The Philosophy of Shit

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

The Philosophy of Shit


IMG_20210402_012017_266.jpg
source


"Philosophical shit" is a real tag/term now, coined by our resident doc @simplifylife. What can be identified as "philosophical shit" is not defined yet. Hence, let me attempt that here and now.

A certain perspective on anything — may it be life, things, morals, behaviours, ideologies that is not backed by any sound reasoning, rather based upon personal feelings or hunches of a sort; that cannot be cited as reliable sources — that is the philosophy of shit.

If this definition of philosophical shit sounds self-doubting, you are absolutely right! The philosophy of shit is one of introspection, doubts and insecurity. It goes for the vague, blurry — instead of concrete truth.

In my philosophy of shit, I don't confuse age with wisdom. Sure, I'm probably a lot more wiser than a 6 years old and may be even more than a 16 years old, but at a certain point, this figurative number vanishes. Age becomes irrelevant.

I'm 30 now. There has been and there are greater men who were far more wiser than me at my age and there are people who are far more clueless at the same age. Age do not also serve as a precursor of experience — for experiences can be gained through rigorous activities and a firm will to support it. Age only confirms a person's notion of time as it passes. Perhaps, that too is subjective. The perception of time will not be the same for a leisurely princeling and a day laborer who work their arse off every day.

If wisdom doesn't come with age, what then? I believe, also according to my philosophy of shit, wisdom comes from deliberate observations and intense study and cross-checking of notions. And at any age, it is achievable, with sound cognitive abilities. With that in mind, I realize I lack wisdom and I always did.

Looking back at my life, I can confirm this further. When I was younger, I was confident in my knowledge. I studied my subject well enough (film) and I thought little of people who I deemed were morons. I also held a position of power in a community group, and I used that platform to speak louder. Preaching what I believed in, discarding what I went against. Subdued voices with humor and mocks. If present me could be replaced with that version, I'm not sure I would act in the same way.
But it doesn't make me wiser, rather, perplexed. A state of equilibrium. The initial step on a path of wisdom, also according to my philosophy of shit.

My change did not occur because I grew older. It happened when I became aware of true greatness. Humans are not evolved as equals. Well, the social rights and all that should be the same, but as a thinking part of the universe, we're hardly equals. And in the face of greatness, I felt how insignificant, miserable I am. How hopelessly wiser some people were throughout the history. It made me see my worthlessness, my petit visage. How can I, then, mock the folks lesser than me? Am I to gain amusement from stupidity of others, when I myself lack the finesse to counter the gods of humanity? What hypocrisy would that be?

Such are the questions my philosophy of shit torments me with. Although, it is shit after all, as stated beforehand. There are no merits to it.


divider 1.png

You can read my film and literature related articles on my hive blog page.


hive format 2.jpg

Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Sort:  

I love the title! Made me laugh quite a bit (and I'm still smiling at the title)!

I think there are many different ways to look at wisdom. Wisdom comes in all shapes, sizes and forms....just like mistakes.

Why mistakes you ask! Well, where do wisdom come from? Not out of thin air, every bit of wisdom was born out of some mistake....be it mine, or yours, or someone else's!

I guess what I'm trying to say is, philosophical shit varies from person to person as well! Like everyone has a different crap to deal with in life, their philosophy will continue to differ through time.

What matters is, we have a platform where we can bring all our different philosophies together and create some solid shit out of it! (no pun intended, or is it!)

Haha, I really liked the idea of philosophical shit! Hope more of us will join in the fun!
And you're quite right, philosophical shit will have a different face for everyone. And that is also what I'm proposing here, personal take on things without being reserved or restricted.

Let's create that solid shit then! (pun intended!)

Let's create that solid shit then!

Right, people will be flooding my chamber for laxative prescriptions after a week xD xD

Anyway to make their shit way more solid? Like some fiber-heavy food or anything like that?

the philosophy of shit originates from the shit you, me and others make hahaha
either we learn philosophy by making shit up and constantly observing what shit others are cooking up... mix it together and serve

That sounds like some delicious shit!

well, this is shit

Amor, do you know what the image is you are using?

It is a painting style called impasto.....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impasto

My fav style :)

See, there is art everywhere you look...

I didn't know...
The photo looked appealing, like there was some chaotic array to it. Kinda what I felt about this post.
Thanks for enlightening me!

Yep, art is all around. Only one has to see!

Congratulations @notacinephile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation