The Things We Do For Love.

in BDCommunity4 years ago

images (5).jpeg

Old man Chad had shared the same cell with his prison mate for the past two weeks, yet in all of that two weeks, he could swear the young man didn't look as miserable as he did that very day.

Chad had always made sure not to intrude into anyone's private matter and so he had restrain himself from asking the young lad questions about what crime he committed that got him locked up but old man Chad just couldn't bear seeing the man like that, so he approached him and did what he promised he wouldn't do, he asked what the problem was, but old man Chad wasn't prepared for the reply he got.

“I've been sentenced to death.” the man said with shaky voice, it was obvious he had been crying, silently.

Old man Chad sat next to him on their prison bunk bed. “Care to share what happened?”

The young man took a moment, as if he was considering telling him or not.

“You see I used to be a cab driver. It didn't afford much but I was surviving. Everything was going on fine and good until I met Angelic. She had boarded my cab and had somehow forgotten her purse at home. I had offered to take her to her destination and back home for no pay. 'A perfect gentleman' she had called me. When we got to her house, she invited me in for a drink and that was how we got to know each other and before you knew it, we were dating.”

Old man Chad looked at the man, it was obvious what he wanted to say so the man answered before he got the chance to. “Yes, I'm in here because of a woman.”

Chad nodded his head slowly, a sign indicating he could continue with his story.

“At first, everything was great. There was this way she made me feel, this this, I don't know what to call it but it felt wonderful. But the good things they say doesn't last forever. Few weeks into our relationship, Angelic started making demands, she said she was a lady and deserved to be spoilt. I tried to keep up with her demands and before I knew it, my savings were gone. If I had been broke before, I was now poor. I tried explaining things to Angelic, to make her see things my way but she refused. She had threatened to run to another if I couldn't provide her needs. My Angelic, in the arms of another man? Never! I vowed to do anything and everything in my power to get whatever she wanted and that was how I found myself with a gun in my hand, robbing a bank. The robbery had been going on smoothly until someone decided to be the hero and went for my gun but I saw him on time and acted on reflex, I shot at him. The bullet went straight to his chest, killing him instantly. The bank security had ceased that opportunity and went for their gun, my colleagues fled and I was the only one apprehended.

I was arraigned before a court few days ago and was sentenced to death by hanging.”

Old man Chad was speechless. He wanted to say something but what use would words be to a man condemned to death. He was about saying something when a warden walked up to their cell and opened it.

“It's time.” the warden said.

“The young man smiled at Chad, don't worry, I will be fine.” he said before walking out with the warden.

But old man Chad could smell a lie from a mile away, the young man was never going to be fine.


Image source


signature5f0f26106ace1.gif

Sort:  

Thank goodness it's fiction.
Before you love someone you should learn to love yourself

Yeah that is true. The days of doing anything for love is over.. 😂

Hi @prayzz, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @simplifylife!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you.

This post earned a total payout of 8.082$ and 4.041$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.