

House of Chains (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #4) by Erikson, Steven

In Cold Blood by Capote, Truman

La Peau de chagrin by Balzac, Honoré de

Last Argument of Kings by Abercrombie, Joe

Lucifer, Vol. 1-11 by Carey, Mike

Lucifer: The Morningstar Option by Carey, Mike

Lysistrata by Aristophanes

Midnight Tides (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #5) by Erikson, Steven

No Longer Human by Dazai, Osamu

Oathbringer (The Stormlight Archive, #3) by Sanderson, Brandon

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1) by Atwood, Margaret

Pietr the Latvian (Maigret #1) by Simenon, Georges

Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions by Ariely, Dan

Reaper's Gale (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #7) by Erikson, Steven

Rhinocéros by Ionesco, Eugène

Saga, Vol. 4-8 by Vaughan, Brian K.

Six Characters in Search of an Author by Pirandello, Luigi
The Art of War by Sun Tzu

The Baron in the Trees by Calvino, Italo

The Blade Itself (The First Law, #1) by Abercrombie, Joe

The Bonehunters (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #6) by Erikson, Steven

The Buried Giant by Ishiguro, Kazuo

The Character Designer by Draw, 21

The Crippled God (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #10) by Erikson, Steven

The Decameron by Boccaccio, Giovanni

The Dictator's Handbook:
Why Bad Behavior is Almost Always Good Politics by Mesquita, Bruce Bueno De

The Duel by Chekhov, Anton

The Farthest Shore (Earthsea Cycle, #3) by Le Guin, Ursula K.

The Lost Stradivarius by Falkner, John Meade

The Magic Lantern by Bergman, Ingmar

The Old Curiosity Shop by Dickens, Charles

The Secret Agent by Conrad, Joseph

The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea Cycle, #2) by Le Guin, Ursula K.

The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1) by Sanderson, Brandon

The Wind in the Willows by Grahame, Kenneth

The Yellow Wall-Paper by Gilman, Charlotte Perkins

Thérèse Raquin by Zola, Émile

Toll the Hounds (Malazan Book of the Fallen, #8) by Erikson, Steven

Tortilla Flat by Steinbeck, John

Under Milk Wood by Thomas, Dylan

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Jackson, Shirley

Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty by Acemoğlu, Daron

Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive, #2) by Sanderson, Brandon

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Brooks, Max

চতুরঙ্গ by Tagore, Rabindranath

শব্‌নম্‌ by Ali, Syed Mujtaba

শেষের কবিতা by Tagore, Rabindranath


If you're from the US, I might look like a voracious reader, and according to the general consensus, I indeed am. But many people in my region read way more books in a year. A bookworm will go beyond 100 with ease. I myself set a target of 100 books at the beginning of the year. In contrast to some of them, this is a modest amount of books.
.
Since I use Goodreads to keep track of all of my books, their statistics say —

image.png
I've read 28,711 pages in total across 75 books, which is around 382 pages on average per book.

However, I'm not much bothered with numbers and I'm quite happy with the year. I could probably read a lot more but I would also have to disturb my natural reading habit, go beyond my comfort zone to reach the 100 book target. I decided not to.

It's funny that the corona situation did not increase the number of hours I usually spend reading. Actually, it aggravated the result considering I was at home for many months without any day-job.

I've read a lot of classical text and modern fantasy this year. I have plans to continue reading literary classics and also books related to my field, which is Cinema and other creative arts.


Happy new year, dear hivers! I hope this year will be good for everyone. :)

divider 1.png

About Me


hive format 2.jpg


Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Twitter - https://twitter.com/not_a_c1nephile
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCg3TwYk--HKIsRmnvhob1Mg

Sort:  

That's a serious good looking list. Good for you.

I have no idea how much I read this year. I'd guess I was well over 50, but have no idea and no concerns about it.

I've read some of them, a few at your suggestion :)

Guns, Germs and Steel is one of my top 10 ever. I refer to it from time to time.

I've read a little Kurt Vonnegut in the last couple of years and it doesn't seem to carry as well 50 years after writing... As opposed to Steinbeck, who does seem to age well...

 3 years ago (edited) 

I've read from your suggestion as well! Planning to read a few from that day's sci-fi suggestions.
I think, 50+ is quite a large number, considering the average.

Jared Diamond makes a compelling case in that book. or a few cases I should say. The sheer volume of statistics blew me away. Have you read Why Nations Fail by Daron Acemoglu yet? If you haven't I think you'll love it.

Wow you read a lot of books. I spend time on articles rather than books but I'm going to try to finish at least 8 books this year

Thanks!
I don't read many articles I'm afraid, a few a year at best if it's related to my field. But I'll agree, a good article is always worthy of your time.

I'm not aware of your schedule or how busy you are but it should be doable with ease and maybe a few more. Good luck with your reading target! :)

Hi @notacinephile, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Wow!!! You read quite a lot. I've only read 25 books in 2020. I was planning to post the books that I've read in 2020. I've been away for quite a while and I think posting about books is a good start-up. Anyway, this year, I plan to read 40 books knowing that I'll be able to start reading in June. 😒 Also, I've read one of the books you've read, Heart of Dog. It was a good read though! Will check all the books you've read. 😁

6 months is enough for 40 books if you read regularly. :) I think you can do it!

Haven't seen you around for quite a while and I myself have been busy at work. So are you making a comeback? :)

It took me five days to reply. Sorry... Well, I'm planning to post something. Soon. Haha. I want to post a travel blog, but my other laptop has been borrowed for two months already. All the pictures are there, and I forgot to copy some of them. But, it'll be given to me by next month. Soonest.

As for the books, I've done this before like I set 40 books and started reading like a hungry monster by September. 😂 My pride in not wanting to lose on the Reading Challenge made me read voraciously. 40 plus 1 book. 🤣🤣

Hey, if you like reviewing book and is planning to read more books, there's Hive book community :) and it's currently running a contest with total prize of 65 Hive.

https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@macchiata/january-book-review-contest-or-65-hive-prize

here's the link to the community

https://peakd.com/c/hive-180164/trendin

Oooh, thank you for this. Will check the book community! 😊

Wow, that's really impressive! If you like sci-fi and you haven't read them yet, I very highly recommend Hollow World by Michael J Sullivan, and The Neanderthal Parallax series by Robert J. Sawyer

Thank you and I haven't read them yet. I will check those books. :)

Hey, if you like reviewing and find book recommendation, there's Hive book community :) and it's currently running a contest with total prize of 65 Hive.

https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@macchiata/january-book-review-contest-or-65-hive-prize

here's the link to the community

https://peakd.com/c/hive-180164/trendin

Thanks, I'll check that out!

Awesome. I hope you'll be interested in joining the contest too.

Definitely going to try! I'm close to done 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep' so provided I can actually finish it before my new kiddo is born sometime in the next ~12 ish days, I should be able to hopefully do a little review of it.

Oh wow! congratulations :) I hope the new kiddo will be born healthy and strong. The contest ends by the 25th January, so definitely plenty of time. Good Luck!

Hey, if you like reviewing book there's Hive book community :) and it's currently running a contest with total prize of 65 Hive.

https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@macchiata/january-book-review-contest-or-65-hive-prize

here's the link to the community

https://peakd.com/c/hive-180164/trendin