First Hive Anniversary | A year on the blockchain

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

hive 1st.jpg
source, edited in GIMP

10th July was my first HIVE anniversary and upon much introspection, I couldn't write anything. I shockingly discovered, I had a lot of things to say, and at the same time, I didn't want to write any of it. I realized, there is no point in complaining about how hive functions.

I vaguely remember the day I created my hive account exactly one year ago from today. But I wrote about my reasons for joining hive a few times already and will not bore you to death with another iteration. Let me take this opportunity to talk about certain nonsense that is equally unimportant but perhaps, boring to a lesser extent.

I'd like to note the important changes HIVE brought about in my life—and not all of them are necessarily positive.

The biggest question that would impose upon me itself—Was it... worth it?

It depends.

While I am well compensated for my time on HIVE and perhaps better than many people, I will not come to the conclusion right away that HIVE was well worth the time or, that "it is the best thing in the world OMG!".
I've been writing about films for a decade. I had a larger and broader audience before, (of course, that platform also came with its plethora of obnoxious monstrosity, otherwise I wouldn't leave), which provided me with ample feedbacks and which I dearly miss every single day.

Unlike many on HIVE, I'm quite confident about the content I write on HIVE. That isn't an issue. The problem is, there is no audience on HIVE, everybody is a creator. And they are the audience themselves, to a lesser extent. What happens when everyone is a seller, and there is no buyer? The market doesn't move. To make a market work, there have to be both sellers and buyers.
The same goes with the content creation scene when there is a shortage of an interested audience base. It's like puting on shows in empty theaters.

But the biggest flaw, and actually it might not be a flaw rather a system of how blockchain works, so essentially a limitation, is the seven-day curation period. After that period a piece of content will no longer be generating money (actually in practicality, posts hardly ever get any vote after 2-3 days). This drives people to put out more content, rather than creating stuff with exemplary quality. Unless a post can generate money indefinitely, however small amount it is, the creator has no incentive to try to make it last longer. Where there are no incentives....you know how it goes. And why communism is doomed to fail.

One might argue that one can tip via peakd after the curation period, well, how many times have you seen it so? And how many of those cases involved posts from a few years back? I think I don't need to proceed further with this argument.

So this 7 day period kind of made me think less of posterity and more of now. I often feel like I haven't been true to myself and haven't tried my best to write things I consider worthy of my time and of everyone else.

This is how HIVE affected me negatively. I've become lazy and compromising.

However, HIVE was the gateway to crypto trading for me. I had no idea about how crypto works or how to trade them in open market exchanges like Binance, kucoin, etc. I've used 2/3rd of the rewards I got from posts to trade HIVE on Binance and make even more HIVE. The curation return on the HIVE blockchain is a poor investment plan (second layer tokens are doing quite well though), I'd rather take my chance on a traditional exchange—where things are much more interesting.

Nowadays, the market has become a crucial part of my everyday life. I can see myself trading crypto regularly in the future too. There is no reason to stop honestly.

I wouldn't really know about all these and probably wouldn't start trading crypto if I never joined HIVE, so the blockchain gets credit for that.

I've made many friends on HIVE and interacted with many communities but I will not credit HIVE for that. Because every social media does the same thing and it works due to human nature solely. Our need to bond. Certainly, not a feature of a blockchain site that is unsure of what it wants to be.

Thank you for stopping by.

divider 1.png

hive format 2.jpg

Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations on your anniversary! 🎉 A year is said to be easy to accomplish but it's not at all.

Regarding what you say is true that every day the platform becomes more individualistic and fewer groups, interacting is always a crucial part and helps to encourage to know that your content is much more than a vote, it would be curious to see how it would affect what you say to make the publications permanents. It is a thought-provoking post, the important thing is to take stock of the negative and positive things and take out what each one brought to you, also for years to come, of course.

Thank you. :)

I'd say if the posts were to be made permanent, some people would make more thoughtful publications.

Although we must keep in mind that, the curators on the hive are quite a few only, and most just follow those trails. So, unless there are plenty of individual curators, only prolonging the curation period won't help much.

Congratulation for one year.

Thank you.

Congratulations on your first anniversary! ✨I'm thinking about how we are all content creators in this platform and that there are no buyers. I think, we get to be buyers when we upvote posts (but the return from that also depends on how much voting power you have), maybe that can equate to being a buyer? I'm still learning about this platform too, I have seen some flaws but as a plankton in this platform, I would just have to accept how it works 😅

Btw, I enjoy reading your reviews! You have that exquisite taste in movies, you remind me of my friend with vast range of movies watched. And you're also one of the few people I (somehow) know learning French 🤓Hope to see more of your write ups! 🌞

Thank you :)

Yes, we can choose to be an audience, but not many do that. And that is understandable, we are all narcissistic to some degree. However, the current state doesn't resemble that of social media, or a content publishing platform like medium.

I'm glad you like my reviews. :)
And sadly my progress with french is quite slow. I'm also interested in some other things and my attention gets divivded. I gotta learn to focus somehow.

Congratulations on your first anniversary

Thank you. :)

Amor. My apologies! We don’t have reach. I have said that a thousand times and I say that again as a fact. Without any exclamation. I take the responsibility for the failure. We tried but largely was unsuccessful as a blogging platform. I am sorry we couldn’t give you a platform.

You already mentioned the main reason about the payout window and lack of incentive. I have nothing to add to that. I agree 100%.

Viral content on YouTube grows viewership with time… some forever. However the bar over there is very high. Also there is a luck factor.

Here, a minimal earning is easy. But no way to become a celebrity.

However we do offer a window into crypto entrepreneurship. I hope you got that in 1 year time. Gaming is a success here. Will be even more. Defi will be as well, if you are patient.

I am so glad you are here though. Crypto or not, if I ever get to G-gaunj… yes, someday that will happen, I will sure spent a few days with you.

You don't have to apologize for the platform dada! I'm well aware of the limitations are in the design.
Also, at this point, I feel like a part of HIVE and belong to it in some ways!
So I'm complaining not as an outsider rather as an unhappy member haha!

True, Youtube is way more work and has some really tough barriers to knock down and very few will succeed there. What you say about HIVE is also true. And I have seen, hive is quite a blessing for many people around the world.

And the entrance to the crypto was the most favorable point for me as I mentioned. Yes, I've seen, learned a lot of crypto things in the past year, and all because of HIVE. I'm grateful.

You're welcome to G-ganj!
Although it's flat land with hardly any natural attractions. But Bangladesh in general is beautiful and has things to cherish. When you're here, we can go on a countrywide tour, along a few other happy members of bdc! :D