The wife, the job, and the boss

in BDCommunity3 years ago

forfeit-shane-peterson.jpg

If you were in my shoes, what would you do?

I used to be the sales representative of the company that I currently work in until I recently got promoted to a position I never thought I would get to. My wife Annie had been super excited about the news that she had thrown a little surprise party for me that day. A few of my friends had attended, all congratulating me on my latest achievement.

Annie had made sure there was an after party. Those kind of parties that didn't require the presence of your family or friends, just me, her, some soft music and a bottle of wine and to make sure there wasn't much expenses, it was done in our bedroom. What happened during the rest of the night is absolutely no one's business.

The next morning, I got up from bed and got ready for my new role in the office. Everything was going as it should, Annie even visited me in the office from time to time. My life was going as I had envisioned it, well until the devil decided I had had too much fun.

At first, I didn't read meaning to Annie's occasional visit to the office, after all she was a full time housewife and the house was always lonely when I went to work but then she started visiting more frequently and that was when I started getting a little bit suspicious, but I said nothing to her. I felt there was no cause to worry, that it was just the overthinking part of my brain doing what it knows how to do best.

Then one Thursday morning while I was getting ready for work and Annie was in the bathroom brushing her teeth, her phone had vibrated, it was an incoming call. We had this silly rule where we made sure both our phones were always on vibration mode before we go to bed to avoid been disturbed during the night.

I had reached for the phone to go give it to her in the bathroom when the name of the caller caught my attention.

"Mr Ben"

“My bosses name was Mr Ben” 8 thought..

Normally I wouldn't have thought much about the it but then my recent suspicion made me do that one thing that I have never done since I got married to Annie three years ago, it made me answer her.

As I pressed the answer button, a part of me was praying and hoping that I hear the voice a very old man whose name was Ben but then the voice I heard was no other than that of my forty-five year old boss.

I quickly ended the call and waited for Annie to come out of the bathroom, she needed to explain to me why she had my bosses number on her phone and why he was calling her this early in the morning.

When Annie got out of the bathroom, she could tell that something wasn't right because of the look on her husband face. She was about asking what the problem was before she saw her phone in her hand.

“Why do you have Mr Ben's number saved on your phone and why is he calling you this early in the morning?” I immediately flooded her head with questions.

“I will explain” Annie said slowly.

By the time she was done with her explanation, I didn't know what to do. All I could do was collapse on the bed and stare at the ceiling.

“So you slept with him just so that I can be promoted?”

“Yes” Annie replied quietly.

“And the reason why you've been coming to the office is to see him?”

“Yes but that is only because he was threatening to come visit me at home. I only went to his office to let him know that what happened was a one time thing and would never happen again.” Annie replied, she was sobbing now.

I looked at Annie not knowing if I should get mad at her or feel pity for her. I actually don't know what to do, so I ask again...

If you were in my shoes, what would you do?


source


signature5f0f260ae4c74 (1).gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @deepu7 on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you.

Hi @prayzz, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you very much.